Geeks logo

Babyteeth Review

An In-depth spoiler-free review of the film Babyteeth...

By Gemma Walsh Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Babyteeth Plot:

When a seriously ill teenager falls for a small-time drug dealer, her parents disapprove. However, she soon finds a new lust for life from her blossoming romance.

My Review:

Babyteeth is honestly incredible. I went into this film with no real expectations, I knew It’d be good... It was full of great Australian actors and actresses and I was not let down, every single character in this film was acted remarkably. It was so real and so powerful.

Want to know who hit me most in this film though? Toby Wallace as Moses. I walked into the cinema never seeing Toby Wallace in anything before and I walked out a fan. Moses seemed so familiar, he is the typical Australian ratty bad boy who you try to avoid. I’ve seen a thousand of his type in my lifetime. I didn’t want to but It was so easy to fall in love with him and empathize with his character. I mean I saw the parent’s perspectives and thought similar to them but I also couldn’t help be like Milla and be completely swept up in his spell. He was riveting, he was fascinating, he was alluring and most of all he was charming. I don’t know why I fell for him but I did. Toby Wallace was just that good. He also acted the more emotional scenes tenderly and powerfully. I was just rooting for Moses to get his shit together the whole film. I adored him.

Now, I love Eliza Scanlen and she is honestly why I went to see the movie. Eliza was absolutely breathtaking in this role… She played Milla and she was wonderful. She was relatable and made me feel like I knew her personally. She was magnificently well-acted, I fell in love with her. Mark my words, Eliza Scanlen is going to be Australia’s next big star, it’s easy to see why in this film. She has already made a splash in Hollywood with roles such as Beth March in Greta Gerwig’s Little Women, Amma in Sharp Objects, and Lenora in The Devil All the Time. She is not quite a household name yet but she is going to be. I always excitedly await her next project. I adore her.

Essie Davis was utterly amazing in this, I expected her to be though. She is one of the most talented Australian actresses in the business. Ben Mendelsohn also produced an amazing performance as Henry. He along with Essie as Anna really shone the last half of the film.

Though the acting was the best aspect of this film, it was also amazing in every single other way... The cinematography was great, The music was beautiful and every scene was aesthetically pleasing. I loved the makeup, hair, and costume design in this too. The story and dialogue were beautiful too, props to Rita Kalnejais. The stand out was the directing in this film, director Shannon Murphy did amazing, I wasn’t all that familiar with her as a director but she has well and truly left an impression on me, I am now a fan of hers.

I completely and utterly enjoyed this film, I’m already wanting to rewatch it and take it all in again. This is a much watch film… If you haven’t seen it, go and see it now!

Here are my ratings and overview:

Overall Rating: 8/10

Enjoyment Rating: 8.5/10

Acting: 9/10

Writing: 8/10

Direction: 8.5/10

Visual Design: 8/10

Cinematography: 9/10

Editing: 8.5/10

Soundtrack/score: 8/10

Described in four words: Beautiful, Romance, Raw, Emotional.

review
Like

About the Creator

Gemma Walsh

Writer & Website owner. For more content check out my website:

www.captivatedbyfilm.net

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.