Geeks logo

7 Hollywood Celebrities You Didn't Know Are Nigerian.

Get ready to be surprised.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3

Get ready to be surprised.

Hollywood is littered with so much talent. In music, television, movies, the stars are endless, and within that constellation are some of our people: Nigerians.

There are so many Nigerians that have attained star status in Hollywood, and we're so proud of all of them.

Here are 7 Hollywood Stars You May Not Have Known Are Nigerian.

Before you dive into this list, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new interesting articles that I post every single day.

7. Uzo Aduba

Uzoamaka Nwanneka Aduba popularly known in Hollywood and around the world as Uzo Aduba is a Hollywood actress most popular for playing the role of Suzanne "Crazy Eyes" Warren on the Netflix original series Orange Is the New Black. This role earned her an Emmy award for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series in 2014, an Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series in 2015, and two Screen Actors Guild Awards for Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Comedy Series in 2014 and 2015. So you can say that Uzo isn't doing badly for herself!

Although Uzo Aduba was born in Boston, Massachusetts, both of her parents are Nigerian making her a 100% Nigerian woman. We're all so proud of her.

She's currently killing it in the role of Shirley Chisholm in the Hulu series Mrs. America.

6. John Boyega

John Adedayo B. Adegboyega known popularly in Hollywood and around the world as John Boyega is an English actor most popularly known for playing the character of Finn in the Star Wars sequel trilogy films, The Force Awakens (2015), The Last Jedi (2017), and The Rise of Skywalker (2019).

John Boyega was born in Peckham, London to 2 Nigerian parents: Abigail Aboderin and Samson Adegboyega.

5. Ashley Madekwe

I remember watching the TV show, Revenge, that year and seeing in like episode 7 the name "Ashley Madekwe". Immediately I said, "Ah ah. Nigerian?". And of course I googled who Ashley Madekwe was. Immediately I saw it was the girl who played the character of Ashley on the show, I screamed "I knew it!"

Ashley Madekwe is best known for playing Ashley Davenport on the ABC show, Revenge and for playing the role of Tituba on WGN America's Salem.

She was born in South London to an English mother and a Nigerian father making her a British-Nigerian woman.

She's doing us very proud. We stan her.

4. Big Sean

Big Sean shocked fans when in an interview with Vibe Magazine, the rapper said:

I remember one time, My Aunty took Me and My Brother to see Santa Claus and Santa Claus was black, and I was like that’s not Santa Claus, then my grandma said why is that not Santa Claus and I was like because he is black, He was like Super black, you know what I mean like a Nigerian, I am Nigerian, part Nigerian

I remember when this story broke, Nigerian Twitter went CRAZY!

We're still unsure how the rapper is Nigerian. On whose side, mother? father? We don't know any details about it, but if Oluwa Sean says that he is Nigerian, then we claim him as Nigerian.

3. Sam Adegoke

This is another case of me watching a show, seeing a name and screaming "I knew it!"

If you watch Dynasty and you're Nigerian, then you know that when the opening credits rolled and you saw the name 'Sam Adegoke', you too were pleasantly surprised.

The Nigerian actor is making us so so proud, especially because he not only made a deliberate effort for his character on the show to be proudly Nigerian, he's also been vocal about how he makes it a point to have authentic Nigerian food and Nigerian artwork and clothing on the show whenever they wanted to express his Nigerian side.

Sam is doing what he needs to do in Hollywood and we're so happy and proud to watch him.

2. Sade Adu

I found this out just a few moments ago and I'm honestly so shocked. Although thinking about it some more, her name is Sade. I don't know why I didn't put 2 and 2 together.

The legendary singer whose full name is Helen Folasade Adu was born in Ibadan, Nigeria to a Nigerian father, Adebisi Adu, and an English mother, Anne Hayes. They met in London, got married in 1955, and then moved to Nigeria.

The iconic singer has gone on to record hit songs such as Smooth Operator and No Ordinary Love.

Yes Sade Adu!

1. Kerry Washington.

Yes, Kerry Washington is Nigerian. YES.

When Kerry Washington in 2013 married her husband Nnamdi Asomugha, she became Nigerian by marriage.

The actress who is wildly popular for her role as Olivia Pope on ABC's Scandal keeps her private life private, but we Nigerians were very happy when pictures of Kerry rocking Nigerian regalia at a Nigerian wedding surfaced online. It suits her well.

Welcome to the family Nne Kerry. We're happy to embrace you.

THAT'S ALL.

Did any of these names surprise you? If so, who? Tell me your thoughts in the comments of my Facebook page or if you feel very strongly, you can also feel free to message me with any of your thoughts.

To read other interesting stories I know you'll love right now, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day!

celebrities
3

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.