Geeks logo

Anime Scenes That Made Me Sob

Day 11 of the 30 day anime challenge

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

Welcome to day 11!! Here is the idea behind the 30-day anime challenge. I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my tastes have changed much in the past 10 years.

I think the purpose of this challenge is to just post a picture but me being the extra person that I am, I will write a blog about each topic. On day one I found that I couldn't just pick one anime so I decided for each of these questions I will be doing 5 for every topic.

This is different from what I am used to blogging, which makes me excited to test my creativity and go back to find the answers to these writing prompts.

Feel free to join me in the comments below! I'd love to hear your answers too!!

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 11 saddest anime scene

I am not going to say I am a softy but anime can make me sob. I have watched sad movies like the notebook or Titanic and not even gotten misty-eyed, but in anime, I have cried so hard that I had to pause to recollect myself. I think part of the reason is I know people are just acting, and even though anime is also acting and not real, the characters are real in that world. Meaning if one of them died they are forever gone. You won't see them in another anime, that character is really dead.

I don't get excited about watching sad anime but sometimes when I need a good cry I will watch something sad that will make me cry out any bottled-up emotions.

***SPOILER DISCLAIMER***

This prompt did ask for anime scenes so I am going to be writing about the specific scene which are all spoilers.

Here are the anime I am going to be talking about, so if you have seen them read on.

  • Fruits Basket Prelude
  • Clannad: After story
  • Grave of the Fireflies
  • Toyko Magnitude 8.0
  • A Silent Voice

If you want to read the filtered spoiler-free version of this list click the link below and check out my top 5 saddest anime.

Without further ado grab your tissues and let's go through anime scenes that made me sob.

Fruits Basket Prelude

When Tohru's father dies

This movie was an incredible addition to the fruits basket story. They took the time to give us more emotion and backstory to Tohru. Most of this movie was a light-hearted romance between Tohrus's mother and father's first meeting. But I couldn't help but watch this movie with a pit in my stomach. We know from the anime that her father and mother have both passed away, so throughout the whole movie, I was waiting for the inevitable scene of her father passing away from a common cold. Even still it caught me off guard and we are left seeing Tohrus's mother grieve to almost her breaking point. On a bridge about to commit suicide, Tohru'smom snaps out of her grief and remembers she has sweet Tohru to take care of.

This movie was an emotional rollercoaster with a happy ending, and even though you know what is going to happen the writers did such an amazing job completely messing with your emotions.

Clannad: After story

Nagisa's death giving birth & Ushio's Death

This scene broke me. I could not believe it, after watching Nagisa and Tomoya fall in love, get married, and find out they are expecting, the writers would do this. I sobbed for hours and stopped watching the show for over a week to recover from what I had just experienced. The whole episode is heart-pounding and you know there is a small chance of this complication actually happening, but you never expect it to actually happen. Clannad: after story ends up having a happy ending but I could never watch it again and experience the pain of this scene.

When I finally got up enough courage to continue the show they have to do this. Tomoya is broken after Nagisa's death that Ushio their daughter ends up getting raised by Nagisa's parents. The second half of the show is about them rebuilding their relationship. It is sweet and so emotional. Then what do the writers do? They make Ushio have the same sickness as her mother. But they wouldn't kill the little girl, right? WRONG!! This scene traumatized me and again I had to stop watching the show for a few weeks. I know now that they get a happy ending but while I watched Clannad: After story I kept saying what the f**k just happened.

Grave of the Fireflies

Setsuko's death

I am going to be completely honest, I only saw this movie once and I sobbed so hard that it traumatized me from watching it again. This movie went from sad, to depressing, to there might be some hope, to completely soul-crushing. If this historical story wasn't sad enough I later found out this is based on a true story!! Highly recommend reading - The true story behind 'Grave of the Fireflies' and hearing about what happens.

After reading this article, It also brought me a lot of joy to hear that this story was able to be told on the big screen by survivors of World War II. Be prepared with a box of tissues because this movie will break you.

Tokyo Magnitude 8.0

The ending scene

I started watching this show at 11 pm and didn't stop until 3 am. The fact that this is another anime based on true events brings such a raw reality to the show. If you have siblings (like myself) it gets you thinking about what would happen in the case of a natural disaster. In the last episode, there is a plot twist that left me with chills. We watch a sister take care of her younger brother on their journey back to finding their home, and hopefully their parents. In one episode we get a huge scare and think the brother is about to die. He doesn't and we are left relieved as they make it back home. But upon their reunion with their parents, we discover that the sister is the only one who can see her brother. In that near-death experience, he did die but stayed by his sister's side to make sure she made it home safely. I sobbed uncontrollably after this show ended, and even writing about it gives me the chills.

A Silent Voice

The entire movie

I know this isn't a scene but if I am being honest I cried the whole movie. From the beginning scenes of her getting bullied to the pure scenes of the two protagonists building a broken friendship to the end of the movie which had me on the edge of my seat. I am so glad that they ended this movie on a happy note and that I wasn't left broken. However, I found out later on that this is also based on a true story, except the writers changed the ending to make it happy. What does that mean? Well in one of the ending scenes, we see Nishimiya about to commit suicide but Shoya makes it just in time to save her. When pulling her up to safety he falls into the river and falls into a comma. We know the happy ending of him waking up but in reality, he passed away.

This list was an emotional rollercoaster to write. There are such incredible story writers that can bring us to tears and even make us sob uncontrollably. Again I do not pick sad anime but when I need a good cry I know that there are anime out there that will make me sob.

Come back tomorrow to see my top picks for anime with the best ending!!

Have you seen any of the anime that I listed? What anime made you cry the hardest?

I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thank you for reading!!

Click to read day 10 My favorite voice actors

See you tomorrow!!

tvreviewentertainment
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.