Geeks logo

Blondean Young

Actress, Singer, Writer, and Director

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Blondean Young (Photo Credit: S'Marie Photography)

Blondean Young is an actress, singer, writer, and director. Born and raised in Syracuse NY she graduated from Syracuse University with her Bachelor's in Fine Arts. She has appeared in Many plays in her hometown as well as in Off-Broadway shows. Right now she resides in Syracuse NY where she writes, teaches, and owns her own production company.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into the entertainment industry?

Blondean Young:

Well ever since I was a young girl I was interested in the Arts. I started young singing in my church choir. Then in high school, I started doing plays. This is when I knew I wanted to use my art to save lives whether it was through singing, acting, writing etc.

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Blondean Young:

This past Summer I was featured in CNY Women’s Magazine Online. I got to tell my story about who I am, where I come from, and why I do what I do.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Blondean Young:

What I love most about what I do is being able to be creatively free and creating my own opportunities. In this industry, I feel we are always looking for our big break and wondering when someone will give us a chance to be seen. I realized instead of waiting for the right role to come along I can simply write a role for myself. Also, give others opportunities to be in films and in plays that they otherwise would have to wait a long time to be cast in.

Tammy Reese:

What are some challenges?

Blondean Young:

Well we are in a Pandemic and there is always an uncertainty that lingers. Not knowing how things will end up with the current state of the world and as far as staying afloat as a new budding production company. I know for sure is that this Company is needed. I was given this vision a long time ago and I sat on it for a long time out of fear and uncertainty. But I realized with God and the universe on my side, I had to step out on faith.

Tammy Reese:

Has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life and how?

Blondean Young:

Yes it has. Right before the Pandemic, I was a full-time substitute teacher. When I was put out of work like all the other’s teachers, it forced me to be by myself and to face basically myself. I went from constantly teaching 5 different teaching jobs, to no jobs at all. I always told myself if I had more time, I would commit fully to my art. Now that I had the opportunity, I became very fearful. Not to mention the world is now in an uproar due to race relations. So I had a choice to make, to live in fear, or to just live. So my day-to-day life has gone from working for other people to working for myself.

Tammy Reese:

Tell me about B.L.A.A.C?

Blondean Young:

B.L.A.A.C stands for Black Latino Asian Artist Coalition. It is a production company based in Syracuse NY. This company was created because we saw a need in Syracuse and the surrounding areas for more artists of color to be represented in the theatre and film community here. This company gives African American and indigenous people of color more opportunities to come together, showcase their talents, and be creative in safe spaces where they feel welcome.

Tammy Reese:

What else are you working on?

Blondean Young:

Right now, I have a few productions in the works. I am working on a Web Series entitled “Black Girl Magic” Which will be released at the end of this year/early next year. My current project with B.L.A.A.C is “The Colors of Shakespeare” This film is giving people of color the opportunity to tackle some of Shakespeare’s work while re-imagining it in modern times. That will be released by the end of November.

Tammy Reese:

What is your stance on the idea of the Black Lives Matter Movement?

Blondean Young:

Every day at alarming rates Black people are being killed senselessly. We must continue to fight although we are often very tired. I may not be on the front lines all the time, but I fight every day through my art and just by being unapologetically myself.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone wanting to get into the entertainment industry?

Blondean Young:

You must love what you do. I would also say create art that will continue to change the world. Don’t allow the opinion of the world to change who you are. Lead with love and everything else will fall in line.

Tammy Reese:

What do you want your legacy to be?

Blondean Young:

Wow! That is a loaded question. I would say I would want people to look at what I have been through and say she never gave up although she wanted to many times. She gave so much of herself to her art and helping others. She told her story and was unable to encourage others to keep pushing through. I feel if I have inspired one person to be their true selves, love themselves, and follow their dreams, I have been successful.

Tammy Reese:

Any shoutouts?

Blondean Young:

Thank you to everyone who has loved and supported me this far. There is so much more to come. Also thank you to Tammy for this am amazing interview!

Be sure to follow Blondean Young's career journey by connecting on Instagram.

feature
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.