Geeks logo

An Obsessed viewer

Kicking my obsession of "The Walking Dead"

By Debra OwensPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
An Obsessed viewer
Photo by Joe Stubbs on Unsplash

A s you know, The Walking Dead is an American post-apocalyptic horror television series based on the comic book series by Robert Kirkman, Tony Moore, and Charlie Adlard. I personally never read the comic books series, although I do have a few friends that are obsessed with collecting them.

The series first aired on October 31, 2010 and is still being broadcasted in 2020. How would I have known that this series would grow to be one of my all time favorites. At the end of each season I became so disappointed that it was ending. I knew I would have to wait months before tuning in again.

I found myself constantly watching the reruns on my network until they were removed. I wanted to keep myself up to date for when the next season began. I had found myself literally thinking like they did. imagining being in that world, what measures would I go to too survive?

I would yell at them, cry with them, feel the pain. The group became family to me. Especially Melissa McBride (Carol) and Josh McDermitt (Eugene). I wanted to save Carol from her abusive hubby and kick Eugene's butt for lying to the group. What a coward I thought.a

I also thought that Daryl (Norman Reed) should hook up with Carol. He cared for her and protected her. Bringing back Sofia was a mission to him. Also I have to mention Rick (Andrew Lincoln) as well. He was a heart throb. Probably to me and millions of other women.

Danai Gurira ( Michonne) played her part oh so well. It was her life purpose to save and protect those she loved. Her strength was enormous and she had no problem taking down those that deceived her or the group. If she loved you there were no half measures. I sometimes wonder how many zombies she has slaughtered. Must be in the thousands right?

While sitting one evening watching the show, my husband walked into the room to see what I was watching. He should have already known but it took me by surprise when he said, "honey you need to get psyche treatment". I disagreed and said WHAT?. He just was not into that kind of mindset. Yea right "Zombies", or "walkers" eating live people! An apocalypses. You are silly he said.

He would laugh at me and leave the room. To be honest I liked it when he left. I could turn up the volume and immense myself into that world. With each scheduled episode I became more and more anxious. Lets face it "I was addicted" or "obsessed" with this series.

I thought the writers and makeup artists were brilliant. This was not like the old black and white of "The night of the walking dead" this was real. Bodies cut in half while crawling on the ground. The brain still in tact, the eerie noise they made. It gave me goosebumps!

As the seasons went by however, and the characters I so adored were killed off and replaced I started seeing a whole new perspective of what the " The Walking Dead" represented. It was about power and control. It was about how we all can become heartless when we are confronted with losing everything we know or believe in.

When they introduced the (Governor) Philip Blake everything changed. Ruthless on the outside and sensitive on the inside. Power was the motivator. When he killed Hershel I was angry. At the same time I understood losing his daughter was tragic to him. Again I could relate.

And (Negan) "Jeffrey Dean Morgan "OMG! Dominant, controlling, A wanna be leader. The slaughtering of the group, took my breath away. I cried! I then thought to myself, Debra it is only a movie! This is not real! Maybe my husband is right! Negan is not real! This is fiction at it's best!

Then came the (Whisperers). I wondered where is this series going? Alpha "Samantha Morton" blew me away! Not just her appearance, but her ability to understand what it took to live with the dead. To walk amongst the dead. The fight too keep the other groups from keeping some kind of social humanity alive. I just wish Carol could have taken you out instead of Negan. That would have rocked my world!

Personally after this past season, it is growing old to me. I guess that's why they are putting out the new series of "Fear the Walking Dead ", "The Walking Dead: World beyond". Maybe they are looking for new content to move the "Walking Dead" forward! I myself have grown bored with it and no longer feel the obsession to make sure I tune in. My husband is happy, but I miss it! What can I say I was "Obsessed"

Has anyone else became bored with this series or is it just me? Now we have people killing people in the new series and virtually no zombies.

I say Bring the Zombies back!

If you agree hit me up!

Thanks for reading!

Debra Owens

review
1

About the Creator

Debra Owens

I am me! One of a kind just like you! A individual that has a lifetime of great and bad memories. I cannot be duplicated nor can you! Individuality is a blessing! Grasp it, appreciate it, love it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.