Geeks logo

Anime and Yaoi helped me understand my grammar and punctuation.

Cartoons are sometimes better teachers.

By stephanie borgesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

When it comes to anime shows, there not only exciting, but they are also unique. I love the stories as much as the background and the characters. The design of their personality is always impressive. I love how anime shows are developed from urban legends, mythology, or just a previous experienced the writer or the creator, or maybe the director went through. I love reading the stories on how these shows are created. I would always write stories like fan fiction in a journal.

About two years ago, I found a few journals in a box from when I had moved to my new location, and I couldn't believe how much grammar and punctuation errors I had, compared to the ones that I have now. I love writing I take advantage of it during this pandemic of COVID-19.

As far back as I can remember, I have always wanted to be a writer. All I could think about was writing stories about bizarre worlds and strange creatures that could be inhabiting them. It was a way for me to escape my reality. Growing up, I was an outcast, the black sheep of the family. Don’t get me wrong; I did come from loving parents; both my parents, our low middle-class, blue-collar working class Hispanic immigrants. I am proud to say I am a blue-collar worker. I don't mind working in a warehouse. It's where a lot of stories had happened; however, you do get a lot of distractions. Not just because of the environment but because when I was about three years old, I was diagnosed with a learning disability called ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyper Disorder), so learning was always a struggle for me. It wasn’t just the focus, but it was also sitting still. I remember that while watching TV (cartoon and anime), it would have my full attention. I could pick up a lot of this, like the slang, the quotes, and what the characters looked like. But I would only watch the anime if it was English dubbed, not subtitled. I will get thrown off if the audio is in a different language. I would get confused then, but now it makes sense because I’m older.

In school, I was in special education learning classes because one thing that I always struggle with was grammar and punctuation. I would try and try, but no matter what, I couldn’t understand the grammar and where the punctuation is to be placed. I was told that reading helps you learn. I would try to read the book or have someone read it to me. So, I can understand when the description. Unfortunately, I get it about 50% of the time.

Then one day, when I was at home from school (I was in High School), I was watching anime that was dubbed in English, and the subtitles were on. I was able to see where the commas, the periods, and even the most difficult one of all the semi-colon; are placed to make sentences. I was learning faster with close caption and subtitles then I did in school or watching instruction videos. Since then, I watch all my favorite shows and films with the sound off and the subtitles and close captions on.

As I got older, I watched more Anime and Yaoi. Yaoi is a Japanese boy love anime and novels. To put it in more perspective, it's guy on guy interaction. I still struggle with my learning disability, but I am happy to learn English grammar and punctuations finally. I understand the art of write scripts and graphic novels.

Best of all, I have two books that are in the works to be published. One is a yaoi that is a black comedy/romance. The other is a sci-fi adventure but with a dark twist. Maybe when I was a kid, if I had known watching TV with the subtitles and close caption on and the volume muted would have helped me learn and improved my English grammar and punctuation, perhaps I could have done better at school. Because in College, I did well.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.