Geeks logo

Anime Supporting Characters Who Stole the Show

Day 20 of the 30 day anime challenge

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

I can't believe we are on the last 10 days. This was fun and a challenge. Whether you have read 1 of my blogs or all of them I appreciate it and hope I have been entertaining you. I am wondering if I can keep up with this schedule of posting every day. What would you like to read about if I were to keep posting daily? Anime reviews? Lists of anime recommendations? Another anime challenge? Blogs like these? I'd love some ideas! Let me know in the comments below.

I discovered the idea for the 30-day anime challenge because I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my tastes have changed much in the past 10 years.

Since I found it too hard to pick 1 answer, I have been picking 5 answers for each. I would love for you to hear your answer in the comments below

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 20 favorite supporting character

If I were to list all of my favorite supporting characters then we might be here all day. There are a bunch of great main characters but I have always connected with supporting characters. Writers have fun with supporting characters, they have to make them unique and rememberable. They often give them quirky characteristics, habits, and interactions with the main character. Sometimes the writers have more fun with the supporting characters than the main character.

So I decided to make a list of 5 supporting characters that stole the show. These characters I often forget aren't the main character.

I will share a little about the anime and would recommend watching all of the ones I am about to list.

Let's get into supporting characters who stole the show

Yakumo - School Rumble

Storyline: Tenma Tsukamoto is young, bright, and smitten with the school hottie Oji Karasuma. She's desperate for his attention, which is unfortunate considering he barely gives her the time of day! Throw Kenji Harima, the school delinquent with a crush on Tenma into the mix and you've got one twisted love triangle of unrequited proportions! Can love find the trio happiness before their attention-grabbing stunts end up hurting more than their egos?

If you ever want to know what I am like watch school rumble. I swear Yakumo was based on me. If you have an older sister like myself, she is one of these two. She either takes care of everything and is basically a second mom, or she doesn't know how to boil water. For Yakumo and I, we have an older sister who might not be able to live without us. Yakumo stole this show for me personally because I relate so much to her and she was more entertaining than any of the main female characters.

Mio - K-on!

Storyline: It's the first day of high school, and plenty of school clubs are doing their best to recruit new members. However, for ditzy Yui, none of them seem to fit the bill. However, when she accidentally signs up to join the light music club, Yui begins a hilarious adventure to become a world-class guitarist! There's just one problem: she's never played the guitar before in her life! Joined by bassist Mio, drummer Ritsu, and keyboardist Tsugumi, Yui and the gang will juggle their studies with buying instruments, learning how to read music, and even performing in the school festival, all in the hopes of someday becoming a successful band!

I might need to change this list to characters I relate to. I adored K-on and all of the characters, but Mio stole the show. Not only do I also play the bass but she is basically me in an anime. She has the most character development of anyone in the show. She is also the most remembered character in the show.

Minene (9th) - Future Diary

Storyline: Yukiteru Amano is a 14-year-old loner who spends much of his time dispassionately recording events around him in his cell phone "diary." His only friends are imaginary ones: Dues ex Machina, the "god of time and space," and Murmur, Dues' impish helper. Yukiteru's life takes a turn for the strange when his diary starts recording events before they happen and Dues announces that he's not so imaginary after all, and a turn for the sinister when his diary announces his impending death. It turns out Yukiteru has become part of a survival game to determine who will succeed Dues as the god of time and space, competing with 11 others who also possess diaries that predict the future in various ways, But Yukiteru does have at least one strong ally: Yuno Gasai, a classmate who despite being a Future Diary holder herself is determined to protect Yukiteru at all costs. She's also an obsessive and possibly crazy stalker whose own Future Diary records Yukiteru's every move in ten-minute intervals.

She stole the show! Best character backstory, the best character development, the best plot twist with a character, the best romantic story, just all of the above best character in the show. I loved her character so much she was the first and only cosplay I did.

Gojo - Jujutsu Kaisen

Storyline: Yuji Itadori, a kind-hearted teenager, joins his school's Occult Club for fun, but discovers that its members are actual sorcerers who can manipulate the energy between beings for their own use. He hears about a cursed talisman - the finger of Sukuna, a demon - and it's being targeted by other cursed beings. Yuji eats the finger to protect his friends and ends up becoming Sukuna's host. However, Yuji discovers that he has inherited magic and is able to control this power without interference from Sukuna. He joins the Tokyo Metropolitan Magic Technical College to consume all of Sukuna's fingers, which will enable a full exorcism to take place that will free him.

I'm sorry is he not the definition of stealing the spotlight? He honestly made the show for me. Not only was he hilarious but when he fought they were the most epic scenes in the show. I am pretty confident that if you ask any Jujutsu Kaisen fans their favorite character they will say Gojo. I would have to agree with that answer, Gojo is my favorite character.

Dazai - Bungo Stray Dogs

Storyline: Kicked out of his orphanage and on the verge of starving to death, Nakajima Atsushi meets some strange men. One of them, Dazai Osamu, is a suicidal man attempting to drown himself in broad daylight. The other, bespectacled Kunikida Doppo, nervously stands by flipping through a notepad. Both are members of the "Armed Detective Agency" said to solve incidents that even the military and police won't touch. Atsushi ends up accompanying them on a mission to eliminate a man-eating tiger that's been terrorizing the population... In the virtual city of Yokohama are individuals bearing the name of Bungo, "literary masters," who possess unusual powers likened to that name. Now begins the battle between the mysterious Bungo powers!

I started watching Bungo stray dogs because I thought Dazai was the main character. To my surprise, he is a supporting character with the main character's energy. He has the deepest backstory and the most hilarious and relatable quirks, and whenever he is on the screen it is all eyes on him. Just like Gojo, they are both goofballs until it is time to fight and they are unstoppable. In my eyes, Dazai is and always will be the main character.

Some supporting characters steal the show and I am all here for it. I think something that makes a great anime is to have a huge cast of diverse and well-written characters. All of the anime I listed nailed their supporting characters.

Who do you think stole the show? Gojo or Dazai?

I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thanks for reading!!

Check out day 19 Comedic Duos

You are the main character in my eyes! Have a great day

listtventertainment
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.