Geeks logo

Author Thoughts #2

Red Eyes Short Story Author Thoughts

By Cyber DragonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Author Thoughts #2
Photo by Natasha Connell on Unsplash

Read the short story here.

Transcription Below:

Hello again there, this is Cyber Dragon bringing it to you another little Author Thoughts.

So, my last one, I covered one of my short stories I'm releasing soon, and this next one is going to be another short story that I'm going to be releasing. And this one is actually when I've been working on for a while it's going to be called Red Eyes, and I know it's a pretty a pretty ambiguous sort of topic, sort of title. I know it's a pretty ambiguous sort of title and it's an interesting story.

It's going to be a Sci-Fi story and basically, I don't want to spoil too much, but it's going to be a little bit of thriller, a little bit of military action, I guess, because military sci-fi is actually something I'm a little bit curious about just because different media I've consumed, I think more specifically probably Starship Troopers.

I think that movie, that movie specifically, not the anime or the book, but the movie was actually a spoof on military sci-fi. So, I really wanted to actually make my stories actually going to be more serious than I'm a parody, but it's something that I've just been very curious to see what I can do with it. I added a little bit of elements of Japanese Kaiju or just like regular slasher movie monsters into this story.

So, it's going to be like I said, it's going to be a little bit thriller, a little bit suspense. Also, another movie that probably inspired me for this story would be annihilation with Natalie Portman. I'm not sure that movie got a lot of attention, but it was actually very interesting.

It was I believe the whole movie was an allegory on cancer, I believe, but it was very monster movie is, she was very mysterious, very.

Obviously, it was a thriller and I think I was just curious to kind of write a similar story so that's where Red Eyes is going to be coming from. And I'm just getting a little bit deeper into like some little tidbits.

I actually started writing the story actually on a plane. I was actually going from London to the US and I was obviously, when I'm bored on a plane, I'm like, let me do something that'll amuse me or grab my attention. And I just started writing and this is the way the story kind of came in. It was just kind of me just kind of putting my thoughts on paper and just letting it flow and then it go.

And I really hope that it kind of captured a sort of a sense of suspense from this story. It's, I don't want to say it's going to be hard to digest, but it's going to be something that you had to get. We had to pay a little bit closer attention to because the story has started starts off in a very different place.

So, you have to get caught up to speed very quickly in this short it's a short story, but you have to get caught up to speed very quickly. And I guess that's kind of a little preview of what I, what I'm going to be doing with that. So yeah, I just really hope that people will look forward to this next story that I'm going to be putting out. And I actually have a little bit of an itching to possibly make this into a longer story.

Some of my short stories, I do want to continue into sort of a series, but each story will be just a fragment. And I'll probably get into that in my next to the author thoughts talk, but yeah, Red Eyes is going to be coming out soon.

I'm getting last finishing touches on that and you guys will be able to read that on my YouTube channel. And also, I'm probably going to be posting it on a few other places, but our subsidy specifically, YouTube. And yeah, so I hope you guys will enjoy the story. I hope you get a little bit of a sense of suspense. I'm playing a little bit with like sci-fi horror, things like that, and it probably won't be the last, it's just one of my first stories that I've written that I just want to kind of get my feet wet with sci-fi, military horror, suspense, thriller etc., all these genre names.

But yeah, that's where you can look forward to in this story. And I hope you guys take it easy and I will see you when Red Eyes releases soon. Bye. Bye.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.