Geeks logo

Being a Cosplayer and on the Autism Spectrum

A Cosplayer's Story in His Own Words

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Black Widow Phototgraphy

When I was five years old, I was diagnosed with Asperger. It's a developmental autism spectrum disorder. It impacts the individual's ability to communicate and read social situations. It’s mild, meaning I have problems conversing with other people, social awkwardness, and difficulties grasping certain things quickly. In school, I was in special education classes from Pre-K through my junior year of high school. I was made fun of and bullied because I was in these classes. Most people assumed that if you are diagnosed with a developmental disorder, it automatically means that you are “dumb” or “slow,” which is not the case. People with Autism or Asperger can accomplish remarkable things in life. As far as making friends, I didn’t have many of them in school or any mentors. Because of my Asperger and was really timid. I grew up in Arlington, TX and making friends was a lot more difficult, especially entering high school and in my early 20s. At times, I would be isolated and feeling lonely. In late November 2017, I found out that I was also diagnosed with PDD-NOS, which stands for "Pervasive Developmental Disorder-Not Otherwise Specified." The symptoms include difficulties with routines and environments and difficulties with communicating with others.

In the spring of 2013, one of my colleagues introduced me to a hobby called cosplay. I never knew what it was until I looked it up online. People of all ages dressing up as their favorite characters and attending conventions, having fun. Growing up, my parents never let me express or be myself. So I thought to myself, I want to cosplay and meet people. So flash forward to the summer of 2014: I attended my very first convention at the age of 26—GlitchCon in Springdale, AR. I went as the 11th Doctor from Doctor Who. When I arrived at the convention, the atmosphere was amazing and the people were so friendly. I had such a great time and was unforgettable. When I moved to Northwest Arkansas in 2012, I didn’t have one friend, but after that convention was over, I have made so many friends, and a majority of them are now friends with me on social media and in life. Since GlitchCon 2014, I have started to attend conventions in the state of Arkansas, made more friends, and memories. People have shown me love and was accepted, because they like me for who I am. Attending a convention is like being in nerd heaven and have the freedom to be myself. Also, every convention I attend and the pictures that I post online tell a story. Cosplay got me out of my shell and I'm always coming up with new cosplay ideas. Whenever I’m in costume, I feel like a kid and let my imagination go wild. Cosplay will always be a hobby that I don’t plan on giving up anytime soon. It’s something that I love and got attached to. The things that I love about being a cosplayer are: meeting people, in person and online, and putting a smile on people’s faces. Cosplay is about having fun and being kind to one another. Yes, it’s nice to have likes and follows, but at the end of the day, treating others with dignity and respect is a must as a cosplayer. Cosplay has no age limit and you can be whoever you want to be.

My advice to cosplayers who are on the Autism spectrum, and everyone else reading my story: never worry about what other people think about you. People will try to bring you down and make you feel less of a person than what you are now, but always keep your head up and focus on yourself. Finally, have positive people around you. Sure, you may not see them on a regular basis, but they’ll always be there for you. You are important and do matter. Never let anyone tell you otherwise. I cosplay to become an inspiration to those who don’t have anyone in their lives, who have a developmental disorder or disability, and to those who just need a friend. The most important thing for me is loving people for who they are and being compassionate at the same time. If you ever need to talk to me about anything, you can always contact me through my social media pages. Be sure to follow me on my pages. I always love having new friends and followers. Hope to see you on social media.

cosplay
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.