Geeks logo

7 Stories You Missed This Week (31/05 - 07/06)

New stories, from Davido to AY.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

New stories, from Davido to AY.

***********************************************************************

Everyday throughout the week, I see stories that I think are interesting but not long enough to create full articles about. So I made a decision. Every time I see any such post, I bookmark it, wait to see if the major blogs and websites carry it and then if they don't, I'll share it with you.

The plan is to make this "7 Stories You Missed This Week" a weekly column that comes to you every Sunday. So to make sure you don't miss out on any new stories, be sure to like and follow me on Facebook. I have a really fun page, you should join us!

1. TY Bello Releases Never Before Seen Pictures of Nigerian Celebrities.

Kate Henshaw

Nigerian singer and photographer, TY Bello is celebrating 20 years of photography. The sensational artiste took to Instagram to share the brilliant news saying:

I'm excited to begin the celebration of my 20 years in photography in this month of June...and it's been amazing time looking back through thousands and thousands of images and going back to my very first days. I begin the celebrations by sharing with you some of my favourite themes, photographs, moments and stories. Hope you enjoy the journey with me. Today, I start with my favourite subject to photograph- WHITE: ANGELIC CLARITY, PURITY AND PEACE.

The pictures are gorgeous and she captured some of Nigeria's finest. Take a look for yourself.

Genevieve Nnaji
Debola
Stephanie Linus
Charly Boy
Sinach

2. Davido Makes a Drastic Change

We don't know what happened to Davido over this last week, but the singer took to Twitter to post this very cryptic message.

I guess something has happened that has caused him to make a change. Whatever journey he's on, I hope he finds all that he's looking for.

3. MI Abaga Updates Fans About Health Conditions.

Rapper, M.I. Abaga on Wednesday sent his fans' hearts breaking when he tweeted out:

However, 2 days later, he came back to Twitter to report that he's feeling a little better and to thank the fans who sent him loving words. Happy to hear the African Rapper #1 is doing well!

4. Peruzzi Responds to Rape Accusations.

A woman last week took to Twitter to accuse singer, Peruzzi, of raping her in 2012. In a slew of tweets, the woman went into detail about what Peruzzi allegedly did to her. After this accusation, Twitter users dug up tweets from Peruzzi in the past where he branded himself a rapist and encouraged rape behavior.

Now, he's speaking out about the accusation in a statement he released to his social media. This is what he had to say:

5. Neat FM's Kwadwo Wiafe Dead At 33.

Tragic news coming out of Ghana on Thursday. Drive Time host on the Neat FM, one of the stations of Despite Media, Kwadwo Annor Wiafe died on the 4th of June, 2020 at the young age of 33. The cause of death is still unknown.

Popular Ghanian actor, John Dumelo, took to Twitter to remember the Neat FM host.

May his gentle soul forever rest in perfect peace.

6. Riverdale actress, Vanessa Morgan, calls out the show.

Black actress, Vanessa Morgan, called out the show she's currently on, the popular TV series, Riverdale, for unequal pay and sidelining of black characters.

She posted this statement to her social media:

Producers of the show in response to her posts said this in summary:

We will do better to honor her and the character she plays... Riverdale will be part of the movement, not outside it

7. Merry Men 2 is now streaming on Netflix.

In exciting news for anybody who's ran out of stuff to watch, Nigerian blockbuster, Merry Men 2 is now streaming on Netflix. Starring Ramsey Nouah, Falz, Jim Iyke, and a new ensemble of women including Ufuoma McDermott and Ireti Doyle, it is a movie that is sure to spice up your day even if just a little.

THAT'S ALL.

I hope you've enjoyed reading today's compilation of stories. To make sure you don't miss out on this weekly column as well as the other interesting articles, lists, and stories that I bring to you every single day, be sure to like and follow me on Facebook. I have a really fun page. You're gonna love it, so why not come on in? Like it above.

To read other interesting posts you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

list
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.