Geeks logo

A Quick Review of Star Wars: Force Collector

A book review

By JojoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Quick Review of Star Wars: Force Collector
Photo by Agnieszka Kowalczyk on Unsplash

A quick read: Star Wars: Force Collector by Kevin Shinick.

This is a tale of Karr and his journey to uncover the truth of the Jedi. Karr lives in the post-Order 66 world and the Jedi are only known as fake news. But when Karr has the ability to see the past of objects, he goes out to find what really happened to the Jedi and maybe how he could become one… Or you know maybe a Sith, after all, he is also in his angsty teen years. I just wouldn’t be surprised if he listens to My Chemical Romance. And before I get any haters, I am a fan of My Chem…but was more so during my angsty phase.

Anyway, enough of my babbling on, Karr’s journey will take him to many worlds, that are familiar to any fan of Star Wars. And with each world, comes challenges which he gets through with the help of his friends….and I can see how this is becoming a story for kids. To be fair, though, that is what the targeted audience is. With that said, it is still a very good story, in my opinion.

I am a sucker for stories like these, and who isn’t? Most of fairy tales that we grew up with and love revolve around tales of kids setting out their path to find their fate or destiny. It’s a common question/thought we often find ourselves in. Are we meant for this career choice? Am I destined to get find a soul mate? Should I eat that giant piece of cake? And there is beauty in having these questions. I feel that with time we either seek out our “destinies” or just end up stop believing in them. Not to sound all spiritual, but from what I have seen, it is when we stop believing in them, we become complacent, and life seems to go by without any real passion.

These types of stories entrench us with that sense of adventure to seek out something we yearn. To fight the bad guys and be the heroes. In that basic sense, the story is very similar to the original Star Wars trilogy. Of course, they’re also completely different…But that’s the beauty of Star Wars Universe. The strange and the different combined with the same old themes that we love.

It is a very short read, in my opinion. And that is why I feel like I can’t give too much information else I may spoil the whole story. In that sense, I can also say the story does have a nice flow to it. There definitely weren’t paragraphs and paragraphs describing some kind of color for drapes or something else that is so mundane and no one cares about except for those literary scholars.

If that isn’t enough to spark some interest in reading this, I’d say many fans of the Star Wars Game, the Last Jedi Order may find joy in reading this. There are definitely some parallels in the sense of seeking how one fits with the force, and the balance that must be attained, as well as the answers to the future also lie with the past. Though I will say, there is a lot more cool fights in the game, but that should be an obvious conclusion. I also cannot decide which droid I like more, the droid in the game? Or the droid in the book? But it’s just one of those who cares kind of questions.

All in all, I was a fan of this quick read. It personally brought some light in these dark times. Maybe, and hopefully I can find my own sense of balance real soon. May the force be with you.

review
Like

About the Creator

Jojo

I often find myself at peace when I'm around areas with lots of people like cute streets with coffee shops. I love the thought that everyone is simply living their lives as best as they can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.