Geeks logo

Best Anime Endings

Day 12 of the 30 day anime challenge

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

Welcome to day 12!! Here is the idea behind the 30-day anime challenge. I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my tastes have changed much in the past 10 years.

I think the purpose of this challenge is to just post a picture but me being the extra person that I am, I will write a blog about each topic. On day one I found that I couldn't just pick one anime so I decided for each of these questions I will be doing 5 for every topic.

This is different from what I am used to blogging, which makes me excited to test my creativity and go back to find the answers to these writing prompts.

Feel free to join me in the comments below! I'd love to hear your answers too!!

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 12 best anime endings

A lot of factors go into making an anime great. One of the biggest things is how the show ends. This can either make or break an anime. I am not someone who will only watch anime with a happily ever after at the end, because not all anime are supposed to have happy endings. Some endings aren't happy and that's just life. Although I still love a happy ending.

The biggest thing about an anime ending for me is closure. Did we get our questions answered? Did the characters fulfill their purpose? I don't like anime that ends with a bunch of important questions unanswered and leaves you unsatisfied with the result.

I LOVE PLOT TWISTS!!! Unfortunately, I have this talent for guessing the endings of shows and movies. I can tell you close to exactly what is going to happen in the beginning half of a series. With that being said one of the reasons I love anime is their ability to lead you down a path and then comepletely flip the script in the last 3 episodes. Some of the anime I am about to list is just for the fact they completely caught me off guard with their ending and left me shocked.

***SPOILER DISCLAIMER***

This goes without saying there will be spoilers ahead, I am talking about the ending of anime. Here is a list of the anime I am going to be talking about.

  • Words Bubble up like Soda pop
  • Violet Evergarden
  • Fruits basket
  • The millionaire detective - balance unlimited
  • The future diary

If you haven't seen these anime, watch them as soon as possible. I loved and highly recommend all of them.

If you have seen them, let's get into 5 anime I thought had the best endings.

Words Bubble up like Soda pop

This ending brings a new meaning to wholesome. The build-up of trying to find Mr. Fujiyama's record of his deceased wife. After looking through the whole record shop they finally found the record, but before they can put it on the record player it breaks. My heart shattered. The chances of them finding the record were slim and they managed that but seeing Mr. Fujiyama get his hopes up after finding the record and then it breaks, crushing his spirit. The story continues on and by a miracle, they find another hidden copy.

The ending scene with Mr. Fujiyama dancing to his wife's song he had forgotten was so wholesome. I would have been happy if that was the ending but they continued and made the ending one I will never forget.

Seeing the wholesome confession between shy Cherry and the adorable Smile filled me with joy. To see them both blossom throughout the movie, growing their relationship and self-confidence.

This is one of those endings that fill you with joy and peace. It gave complete closure and the fairy tale happy ending with a twist.

Violet Evergarden

This show was an emotional rollercoaster. I couldn't even imagine what Violet went through in her life. She was trained as a child to be a weapon and saw horrific things, including the death of her only friend. After a traumatizing childhood, the war ends and she is left without a purpose and without any support. The story of her discovering how to live in this world and creating new relationships is raw and real. But there is always that gnawing question she has about her Major. Did he really die?

Well in the show we are led to believe so, but in the second movie, we discover he is alive and recovering on an island. The reunion is extremely emotional. This is an extremely realistic reaction to their reunion after years apart.

The ending scene with them finally reconciling, was a beautiful ending. This show gave us complete closure, which gave us both emotionally realistic and a fairy tale ending.

Fruits Basket

There was a lot of build-up for me with this anime. I first watched it in 2013 with the original release and got extremely disappointed with the ending. So I went straight to the manga to get the closure I needed.

I knew they came out with a new anime but I was nervous to get hurt again so I decided not to watch it. Finally, curiosity got the best of me and I checked it out. I was not disappointed by the ending. They gave each of the characters the closure they needed and fix the family.

If you watch anime that means you have shipped characters before. Not all the characters you ship end up together but in this anime all of my ships did. I can't say that's the case for everyone who watched fruits basket but I thought the ending was magical.

The Millionaire Detective Balance: Unlimited

I binged this show in 2 days. The storyline was so intriguing to me, I felt as if I were watching a batman movie without batman. I am a sucker for detective shows, even though I can almost always guess who the killer is. I thought I had this whole show figured out but was still entertained. As I waited to see that I was right the last 2 episodes had a complete plot twist and threw me off completely. I was shocked at how they ended it and so happy the end result was better than I had guessed.

I love it when the bad guy is in your face the entire time and then when you find out it's them you look back at how obvious it was the whole time.

The Future Diary

This whole show was full of plot twists. Every time I think I figured something out it was completely wrong. The last 5 episodes had my jaw on the floor. From watching Yukiteru kill all of his friends, to number 9 being alive, to discovering the Yuno we had watched this whole show has won the game over and over and over again and kept jumping to another world to find her love.

This was a happy ending for everyone except the main character Yukiteru. Which made sense, he was able to save the world and the Yuno in it, but at the cost of the Yuno, he fell in love with it. I was satisfied with the ending and how it all played out, and then discovered they created an OVA episode.

This episode showed us the aftermath and the normal lives of everyone. It was a sweet addition to the show, but the writers decided to take it a step further. They gave Yukiteru and Yuno their happy ending.

This is one of my favorite anime and the ending is just proof of how amazing the creators were.

From all the anime I have watched there have been a lot of incredible endings. This list was hard to narrow down but I strongly believe these anime have the best ending. Tomorrow's prompt is going to be more difficult.

Come back to read my favorite episodes of anime.

What anime do you think has the best ending? Do you agree with any of the anime I listed?

I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thanks for reading!!

Check out day 11 anime scenes that made me sob

Bye for now!!

reviewtvlist
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.