Geeks logo

BABIES SWITCHED

switched

By Paige A TaylorPublished 4 years ago 17 min read
1

Disclaimer: i dont own any of the people in this fanfic

It was a hot summer day and Willow and her husband just got home from the birthing class. She is 7 ½ months pregnant, and very hot and miserable. Her husband James turns the A.C. on full blast for her then goes to sit by her, rubbing her feet.

"Man that feels good," Willow said.

"It's the least I could do," James said.

"If we decide to have another one, let's try for a winter one," Willow said.

"Deal!" James said laughing. "So what are we going to name our son?"

"Um, William, James Jr, or Jesses James," Willow said.

"I like Jesses James Rosenberg Preston," James said.

"Yeah I do too. Jessie James it is then," Willow said.

"Honey, are you ever gonna change your last name to Preston?" James asked.

"C'mon honey, 'Willow Preston'? Sorry, but no," Willow said.

"It's cool. What do you want for dinner?" James asked.

"Steak would be nice," Willow said, looking at him. The phone rang.

"Steak it is," James said, smiling as he answered the phone. "Hello?"

"Hi James, is Willow there?"

"Hold on... It's Buffy," James said.

"Hey Buffy, what's up?" Willow said.

"Willow, how are you?" Buffy asked.

"It's been so long," Willow said.

I know, long, so how's everything?" Buffy asked.

"Great, I'm pregnant!" Willow said.

"Really?! How far along?" Buffy screamed.

"7 ½ months," Willow said.

"That's great! Why didn't you ever call and tell me?" Buffy said.

"I told Dawn to, I figured she told you," Willow said.

"Nope, she didn't tell me," Buffy said.

"Buffy, I want you there when he's born," Willow said.

"Ok, I'll be there. You're having a boy?" Buffy said.

"Yes, Jessie James Rosenberg Preston," Willow said.

"That's a cute name - long, but cute," Buffy said.

"Thanks Buff," Willow said.

"I called to say I'll be home next month," Buffy said.

"Can't wait to see you, I miss you so much," Willow said.

"I miss you too. Gotta run," Buffy said.

"Ok, bye," Willow said, hanging up the phone.

"Honey your steak's ready," James said.

"Thanks, I'll be right there," Willow said.

"So how's Buffy doing?" James asked.

"She's great, coming home next month," Willow said.

"That's good. It would be nice to see her again," James said.

"It sure would be," Willow said, taking a bite of her steak.

"So how's the steak? Good?" James asked.

"It's delicious, hun," Willow said, taking another bite.

"Glad you like it, dear," James said.

"I always liked your steaks," Willow said.

"I know you do, Wil," James said.

"Are you buying the paint for the nursery tomorrow?" Willow asked.

"Yeah, I'm going to get first thing in the morning," James said.

"Oh, ok," Willow said.

"And when I get back I'm taking you out for a great breakfast," James said.

"Aww that's so sweet of you," Willow said.

"Well I couldn't carry the little guy for you," James said.

"If you could, would you carry a baby?" Willow asked laughing.

"I probably would, but it might hurt coming out!" James said laughing right along with Willow.

"You're right, it probably would hurt guys worse then women," Willow said.

"Yeah, I don't see how women do it," James said.

"It's hard but we manage it," Willow said.

"And it's rewarding at the end of 9 months," James said.

That same day across town Tara Maclay and her husband just got home from her check up with the ob/gyn. Tara's 7 ½ months pregnant and it's hot as hell for her and her husband Brandon. He turns the A.C. for her and starts rubbing her shoulders.

"What would you two like for dinner?" Brandon asked.

"Chinese sounds good, what do you think?" Tara said.

"Great I'll order. So what are we naming him?" Brandon asked.

"Blake Maclay Jackson, remember?" Tara said.

"Oh yeah, that's right, sorry babe." The phone rang. "Hello?" Brandon said.

"Is Tara home?"

"Hang on... Here babe, phone," Brandon said.

"Who is it?" Tara asked, taking the phone.

"Some girl," Brandon said.

"Hello?" Tara said.

"Hey Tara, it's Julie."

"Hey Julie, how are you?" Tara said walking outside.

"I'm good. When are you coming back to New York?" Julie asked.

"Julie it's been five years," Tara said.

"I know I miss you."

"I'm not coming back," Tara said.

"Then I'll come up there with you," Julie said.

"No Juls, you can't," Tara said.

"Why not? Tara, who was that guy?" Julie asked.

"Julie, look, I'm 7 ½ months pregnant," Tara said.

"That's great, we can raise it together!" Julie said.

"Juls, no, I'm married now!" Tara said.

"WHAT!!! You married a guy?" Julie yelled.

"Yes, and I'm sorry."

"How long have you been married?" Julie asked.

"Only a year," Tara said.

"So you don't like pussy any more," Julie said.

"Julie of course I do, it's wonderful... I just needed to do this," Tara said laughing.

"Ok, if you say so," Julie said.

"Sweetheart, dinner's here," Brandon said peeking out.

"Ok I'll be right there," Tara said.

"Sweetheart, oh my god," Julie said.

"I gotta go, Julie," Tara said.

"Bye."

"So who was that?" Brandon asked as Tara walked back in.

"An old friend back home," Tara said, knowing full well she was lying.

A month and a half later Willow went into labor, and so did Tara. They were both at the same hospital; they were sitting in wheel chairs, side by side almost, while their husbands checked them in.

"So what are you having?" Willow asked.

"A boy, and you?" Tara said.

"A boy. I'm Willow, by the way," Willow said. Damn, she's sexy.

"Tara, nice to meet you," Tara said. She's hot...

They shook hands, and at the same time a major labor pain hit both of them. At the same time they squeezed each others hands hard, leaving little bloody half moons on their hands.

Four hours later both women had their babies and were resting up while the babies were cleaned up and put in the incubator, and wheeled to the nursery... where Tara's baby gets Willow's name and Willow's baby gets Tara's name on the wrists bands... then wheeled into their rooms. The door opens to Willow's room.

"Here's your parents," the nurse said.

"Look babe, our son," James said, picking him up.

"James, you're crying," Willow said.

"My son, I'm a proud father," James said.

"C'mon Jessie James, let's go to mommy," James said.

"Hey Jessie James, you're just so handsome," Willow said.

"He is so cute, baby," James said.

"He looks like you," Willow said.

"Kind of," James said.

Tara's Room

"Here's your bundle of joy," the nurse said, handing her the baby.

"Thank you. Hello Blake MaClay Jackson," Tara said.

"Where's your husband?" the nurse asked.

"He stepped out, he'll be back," Tara said.

"I'll be back later to get him," the nurse said, leaving.

Willow's Room

"Can I come in?"

"Yeah, come on in Buffy," James said.

"He's so cute! Oh, the gang's on their way," Buffy said.

"That's great, it'd be nice to see them again," Willow said.

"Can I hold him?" Buffy asked.

"Sure," Willow said, handing him to Buffy.

"Hi Jesses James! I'm your aunt Buffy. I'm going to spoil you1" Buffy said.

"Not too much, I hope," James said laughing.

"Can we come in?"

"Xander! Yes of course. Hey, Dawn, Giles, Anya," Willow said.

Wow, look how tiny!" Dawn said.

"Wil, what happened to your hand?" Xander asked.

"There's another woman who gave birth, we shook hands when our labor pains hit, and I mean hit hard," Willow said, looking at her hand. There was a knock at the door.

"Willow."

"Mom, dad, come in," Willow said.

"Is this our little grandson?" Shelia asked.

"Yeah, he's your grandson. Jessie James Rosenberg Preston," Willow said.

"You named him Jessie James," Ira said.

"Yes, dad, we did," Willow said. Ira scoffed.

"He's cute," Ira said.

"Excuse me sir, do you have a problem with my son's name?" James said.

"James, it's ok," Willow said.

"No it's not, honey, you put up with their shit for so long - our son isn't going to," James said.

"It's a bad name for him, James," Ira said.

"If you don't like his name then leave," James said.

"Just change his name is all," Ira said.

"No dad, I'm not changing my child's name," Willow said.

"Fine. C'mon Shelia," Ira said.

"I'm staying with my grandson. Meet me back home," Shelia said.

"Fine. Bye," Ira said.

"Mom, does he have a bad name?" Willow asked.

"No dear, it's a strong name for him," Shelia said.

"Ok people, mom and dad, need time alone with baby," the nurse said.

They all left. Willow and James cuddled their baby until a knock on the door came.

"Come in?" Willow said.

"Hi Willow," Tara said, opening the door.

"Tara! Honey, help her," Willow said.

"Thanks… I came by to see your baby," Tara said.

"Where's your baby?" Willow asked.

"The nursery. Aww, he's cute," Tara said.

"I'm sorry about your hand," Willow said, looking at her hand.

"It's ok, they'll heal," Tara said.

"It'll scar," Willow said.

"So will yours. What's his name?" Tara said.

"Jessie James Rosenberg Preston. And yours?" Willow said.

"Cute name. Blake Maclay Jackson," Tara said.

Two years later Willow got a call from the hospital, saying she might have the wrong baby - that there was a mix up at the hospital two years ago. She broke down and crieds, calling her husband at work. He sped home, running through the house yelling.

"HONEY!! WILLOW!!" James yelled.

"In here, James," Willow said, wiping her tears. "Now what's going on?" James said hugging her.

"Dr Smith called and told me there was a mix up, and we might have the wrong baby, he says Jessie isn't ours, and the Jacksons have our biological baby!" Willow said crying.

"How can that be?" James said.

"I don't know, James," Willow said.

"Shh, it's a lie. Jessie is ours," James said.

"Daddy, why mommy crying?" Jessie asked.

"Come here Jess," James said.

"Is mommy hurt?" Jess asked.

"No son... Honey look at him, he's ours," James said.

She looked up at him, with his big blue eyes and blond hair. She started thinking no one in her family has blue eyes and blond hair - maybe reddish blonde...

"Go play with your toys, Jess," Willow said.

"Ok mommy," Jessie said, running to go play.

"Honey what's wrong?" James asked.

"He has blue eyes and blond hair," Willow said.

"Yeah. So?" James said.

"No one in my family has that. You have brown, your mom's are green and your dad's are hazel," Willow said.

"I think my great grandma's were blue," James said.

Across town Tara got the same call, that there was a mix up two years ago and her son isn't hers. She called her husband at work and told him what the doctor told her; he left work. Meanwhile Tara was holding her son - she looked at his face, his eyes are green, his hair is red, and he has freckles.

"Mom, can I have juice please?" Blake asked.

"Yes, here you go," Tara said handing him the cup.

"Tara, where are you?" Brandon yelled.

"In the kitchen!" Tara said.

"Hey sport, run and play," Brandon said, hugging Blake.

"Ok daddy," Blake said.

"You know no one in my family or yours has green eyes or red hair," Tara said.

"Are you agreeing with Dr. Smith?" Brandon asked.

"No... I don't know, Brandon, ok?" Tara said.

"Ok, then who has our biological baby then?" Brandon asked.

"Some family named Preston," Tara said.

"NO!! Tara he's our son, not theirs, ours!" Brandon yelled.

A week later Tara and Willow both agreed to meet at McDonalds so they could see for themselves - which made there husbands very pissed off at them.

"Tara, you can't do this!" Brandon said.

"I have to Brad," Tara said.

"Why do you have to?" Brandon said.

"I gotta know," Tara said.

"Then what, huh? Have you even considered that?" Brandon asked.

"Bottom line, I have to know," Tara said.

"Whatever, but if you go through with this meeting... never mind," Brandon said.

"What? Say it," Tara said.

"...I'll divorce you," Brandon said.

"I don't care anymore, Brandon," Tara said.

"You don't care?" Brandon said.

"No, I don't," Tara said.

Willow had just hung the phone up with Tara, agreeing to meet at McDonalds, when her husband comes in at the end.

"You're meeting who at McDonalds?" James asked.

"Oh... Tara Preston, JJ's biological mother" Willow said.

"You're still on that," sighed James.

"James... don't you want to know the truth?" Willow asked.

"I don't care. Jessie is ours, Willow, let it go," James begged her.

"I can't, ok? I can't," Willow said.

"Fine, do what you want to," James said, walking out of the house.

Friday afternoon Willow and Jessie were at McDonalds waiting on Tara and Blake, so they went ahead and ordered their food - Jessie was hungry. Willow looked up when the door opened, and Tara came in with Blake. They smile, because they recognized each other after two years.

"Hi Willow, how have you been?" Tara asked as she sat down.

"Good, and you?" Willow said.

"Great, actually... This is Blake," Tara said.

"Hi Blake, I'm Willow," Willow said.

"Hiya Willow," Blake said.

"And you must be Jessie," Tara said.

"Mommy?" Jesses said, shying away.

"Shh, it's ok, she's mommy's friend. He's shy," Willow said, looking up.

"I see that," Tara said.

"Hi Blake, want a fry?" Jessie asked.

"Yeah," Blake said as he sat beside him.

Tara saw herself and her husband in Jessie, and Willow saw herself in Blake.

"Jessie, you two go play," Willow said.

"Ok, mommy. C'mon Blake," Jessie said.

So, Tara... What do you think? Do we have the wrong kids?" Willow asked.

"Your son looks like me and my husband... and my kid looks like you," Tara said.

"Yeah, I've noticed," Willow said.

"I don't know what to do," Tara said.

"Me either," Willow said.

"Well... I do know I'll be divorced after this," Tara said.

"Your husband said he would divorce you if you came?!" Willow asked.

"Yeah. Yours?" Tara said.

"No, he was just mad... I'll tell you what, let's have a BBQ - let them think we never met. How about tomorrow?" Willow said.

"Sounds like a plan," Tara said smiling.

"Ok, tomorrow night, at this address," Willow said.

"Wait, that's their birthday! Perfect," Tara said.

"I'll see you tomorrow," Willow said, huggin Tara. 'Damn, she smells good.'

"Ok Willow, I'll see you tomorrow," Tara said. 'She's turning me on.'

The next day James was firing up the grill as everyone arrived. The whole gang came, even Willow's parents, and James's parents. Tara and her husband showed up late; she spotted Willow by the bounce house, and walked over to her.

"Hey you," Tara said smiling.

"Hey, glad you made it," Willow said, smiling.

"Yeah, almost got lost," Tara said laughing.

"So, where's your son?" Willow asked.

"Umm, he spotted a computer in the house. Where's yours?" Tara said.

"In there somewhere. That computer is broken," Willow said.

James walked in and saw Blake on the computer, thinking it was JJ.

"Jess, cut that out and go outside, you know it's broken," James said.

"I'm not Jess, I'm Blake Preston, and I fixed it," Blake said.

"Sorry, Blake... and you did fix it how?" James said, walking over.

"Easy, I turned it on, pushed a few buttons, and presto, it works," Blake said.

He bent down, checking out what he did, then glanced at Blake; he noticed he looked just like Willow. He smiled.

"Thanks Blake. I'm James. Where're your parents?" James asked.

"Outside," Blake said.

"Switch that off and come with me outside," James said.

"Yes sir," Blake said.

They walked outside and Brandon spotted him.

"Hey sport, where you been?" Brandon asked.

"On Mr. James's computer," Blake said.

"Go play with Jessie in the bounce house... Hi, I'm Brandon," he said.

"James, nice to meet you," James said.

"Likewise. Did he break your computer?" Brad asked.

"No, actually he fixed it," James said.

"It's your son's birthday too, huh? How old is he?" Brad asked.

"Yeah, he's three. Your son's birthday too?" james said.

"Yeah he's three also," Brad said.

They saw the boy running up to them and they noticed how the other's son looked like their wives, and like them.

"Daddy," Jessie said.

"What, Jess?" James said.

"I found a ring," he said.

"Let's see that... Wow, that's nice, where did you find it?" James asked.

"By the bounce house, can I keep it?" Jess asked.

"Hang on... Excuse me everyone, did anyone lose a ring?"

Everyone said no.

"Well kiddo, I guess you can," James said.

"Yay! Mommy, look what I found," Jess said, running to his mother.

"Let's see... That's beautiful, check it out Tara," Willow said.

"Wow, that's pretty," Tara said.

"Daddy said I could keep it," Jess said.

"I'll hang on to it so you don't lose it," Willow said.

"Ok. C'mon Blake," Jess said.

"Would you like some wine Tara?" Willow said.

"I'd love some," Tara said, smiling.

"Follow me," Willow said, seeing James.

"Where you two headed?" James asked.

"Inside for some wine, want any?" Willow said.

"Sure. Brandon, you?" James said.

"Why not," Brandon said.

"Coming right up!" Willow said.

"Wow, Tara, they're talking," Willow whispered.

"I see that," Tara said.

"Oh, Will?" James said.

"Yeah?" Willow said.

"Your computer works now," James said.

"What- how, when, by who?" Willow said.

"My new friend Blake," James said smiling.

The two guys walked in and stood on opposite sides of the counter.

"All four of us need to talk," James said.

"What about, James?" Willow said while smiling at Tara.

"Willow, these are the Prestons," James said.

"And your point is...?" Willow said.

"The thing Dr. Smith said..." James said.

"Oh, can that wait until after the party?" Willow asked.

"Yeah, it can wait... Let's get back out," James said.

"Tara, can we talk?" Brad asked.

"Yeah, sure... What's up?" Tara asked.

"Their son looks like you and me," Brad said.

"I've noticed that too," Tara said.

"What are we gonna do?" Brad asked.

"Mommy, mommy," Blake said.

"Yes Blake?" Tara said.

"Can we go to McDonalds again like yesterday?" Blake said.

"Sure we can, go play," Tara said laughing.

"Wait a damn minute, you saw them yesterday?" Brad asked.

"It's not what you think, Brad," Tara said.

Willow walked back in and heard them arguing; she stood by the door and listened.

"It's exactly what I think!" Brad yelled.

"Believe me, it's not!" Tara said.

"Believe you, Tara?! You went behind my back!" Brandon yelled.

"Ok, yeah, I did - I had to know, ok?" Tara said.

"No, not 'ok'!" Brad said, slapping her. "I'll be out back."

After slapping her he got up, walked outside and stood by James. Willow went in and saw Tara crying and holding her face; Willow went over to her and hugged her close.

"What happen?" Willow said.

"He knows we met yesterday," Tara said, crying.

"Who told him?" Willow said.

"Blake asked if we could go, I should've never come to Sunnydale, I should've stayed with Julie," cried Tara.

"Shh... who's Julie?" Willow asked.

"My ex-girlfriend," Tara said.

"You were a lesbian?" Willow said.

"I still am, I just wanted a baby... Didn't plan on getting married," Tara said laughing.

"Divorce him them," Willow said.

"If I did, he'd take Blake from me," Tara said.

"Hey Blake, Jess, c'mere... How would you two like to go camping after this?" James said.

"Yay!" they said.

"Go ask Mommy, Blake," Brandon said.

"Mommy Mommy!" Blake said, running to her.

"What, son?" Tara said.

"Can I go camping with Jess and his dad tonight?" Blake said.

"Only if Daddy goes too," Tara said.

"I'll be going as well," Brad said, walking over to Tara. "I'm sorry honey."

"...No biggie," Tara said.

"Can I please?" Blake said.

"You and Daddy go pack," Tara said.

"Yay, c'mon Daddy, get up," Blake said.

"We'll be back," Brad said.

THE END

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Paige A Taylor

i am a single mother of 2 kids and i have been writing fanfic for quite a 11 years now I have wrote fanfic of the XFILES XENA Lword Buffy and even OITNB and NO i AM not A Lesbian i just like writing fan fic of it is all

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.