Geeks logo

A Million Kisses in a Lifetime

Book review

By Devon ReneePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Rating: 5/5

My heart and my soul could not survive A Million Kisses in Your Lifetime. Crew and Wren are literally amazing, the slow build up of their relationship was one of the main things that couldn’t get me to put this book down. I devoured this book in one night, lost sleep over it, and I could reread it and still fall in love with each and every character. This read is one of those ones that ruins males in the real world, because they will never be the way Crew is but a girl can wish. And the spice? If you want all the spice, but just as much sweetness, this is your next read.

To start off, A Million Kisses in Your Lifetime is about happiness, love, being in control of yourself and your choices, purity, and recognizing rights and wrongs. It dives into everything that could happen in a high school setting, while still making sure each character gets their important moments. The sole focus is Crew and Wren’s relationship, but it also keeps the side characters in mind and it’s amazing.

Favorite character based on how they act throughout the entire book, definitely Crew. Crew has such a hard and tough demeanor at first, especially with Wren, but quickly learns how to be a better version of himself. Although his character arc was as amazing as everyone else’s, the main reason I love him is because of the personality he portrays throughout.

There are character arcs for almost every character, which amazes me because I don’t read a lot of stuff that actually brings importance to the side characters as well. My favorite ones had to be Wren and her mother, Cecily. Wren had this whole view of how she was supposed to carry herself her whole life because her dad told her so, but the way she finds her own voice by the end is astounding. Cecily seems a very minor character throughout the book, to me at least, and the change that goes through her by the end made me extremely happy. She went from being a very minor character to me, to an important side character.

Something that I enjoyed reading was the way Wren viewed art in this book, especially when she described her favorite piece to Crew. Her favorite piece is what created the title for this book, being that the art itself was titled A Million Kisses in Your Lifetime. I’ve never been one to appreciate art, but this book made want to recognize it and see it all in a different light. A Million Kisses in Your Lifetime is a title that means more than just a piece of art though, it also embodies the relationship Crew and Wren have together.

If there was anything I hated about the book, it was the way Wren’s father treated her. He didn’t believe that she could handle herself and make good decisions, all because of a mistake she made when she was a child. He invaded her privacy multiple times and wanted so much control over her. Although I know someone had to be the antagonist, I just didn’t want her dad to be the way he was in the book. His character was still written amazingly and the way his character changed at the end surprised me.

Other than a character, I’d probably take out the scene where Wren catches Crew and his friends outside smoking. By the end of the book, it almost seems irrelevant to have had it written in there. It ended up feeling more like something that was there take up some pages, rather than something important. Along with the way Ezra, one of Crew’s friends, treated Wren. There was never any real clarification on where their relationship stood at the end, which is something I would’ve liked to see considering how close Crew is to his friends.

I would definitely recommend this book to any adult romance reader, even with its minor issues. Although there are sweet scenes in this book, the spicy scenes are SPICY and not appropriate for anyone under the age of 18. Also this is an amazing read for anyone who likes books involving a virgin and coming out of your shell. I think a book like this could guide anyone in any type of high school situation, but you’ve got to be mindful of triggers.

review
1

About the Creator

Devon Renee

First things first, I am an avid romance reader, but enjoy writing about anything. One thing you will probably see the most of is book reviews. I have recently obtained my BFA in Creative Writing and hope that you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.