Geeks logo

Books to Check Out: June 2021 Reads

Super energized reads for your summer

By SamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

June is the start of summer, so how about we look at a bunch of exciting reads to kick off the sunny season? I wanted to read things that sounded bright and bold to celebrate this summer. I'd say I've managed to find an amazing group of books you’ll like. Take a look below!

Surprise Me by Sophie Kinsella

I had an absolute blast with this book, so much so that I listened to it in less than 48 hours. Surprise Me is the story of a couple, Sylvie and Dan, trying to spice up their marriage with fun “surprises”. There’s expensive purchases, dinners, etc. and it seems like a cute idea at first. That is, until the surprises start to uncover little lies and deeds that lived under the surface for years, leaving Sylvie and Dan to try and sort through it all while their marriage hits a rough patch.

I adored Surprise Me. Every new layer to the secrets kept me engaged and entertained the entire time. It’s also great that the story is from Sylvie’s perspective. You have limited information, making the suspense that much more effective. The characters are all very understandable. I liked that there were moments you agreed with their decisions, and moments when you could see their flaws. It made for effective relationships and real emotions between the characters, and I was incredibly invested the whole time. I’d say this is a great read to bring along on a vacation.

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson

I have one word for this book: essential. It’s a self-help book in a beautifully blunt way. It teaches you to just…care less about stupid shit. It helps you see what’s important in life, where you effort should go, and all the good stuff to help you live a content and full life. Ironically, it’s not about not giving a fuck, it’s about giving a fuck about the right things.

The delivery is great on this one. There’s comedy and a no-nonsense attitude that makes the advice hit home. It gave me determination to make changes to my life. It wasn’t a mind-blowing, crazy life-altering read, but it’s one that will certainly leave an impact.

Give this one a shot if you want a self-help book that has a bit more personality than the average one.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hours Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Look up ‘whimsical’ in the dictionary and you’ll find this book. In this novel, protagonist Clay gets a job as the night clerk at, you guessed it, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. You want more plot? You must read it then. Giving away too much detail spoils the story entirely. It took me on a wild ride I didn’t expect, and had little twist and turns that lead to a conclusion I would’ve never guessed in a million years.

Penumbra is a fun book with unique characters at every turn. Seriously, those side characters are amazing. All of them have such distinct personalities and interesting backstories and professions. I loved reading about each and every character and following their journey. If anything, the main character was just a teeny bit flat compared to the others. However, he was still funny and relatable, so I didn’t mind much. He was a great balance for everyone else, and I enjoyed the first person point of view from him.

It was such a fun batch of books this month. They were vibrant and exciting, perfect for the carefree summer ahead. I highly recommend each of these books, they all make for fantastic beach reads. Hopefully they keep your spirits high as the weather heats up. Happy reading!

review
1

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.