Geeks logo

A PUBG Story: First Jump

A story from the world of Player Unknown Battle Ground

By Carlos GuerraPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Since I was a little kid, I had always known what I wanted to do with my life. Back then almost every kid in my class wanted to become a hero and represent our country in the Battle Ground. I mean sure, there was the risk of dying a violent death but that was far from a good enough reason to change any of our minds.

Back when my grandfather was around my age, there was so much war that it had nearly wiped the human race off of the globe. Every world leader could see that our habit of killing each other to resolve our conflicts was an outdated method in need of some adjustments. This caused all of our global leaders to work together in hopes of creating a resolution that would allow us to solve political dilemmas without resorting to killing on a massive scale. It's kind of funny to me that the answer that they came up with was to continue the killing but reduce the scale. And so the Battle Ground Games were born. It's like the Hunger Games but each country puts in their chosen Heroes to represent them throughout 3 contests. There's the 4-man squad match, the 2-man team match, and the lone warrior match. So every year each country chooses 7 of its finest heroes to fight for them. Given the high mortality rate of the games, if a warrior manages to survive through their first year, then they become known as a hero. Any warriors who make it to the final zone alive survive the match but it's only the country with the most kills that walks out of the battleground as a champion.

Fast-forward twenty years and my dream came true... I just made it through the Battle Ground Warriors Academy (or B.G.W.A) and am on the verge of competing in my first year of the Battle Ground Games. I couldn't even find the words to describe how excited I am to say that! Since it's my first year in the games, I'll be representing the United States for the 4-man squad arena. The other two contests are reserved for heroes who've survived through their first year, same goes for the squad leader spot in the 4-man game.

You could consider me lucky, due to the fact that I'll have my best friend Keshawn watching my back. We've been best friends since we were kids but at the same time, we've also been rivals for just as long. Always working to become stronger than one another. It's no surprise that we both graduated from the academy at the top of our class. Our Diamond Instructor, Marcus Solus (a hero who's survived 5 missions becomes known as a Diamond hero) said at our graduation that the two of us were so equally matched that they had no choice but to give us both the award for Most Promising Warrior. One can assume that did little to settle down the rivalry. Putting our intense history aside, I couldn't begin to describe how grateful I am to have him watching my back. We made a pact to do so, that way we can both make it through our first year and become heroes.

Reporting In

I was so excited to be walking down the halls of the National Heroes Headquarters, that I could hardly hide it. I was supposed to be meeting my team leader today along with the rest of the team. Although, given the fact that Keshawn and I were put on the same team, that only consisted of one other person.

The NHHQ is a pretty massive structure, so I had to ask for directions on where I was supposed to go once or twice but I figured it out. When I entered what appeared to be a classroom, I found Keshawn sitting at a table along with another hero contender, so I quickly joined them. Moments later a middle-aged man who appeared to be really tired stumbled in. A second or two had passed before I realized who he was... Diamond Hero Lawrence Ignise, whose career Keshawn and I had seen plenty of in the academy. He had two BG top three's within the first 5 years of his debut and in his seventh run in the squad games, he received his first 1st place medal.

"Alright gentleman, rise and shine!"

Lawrence stood in front of the room, addressing the three of us.

"Good afternoon sir!" the third hero contender, whose name I had yet to learn, spoke up.

"I'm going to start by letting you know right now my name is Lawrence and that is how you will address me throughout our time working alongside one another. In this team the amount of games we've been in doesn't matter; what matters is that we're all in it together. So let that be the last time I hear you call me that Feumail."

Feumail, whose name I later learned is Scottish for useful, responded simply responded by nodding his head with respect.

"Very well... I assume the three of you have gotten to know each other if not do so now."

Keshawn and I both looked at one another with grins on our faces...

"What's up man I'm Keshawn," he said reaching his hand out to shake mine.

"Hey man, I'm Carter."

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Carlos Guerra

Born on 09-07-95 in Miami, Florida.

Are you a fan of my work?

Follow me on Instagram @Carlos_War @Carlos_thewriter, DM me for requests/feedback

Writers & Readers need to stick together, if you enjoy my work, please subscribe 🧐🤔

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.