Geeks logo

An Important Film: 55 Steps

Movie Review with Spoilers

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Yesterday was June 5th, and I thought about the significance of the day to me: 1. My beloved grandmother was born and died on that day. 2. I got married on that day. My husband took me to breakfast and later I watched a movie. That was the extent of my celebration of the day. The movie that I watched was titled "55 Steps" (a DVD that I borrowed from Netflix) and I thought the movie was important - enough to warrant writing a review about.

"55 Steps" is a 2017 German-Belgian drama film directed by Bille August. The film is based on the true story of Eleanor Riese (portrayed by Helena Bonham Carter) who is a mental health patient who calls for an advocate to protect her rights as a patient. Hillary Swank plays Collette, the attorney who takes the case and together with Collette's advisor Cohen (Jeffrey Tambor) they represent thousands of patients who were over drugged or forced to take medication against their wills.

This is a slow paced film. If you're looking for lots of action and special effects or typical heroes and villains, then this is not a movie you want to see. If you're looking for a piece of American history that is very significant and has been forgotten in the medical world especially in regards to mental health patients, then I definitely suggest you watch this film and help me to remind people of the legislation that Riese's case put into action. We should all be aware of the law and remind those doctors of it when they begin to misuse their "power".

The film begins with the scene of Riese in the mental ward. She is very upset and appears to be your typical nutcase with her wild hair and piss stained ward gown. If you've never been to a mental ward (I have, so I started crying immediately) then you would not understand the emotions that the character is experiencing. If you have been to a mental ward, then you'll know right away what is happening. Collette is the rare character who has compassion for Eleanor because Collette had been a nurse, and she saw too often how patients were mistreated, misdiagnosed, and over drugged. Her character didn't get into law to become rich, but to make a difference in human lives and interactions based on what she knew of their experiences and the law. The case is a very important part of the film, but there is another layer of the film that sneaks up on you.

As I was watching and paying attention to what was required regarding the legal actions and how difficult it was to get the courts to pay attention to the matter, I noticed how the director also focused on the relationships that grew for the characters involved. Obviously the case brought two souls together who may not have met (Eleanor and Collette) and they became very good, close friends. But it also strengthened the friendship and respect between two colleagues (Collette and Cohen) and it deepened the romantic relationship between Collette and her very understanding and supportive boyfriend. My first tears may have fell for the suffering that Eleanor was going through, but I cried other tears of joy and love for the friendships that blossomed out of the pain and tragedy that brought people together.

The director was quite skilled at showing us the scenes and the dialogue that make the viewer aware that these relationships were deep and meaningful, and Carter's portrayal of Eleanor Riese is brilliant. Eleanor seems like an obnoxious fruitcake, but she's really a genuine, heart of gold, under all her rantings. The hugs between Eleanor and Collette show the growth of their relationship, and the last hug shown between them is a very different picture than the first hug shown.

I have been a mental patient for over 20 years diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder. I was in and out of mental hospitals, on and off a ton of psych medications, and for years I tried to explain to the medical people that their ways and medications were not effectual. The only benefit I got out of their "help" was proof that I had a "disability" and my SSD award. I guess that's symbolic of the couch that Eleanor finally gets to adorn her sad and decrepit apartment with.

I consider the film a success. The direction, performances and screenplay are all top-notch. The history behind the story is important and should not be forgotten. If you have loved ones who suffer a mental health issue, I recommend the film. If you have had any issues as a patient with doctors and hospitals, I recommend this film and also the film "Patch Adams". If you just like to watch a film about how friendships and lovers get closer through time and commitment to each other, then I recommend this film. It made me smile and it made me cry. It will remain in my memory and I'm glad I saw it.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.