Geeks logo

A Few Notes About Primrose Cohen and His Movie Reviews On My Account

Review, Initiation, and Explanation

By Mark BennearPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Few Notes About Primrose Cohen and His Movie Reviews On My Account
Photo by Daria Kraplak on Unsplash

Beginning At This Beginning

The few and elite who follow my account on Vocal Media know a portion of what I am about to write. The tiny quantity of supplicants who emigrated with me from The Esoteric Order of Snotra.org know a bit more. There is still more to the story, of course, but I can only publish that which Mr. Cohen allows. The handful of souls who are familiar with Mr. Cohen are aware that he holds loyalty as a virtue above all others. While he would never betray a friend or trusted colleague, he also has zero tolerance for interpersonal treachery. Nonetheless, I feel some responsibility to offer some sort of explanation as to why I publish the writings of another person on my account and give to the reader a sensibility about Mr. Cohen that allows him/her/they to understand why Mr. Cohen insists so firmly that I do exactly that rather than Mr. Cohen creating his own account.

The Seeing Eye

Rather like Crawford Tillinghast, Mr. Cohen can see things that others (unassisted by him) cannot. Mr. Cohen aims his ardent eye, keen intellect, and perplexing sensibilities at many subjects. His movie reviews were the first treatises that he deigned to mail to me for submission to a website of my choosing. Yet, his interests and insights are so vast as to be reasonably described as Ligeia-like. Mr. Cohen has said, “If I did not write...If I did not put my thoughts to paper, I would go mad...or madder...or even maddest. What would The Mad Hatter have on me other than a hat and a penchant for scofflawing?” Mr. Cohen stated more than once that he has suspected that he was the Earthly embodiment of Odr, but that his ability to consume bourbon at astronomical rates probably means nothing on that front. All this having been said, the fact remains that Mr. Cohen, as his movie reviews reveal, can see the tale behind the tale, the meaning swirling in the nonsense, and the darkness inhabiting the impenetrable gloom within the sequin mine of the mind.

The Yeti Temperament

Having once described the creature known as The Yeti as “too social,” Mr. Cohen is not inclined to make new friends easily. Indeed, Mr. Cohen has maintained for years that The Yeti is an interdimensional being of great intelligence yet little understanding of thread count. Even so, Mr. Cohen does admit that he has some things on common with The Yeti excluding, of course, dimension of origin, habitat, and thread count deficiency. Mr. Cohen spends most of his time in one of three undisclosed locations that he has fashioned into offices and domiciles. He communicates with a small number of curated stalwarts (such as myself) primarily through traditional post-delivered letters and the occasional telegraph. He somehow succeeded in placing his hidden workhomes in locations at which he can still drive his Rickenbacker D6 Sedan to a telegraph office where he manages to go largely unrecognized.

Messaging and Devotion

Mr. Cohen cares. He cares deeply. He cares without limit or regret. We're not sure what he cares about. Regardless, he still wishes to stay in touch with his inner circle. He chooses to share with us a limited portion of his writing. Of that limited portion, he asks that I place certain handpicked writings in a forum in which many people could potentially see them yet hardly anyone is likely to notice. Obediently, I do as Mr. Cohen wishes. I share the writings he identifies, and I hope others will value them and just maybe ascend to a higher plane of existence or even a higher plain of existence. I don't like to be overly prescriptive.

Sincerely,

Mark Bennear

movie
Like

About the Creator

Mark Bennear

I enjoy reading, writing, and sharing ideas and appreciation. Blessings to all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.