Geeks logo

Blaire White's Misuse of Power

"With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility"

By Coco Jenae`Published 3 years ago 8 min read
1

I do not know Blaire White personally, what I’m about to say in this essay are my personal opinions based on a large amount of research I’ve done on Blaire White. I have no personal first-hand knowledge about any of the issues addressed here. The information brought up here came from multiple videos from other YouTuber creators, all of whom I will acknowledge through this essay. Let me be clear about something very important. Any of my issues with Blaire White mentioned here have NOTHING to do with her being a Transgender woman and her right to thrive as a whole person. Some thoughts may be my reaction to her talking about Transgender issues, but they have nothing to do with her being Transgender. Anyone who has read my piece about “I’m Divorcing J.K. Rowling, and I’m Keeping the Kids” will know I am proud of my Transgender brothers and sisters and Non-Binary individuals, and will continue to fight for their rights. Everything mentioned in this essay addresses her constant spread of misinformation and the damage doing this is causing and will continue to cause with what she is doing.

In recent weeks I’ve come across Blaire White’s YouTube channel and a number of her videos. This started with research for a support writing project about Transgender rights for the purpose of trying to gain a deeper understanding of what it’s like to be Transgender. Being a cis gender woman, I know I will never be able to fully understand life as one who is Transgender, I won’t even pretend to think I will ever understood fully. What I do hope to simply educate myself like I would for any other subject, that way I can have a full rounded piece of writing. Blaire White was one of the many Transgender YouTube creators I found in my research. Initially, I was intrigued by her and found her to be very well spoken and intelligent. The more I watched her though; I had this feeling that something wasn’t right. This came from a video she made about J.K. Rowling’s new novel “Troubled Blood”; a murder mystery released recently centered on a cis gender man who dresses as a woman in order to kill women. She said she had read the book and said the character is mentioned only once and it isn’t a character with any history of not conforming to gender norms.

Blaire’s comments about the book are simply not true.

I myself haven’t read the book so I can’t act like I know everything or every problem about the book and I won’t act like I do; however, one of the many YouTube creators I’ve found by the name of Samantha Lux made a video where she talked about major points of the book, with screenshots of passages from the book that show the character’s role in the book is much bigger than Blaire White had suggested in her videos. Seeing Samantha’s video I can’t say I was surprised. Watching Blaire’s video, it felt like the cliff notes of the bigger picture, twisted to fit a narrative that is popular with the conservative cis gender demographic that make up her YouTube subscribers. To then find a video that proved she had lied was stunning for me even if I wasn’t surprised.

This then lit a fire under to me to look further into the issues with her channel to get a full picture of this person. There turned out to be many different videos that talked about the major issues with her videos.

One of many issues discussed in these videos calling out Blaire White was the issue of a Transgender woman by the name of Janae Marie Kroc, who had much success as a male body builder before she came out as Trans. Blaire White made a video talking about this athlete where she claimed the athlete had competed in the woman’s division of body building. This information is incorrect that came out of a lack of research. If Blaire had done the appropriate amount of issues, she might have realized there’s a film titled “Transforming” on Netflix about Janae Marie Kroc and the journey she’s taken to get where she is now. Nothing about the film was mentioned in Blaire’s white video. What she presented was a plethora of insults were thrown out about Janae’s appearance being “outlandish” and turns the story into Blaire’s thoughts about how Trans women competing in women’s sports and how it’s not fair because of the physical differences. Here’s the thing, Janae Marie Kroc doesn’t have any intensions to compete in the women’s division of body building, nor has she done so in the past. All of Janae’s accomplishments were from being in the men’s division. As a result of this misinformation, Janae Marie Kroc has been attacked by Blaire White’s fans. Janea did comment on Blaire’s video pointing out the problems with the claims made in the video and what she’s had to suffer as a result.

“Blaire, I really wish you had reached out to me before making a video including me and spreading a bunch of misinformation. If you had done some research ahead of time you would have known that all of my records and championships were achieved in the men’s division. I have NEVER competed as a woman and I have been vocal about the fact I have no intention to. I respect your right to have your own opinion on trans athletes or any other topic, but spreading misinformation only causes more problems. If you have any questions or would like to discuss this further feel free to reach out.”

Blaire White didn’t remove the video, or even issue any kind of apology for weeks after the errors of her video were pointed out by not only Janae but many other people on YouTube.

What I find astonishing is here was the victim of Blaire White’s misinformation, not only trying to explain to White the errors she had made, but also she she’d be happy to answer any questions. While she might have been upset, Janae Marie Kroc was a true classy lady in this situation, while Blaire White remained silent.

Is it hard to admit when you’re wrong? Absolutely, it’s hard to admit you’re wrong when the mistakes are no doubt embarrassing. However, in Blaire White’s case, there was no way she couldn’t have seen the information that was available to her. There was no way for her not to know that she was spreading misinformation, yet she did. What this leaves me to believe is this was something that was intentional. This isn’t an assumption but something that can be seen in the body of Blaire White’s work on YouTube.

There are numerous videos of Blaire White attacking and making fun of different members of the LGBTQ community in a multitude of ways. Insulting Transgender individuals who don’t pass as well as she does, invalidating those who identify as Non binary, claiming it doesn’t fall under the umbrella of the Transgender community. A video Blaire White participated in with Kalvin Garrah reacting to Tik Tok posts made by Milo Stewart being a prime example. Milo Stewart is a non-binary Trans person, who uses the pronouns they, them, and theirs, who shared their journey through Tik Tok. The video Blaire White made Kalvin Garrah on his channel, where they reacted to Milo’s Tik Tok posts. What is shown in the video is some of the most egregious bullying I’ve ever seen in a YouTube video. They made this video also knowing that Milo Stewart would very likely receive some hateful comments from White’s and Garrah’s fan base, and posted the video anyway. The more this particular video went on, other insults are thrown, along with calling non-binary people who want to be seen as “characters” with a “political agenda”, where in the next statement, Blaire White mis-gendered Milo, both Blaire White and Kalvin Garrah laughing hysterically as they mis-gendered Milo Stewart.

There are so many other examples of Blaire White not only giving misinformation but bullying others who don’t look like her or share Blaire’s experiences. They are easy to find on YouTube. The creators I would recommend to check out to get a bigger picture of this entire story would be Sam Collins, Samantha Lux, Dangelo Wallace, and CopsHateMoe (this is their YouTube handle if I’m not mistaken) just to name a few of the people who put out excellent videos on the subject of Blaire White. Altogether, the research for this essay comes to at least four to five hours of research, which while often rage inducing it was also insightful and has given me a new understanding of YouTube and a small but visible margin of creators who don’t take the right amount of responsibility for their platform.

The irresponsible use of this platform is horrendous and problematic.

What I don’t understand is how Blaire White as a Transgender woman would go out of her way to attack her own community, and looking at herself and how well she passes as a woman as better than other trans or non-binary people. It’s honestly sad, especially in a time where we are so divided and need to stand together more than ever and look after each other. It makes me wonder how much Blaire White actually knows about the Gay Rights Movement and how it was started by two Transgender women of color who didn’t pass the way Blaire White does. Their names were Marsha P. Johnson and Sylvia Rivera, who made it their mission in life to help the ENTIRE LGBTQ community. If Blaire White took the time to look back at the history of the movement, she would realize not everyone within the community looks the same, and there’s nothing at all wrong with that. It is what makes us different that creates diversity and what makes the world great.

I hope Blaire White can look at herself and realize the harm she has caused. Do I think she will? No. I think she will continue to deflect and attack any criticism she will receive in the future, which to me shows a person is someone with a lot of self-hatred and sadness who my heart genuinely does go out to as one human being to another.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Coco Jenae`

Fiction Writer

Drag Artist

Reader

Film Lover

A Lover

A Pursuer of Wellness

Nomyo ho renge kyo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.