Geeks logo

Best Christmas Movies

On the High Seas

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like

We have officially covered all of the main streaming services. Listing off the best Christmas movies to watch on each one. Unfortunately those lists did not come anywhere close to all of the Christmas movies. It didn’t even come close to containing half the best Christmas movies. No that can only be done through owning DVDs or of course taking a trip to the high seas. Most of these were procured through money but several were given to me by my husband and his internet skills. So here is the list of best Christmas movies to uh…find and watch this holiday season.

The first movie on this list I have on DVD, I know that it is available to buy or rent on Amazon Prime and I am sure you could find it in other places as well but it is a classic and a must watch to start off my holiday season. Christmas with the Kranks. I watch this movie up to 3 times during the Christmas season. I simply can not watch it too many times. No movie depicts the true meaning of Christmas like this movie does and it does it in a way that is so fun and entertaining that it makes it the perfect Christmas watch.

Then we have the classics, these are the ones that are not only saved for December but are specifically saved for like the actual week of Christmas. These are the most Christmassy Christmas movies. The ones with the most holiday cheer shoved into them. Starting with A Miser Brothers Christmas, I love music and that is how I judge any movie that utilizes it so that is one of the reasons I keep coming back. Next is my Christmas Eve movie, I might watch it before then but I have to watch it on Christmas Eve. Santa Clause is Coming to Town, it stars Fred Astaire and that is really all I need. And of course the original How the Grinch Stole Christmas. The original, not the Jim Carrey one. The cartoon is short and sweet and exactly how I love the story of the Grinch.

Moving on we have some more classics in It's Christmastime Charlie Brown AND It's Christmastime Again Charlie Brown. Both are short so watching them back to back is the best feeling. I love the Charlie Brown cartoons and quite frankly that is the best part of living near Knott’s Berry Farm during the holiday season. But these are good movies, everyone should watch.

I absolutely can not get through this list without mentioning my favorite Christmas movie of all time, Eloise at Christmastime. This movie includes Julie Andrews which should be reason enough to watch anything. But it also centers around the world's cutest 6 year old girl and really I love anything that focuses on kiddos because they are adorable and they make every story 100X better. Eloise brings a sweet kind of Christmas magic to the plaza hotel and to my heart every time I watch it. This is a Christmas special that I have enjoyed on a loop since I was a kid. Eloise at the Plaza was something that I watched pretty regularly but combine Eloise and Christmas and I am having a pretty good day.

The best things in life are free…in the depths of the internet. So whether you want to own these specials forever on DVD, like me who insists on owning a physical copy of everything. Or you want to physically own it on a flash drive; these are definitely the best Christmas movies available on any service. The streaming services are a good place to start but there is absolutely nothing better than these Christmas movies.

listpop culturemovieentertainment
Like

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.