Geeks logo

A brief backstory on my introduction into Brawlhalla.

First-timer, but I'm just excited to see the aftermath.

By Ethan FloresPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
My first experience with Brawlhalla

As a beginner, I wasn't informed of the objectives. I had watched Youtube countless times to gain tips, but some of them weren't very beneficial. To say the least, I was very close to giving up Brawlhalla all in the same week I started the game up. When I was first granted access to a new Macbook Air, I immediately brainstormed, but that was after my shock. "What should I do? Where do I start? Why is there an ad asking me to complete my profile when I haven't even started one?" Truth is, the set-up was profoundly complex, but it didn't repel my intentions of utilizing my laptop. In fact, I was so curious, I consistently asked Siri what 1+1 as to verify that it worked. (That part is for comedical purposes, back with the story!) To think, I had it all. I was manipulating a machine that worked for the sole purpose of amusing me, etc. That sounds bad in so many ways, but don't tell Moby! ( Moby is Tim's companion from Brainpop). Anywho, when I was scrolling through the web like a typical teenager, something peculiar popped up in search engine. Steam? In a computer? How the hell does that work? I clicked on the link only to encounter hundreds of titles all in one place! Astonished by this work of art, I made my way towards the free games. (Being broke doesn't detain my capabilities, mind you.) I scrolled through, and found nothing but lame titles, until.... "Brawlhalla? What kind of Super Smash sh#t is this?" My mouse hovered over it, which brought my attention towards the videos. I spent a good 10 minutes just watching stickers fly across maps. It was totally worth it. The time required to download Brawlhalla was respectable, and I started my quest onto figuring out the controls, the objective, and so on and so forth. I know I'm going to gain so much hate for this, but I have previously used a controller on PC, and I am quite ashamed of myself. ("Boo", said the reader to themself.) To be fair, I wasn't much of a keyboard player until I was educated on typing skills thanks to my Computers teacher over at my HS. (She's so wonderful, I don't know how I would've typed this long paragraph without her.) Familiarizing myself with the keyboard controls was a hardship, but I chose to undertake it with zero doubts. My first-ever character that I rushed into battle was Lucien, a revolutionary... I don't know the labels, my history knowledge is rusty! I'd be happy to discuss WWII, though. Lucien's weapons consist of katars, and blasters. They were very powerful when it came to charged attacks. Other than that, they were pretty decent. My 2nd legend was Ada, if I remember correctly. (You can view the lore in Brawlhalla if you wish to see a more detailed explanation of a character.) Blah, blah, blah, some bald dude with a stick and gauntlets and yellow-luminiscent powers, then finally: The Shadow Keeper, Jiro, a soon to be shogun. With his shadows assisting him in time of battle, and his lust for taking shadows from oppponents, he really is someone you'd like to side with. But enough chit-chat for now. I hope I didn't bore you with a profusely long paragraph about my interesting experiences. Until then, fellow travellers. I bid you all a great journey in the land of mutual learning. Safe travels. :)

gaming
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.