Geeks logo

Always a Woman to Raine(The Owl House fanfic)

Raine goes to a bard preference of a new song fresh from the human realm the song is Always a Woman by Billy Joel. This story is about Raine's loving feelings toward Eda after they broke up.

By Ben Ray Published 5 months ago 3 min read
1
Teen Eda on a black background with the title on top of her legs in blue.

I sat down on one of the surprisingly comfortable seats in the bard coven performance hall. There were multiple conversations taking place around me but I didn't want to barge in on any so I just stared at the paneo in the middle of the stage. then Jolene Rang, a highly ranking member of the bard coven that specializes in piano, joining her instrument.

“Hello fellow members of the bard coven,” she said, her voice was magically amplified so everyone could hear her. “This is a human love song called ‘She’s Always a Woman.’ I will begin, ” as she said that everyone settled down, and I felt a feeling of dread wash over me. It was a love song, even though I was the one who broke up with Eda almost three years ago, I still miss her, and I still love her no matter how hard I tried to push her out of my mind.

She began with a somber piano intro before starting to sing, blue and purple lights floated around her as her magic flowed freely.

She can kill with a smile, she can wound with her eyes

My heart twitched as I remembered Eda’s wonderful smile and how fierce her glare could be when someone was mean to me.

And she can ruin your faith with her casual lies

And she only reveals what she wants you to see

My heart sank as I was forced to remember how she changed and how she interacted with the world and closed herself off when she got cursed. The reason I had to end things with her.

She hides like a child but she's always a woman to me

That she always will be, I thought, blinking away the moisture that threatened to gather in my eyes.

She can lead you to love, she can take you or leave you

But I'll never leave her

She can ask for the truth but she'll never believe you

She never liked listening to others and their rules

And she'll take what you give her as long as it's free

Yeah, she steals like a thief, but she's always a woman to me

Even though I lost track of how many times she got into trouble for stealing, I couldn't help but love her.

Oh, she takes care of herself, she can wait if she wants

She's ahead of her time

My thoughts turned to the owl house that she fixed up when I was her last attachment, she planned ahead with Hooty, and I heard that the Emperor Coven started looking for her.

Oh, and she never gives out and she never gives in

She just changes her mind

She always did hate admitting that she was wrong, I thought wistfully.

And she'll promise you more than the Garden of Eden

Then she'll carelessly cut you and laugh while you're bleeding

But she'll bring out the best and the worst you can be

Blame it all on yourself 'cause she's always a woman to me

This was the first part of the song that did not scream “Eda.” She’s too kind to do that.

Mmm-mmm, mmm-mmm

Mmm-mmm, mmm-mmm-mmm-mmm

Oh, she takes care of herself, she can wait if she wants

She's ahead of her time

Oh, and she never gives out and she never gives in

She just changes her mind

I found myself sinking into that feeling of loneliness.

She is frequently kind and she's suddenly cruel

But she can do as she pleases, she's nobody's fool

And she can't be convicted, she's earned her degree

And the most she will do is throw shadows at you

But she's always a woman to me

As soon as the song was over, I quickly left to find a secluded place to mourn the love that we shared. A love that I would never get over.

Sorry, I haven't posted anything in a while, but here's a fresh oneshot, and I will be getting back into writing so expect more from me!

If you like this story, fear not! There are plenty of other installments of these boys already up. There are more installments on the way! Subscribe so you don’t miss out! Read them all? I also have several other works that you can look at while you wait. For more information on the other stories, and when the next chapter will be up, click THIS LINK

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Magnificently written!!! Pulls at the ♥ strings!!! Loved it!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.