Geeks logo

Bisola and Jemima Discuss Dirty Trick Many Actors Use to Steal Work from Fellow Actors

Actors get honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I really like today's story because it is an excerpt from a conversation that shows a very common problem that exists across a number of industries. No surprise, it also exists in the Nigerian movie industry.

During an episode of Ndani Real Talk, actresses Bisola Aiyeola and Jemima Osunde got into a conversation about a common thing that happens in the movie industry between actors where one tries to sabotage the other actor by offering up their services to a producer for less pay than they were willing to give to another actor. I'll let you read the conversation first so you understand exactly what I'm talking about, and then we'll talk.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Bisola and Jemima Osunde on NdaniRealTalk

Here is the excerpt from the NdaniRealTalk conversation about the issue.

Bisola: In this our industry, I've heard about times when for example somebody will say "Bisola, can you get me Jemima's number? I want to give her this role," and then I'm like "Enhhh, you want Jemima's number? Ehnnn? She can act oh, she can act. How much do you want to pay her? 50k? Ehn? I can do it for 40k."

Jemima Osunde: Yeah, that happens. That happens a lot. That's exactly what it is. They don't care that it's horrible. They are looking to feed. Everyone cares only for themselves.

Bisola: So do you think as actors we are just short changing ourselves by doing this? By accepting any fee?

Jemima Osunde: Absolutely. In fact we need a union, we need to sit together. We need a regulatory body, let's agree amongst ourselves as actors. I do it with my friends in the industry, my girls. I say "guys if they call me for work, this is the base I will accept. This is it because I know that if I accept less than this, it's not fair to the rest of you". We're not saying be exorbitant with your prices but we need to have an agreement that if anyone approaches you for work, this should be the minimum. This is the base fee. If I choose to now go way beyond that and they settle for someone else who charges something closer to what we've agreed on, then that's fine. Obviously I won't charge what Adesua is charging or what Genevieve is charging. That's why I said "amongst my girls". So I think about it this way, anyone who is trying to cast Jemima Osunde, who are the other people they will consider? They will look at Sharon Ooja, they will look at Ini Dima-Okojie.

I really love this conversation because it is truly a conversation that should be had in every industry. It happens so much, this thing where a customer comes to make inquiries about a competitor and instead of just giving the customer the information he/she needs, you try and convince them to use you instead most times with the incentive of lower costs.

What do you think about it? Do you think it's just business and nobody should take it that seriously? Or do you think it's totally wicked behavior that should be completely frowned at? I'm interested to hear your thoughts on this because me myself, I don't know 100% yet how I feel about it. What do you think? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

industry
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.