Geeks logo

An Anime Review of 'Sing 'Yesterday' For Me'

Haru and Kuro, best duo.

By BoblobV2Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

This is a show that I am incredibly conflicted by. I like it quite a bit, however there are more than a few asterisks attached to the end of that statement. We will go through these issues and see if by the end I recommend or not, because as I am writing this paragraph I am not sure if I would at all recommend it or not myself.

The first issue I have with the series is that it feels as if we are simultaneously taking our time with the narrative and rushing through it. I say this because through each episode we have a story that really lets you marinate in the setting with the characters, really letting you get to know them as people. Yet at the same time there would be time skips without any warning between episodes that would make you think you skipped an episode where the characters are in a completely different place in their lives. There were multiple occasions where I have to check the previous episode to make sure I didn't miss one. There is a disconnect in the progression of the story that makes it feel as if you are getting a version of the narrative that is based off of the sparknotes. This might be truer than anything else considering that it is based off a manga that ran for eighteen years.

The characters, with the exception of Haru, were incredibly hit or miss. Their actions are incredibly contractary, their feelings for each other are more all over the place than a CW show, and there are character progressions that come up out of nowhere as a result of the time skips. There are four central characters. One is outright likable and the best part about the show, in fact she was one of the few reasons I kept watching it. Two are either bland, uninteresting, or at times frustrating. Finally I thought Shinako was the worst part of the show, she became more and more irritable as the show went on because of how indecisive and selfish she is. She only gets worse and what ever sympathy I had for her at the start drained at a rapid pace. In fact, I find her utterly deplorable. If anything, alongside Haru, the only other characters that are interesting with more personality than a plank are the supporting cast, who are sorely underutilized. In fact, they are leading far more interesting lives than three of our main characters.

I actually love the show from a visual and soundtrack perspective. It is vibrant without the colours being overbearing, while maintaining a realistic colour palate. The characters facial expressions are subtle yet they manage to convey a lot of emotion. There are no comedic turns that make the artstyle cartoonish, and is consistent in its quality throughout. What's more is I really enjoyed the soundtrack that accompanied it.

What I enjoyed were Haru, the side characters with barely any screen time and the technical aspects. Even the ending was mishandled, despite the outcome being the logical end. As a result of the pacing being as consistent as the speed of a formula one driver racing on a track, and the narrative jumps in the show, the ending felt unearned.

Having put all of that into writing, despite how much I did and still do like the show, it is one I cannot recommend. Instead, I'd point you in the direction of something along the lines of Kids on the Slope, or Garden of Words. If you are still interested in watching the show, it is available on Crunchyroll. Or maybe just read the manga instead.

review
Like

About the Creator

BoblobV2

Writing about anime, and anything else I find interesting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.