Geeks logo

Books to Check Out: What I Read in December 2021

Happy New Year!

By SamPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

It’s the last month of the year, so it’s time for my December reads. This is the time to read comforting books, inspiring books, etc. You’ll want something nice to curl up with on the couch during all the holiday and year-changing craziness going on. Fear not, I had a great batch of books this month, so check them out below.

Henry the Queen’s Corgi by Georgie Crawley

Oh yeah. A middle-grade book about a corgi exploring the royal palace? Sign me up. I haven’t read a book for children in a while, and this was such a breath of fresh air. Henry is a feel-good book about a lost corgi who gets mistaken for one of the Queen’s corgis, and thus begins his temporary life in the presence of royalty. Do you know that the plot will resolve itself and that Henry will get back to his family? Of course you do. Of course everything will end up alright, it’s an adorable children’s book told from the perspective of a corgi!

This book is a fun, light read that anyone can enjoy. There are adorable subplots, charming and not so charming characters, and a big amount of heart in this book. If you need a smile and a quick read, this is definitely something enjoyable to dive into.

Illumination: Poetry to Light Up the Darkness by Tyler Knott Gregson

I don’t read poetry often. While I enjoy it, it isn’t my favorite genre, so I only sprinkle it through my life in small batches. Illumination has such a pretty color and a compact design that I just had to pick it up. The interior design of the book is also interesting and keeps you turning the pages. The type is in different fonts and colors. Some pages even have lovely images. Each page is unique, which is something I appreciated.

The poetry does exactly what it says. These are inspirational pieces that will motivate you and help you to find your own inner light. As someone who loves mindfulness and fighting anxiety and depression on the daily, it was an uplifting and helpful book to read. This one definitely makes for a great little addition to any bookshelf, and I can’t recommend it enough.

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

This was a little novel that I wasn’t expecting to enjoy as much as I did. It’s a rather simple plot. The story follows two main characters, Lucy and Gabe, as they flutter in and out of each other’s lives after the events of 9/11. The book is told from Lucy’s point of view after the attacks, and how she changes afterward.

It’s not particularly action packed or anything like that. It’s more about soulmates and love and loss. There’s a lot of heart and emotion in the book, and I loved each and every character. I appreciated that no one was entirely perfect. Each character has flaws and reasons for the things they do, and no one is ever made out to be too unreasonable. It felt very real and believable, and it’s a credit to Santopolo’s writing that she managed to do it as well as she did.

In total, I’ve read 70 books this year. Looking back, it was a great year for reading. There are so many different genres and styles out there, that it was great to give myself such a variety. While Covid sucks, I try to look on the bright side as much as possible. Staying inside gives me more time to read. It’s not a perfect situation, but books can at least make the situation more bearable. Happy reading and Happy New Year to all!

review
Like

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.