Geeks logo

Alchemy of Souls Review: No Spoilers Here! 

Naksu Alchemy of Souls

By Ayush VermaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Alchemy of Souls Review

The South Korean television series Alchemy of Souls, which is helmed by Park Joon-hwa, is an action-drama, romance-fantasy blend.

To watch this series, you will have to watch a total of twenty episodes, for which I have taken a lot of time to finish, and you may also have to spend a lot of time because the length of each episode is one hour in itself.

You can watch this series with your family if you want to avoid seeing any of the adult scenes, but do keep in mind that there will be some violent scenes.

Now, I do not know which factor you are excited about in relation to this series, but I can tell you what I have experienced in its twenty episodes, what I liked well and what I disliked, and whether this series deserves your time or not. Let's find out now.

There are many elements in its plot that viewers expect from a Korean romance fantasy drama that can be discussed, but if I define its story for you, it follows the character of a shadow assassin named Naksu, who has the power of alchemy of souls, which means she can transform her soul from one body to another. 

Even at the start, some situations force Naksu to transfer his soul to another body.

And then Naksu's journey begins as Mu Deok-i, after which she meets Jang UK's character, who has a lot of problems of his own; I mean, to open the powers that he has, he cannot open the requirements of the energy gate.

But he, along with Mu Deok, begins to solve his problem. So, will Mu Deok, who has lost his own power, be able to give power to Jang UK or not, and how far will both of them travel? What will be their rule in this journey, along with those of these other characters? You'll have to watch this Korean action-fantasy romance drama series to find out.

Alchemy of Souls Review

Regardless of what anyone else thinks, I think it's hilarious. What isn't here for entertainment has friendship, love, drama, magic, action, or humor, all of which will easily engage you, and I guarantee you won't leave until you've finished this series. 

I have honestly enjoyed seeing the way the characters' journey has been presented; even the action sequence is very good, and the way magically related things are shown in it, if I do not focus much on their VFX, then the things shown in it are entertaining.

The best thing about the drama in this series is the actor's chemistry and his performance.

The way Jang UK's personality has been given a get-up, I remembered John Wick.

Drama, action, and comedy are also available, and the good thing about this series is the characters' mysteries or histories, which I am confident will keep you hooked.

And personally, I have found the past history of the character to be quite correct, like why the father of Jang UK's energy gate has kept it closed. I will not spoil it much, but in this way, you will get to see many layers of mystery.

You will like such things after losing power and then gaining magical things, but after ten episodes, the political drama shown and the way it ends will have you very excited for its second season.

I have mixed feelings about the ending of this drama because the last few episodes didn't have much of an impact on me. As much as I was excited about Mu Deok's character, it didn't pay off that much.

However, the ending was satisfying, and it piqued my interest in season 2. The production value, character costumes, and historical period set pieces are all excellent; however, the BGM gives it an epic feel.

Drawbacks

An attempt has been made to explain many things in the plot of this series, due to which everything that should be balanced was not there and, because of this, the characters or their arcs were not properly developed.

The story is funny, but if you try to find some new experience in it, it will not be able to give it. There are other small issues like this, but I am not going to talk about them.

Conclusion

If you want to see a tremendous Korean drama from a fantasy angle, then I highly recommend you watch this once. I have enjoyed this series a lot, and now I am excited for its season too.

If you have seen it, don't forget to comment.

Bye-bye.

review
1

About the Creator

Ayush Verma

Nothing is impossible; the world itself says, "I' am possible!" - Audrey Hepburn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.