Geeks logo

6 Years After Yabbing Her for Bleaching, Dencia Bashes Linda Ikeji for Doing Same.

Dencia did not hold back in her response!

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dencia did not hold back in her response!

Let’s throw it back. The year was the early 2010s. At the time, Cameroonian star Dencia was an upcoming African artiste trying to break into the Nigerian music market. While that wasn’t going swimmingly and her music wasn’t being taken as seriously as she had hoped, she decided to branch out into other business ventures and she created a skincare product line called Whitenicious which was targeted at correcting hyperpigmentation. The world branded this product, Whitenicious a ‘bleaching cream’ and for many years after that, even until today, Dencia is still bashed about the product despite it’s strong sales and the introduction of other products into the line including Darklicious.

Pictures from Whitenicious campaign

One such person who at the time gave her own thoughts on not only Whitenicious as a product but also on Dencia herself, was Nigerian blogger Linda Ikeji.

She reported severally on Whitenicious as a product and from the things I’ve read, she didn’t really say anything that I would consider too bad against Dencia, although from the way she wrote the stories, you could tell that she definitely raised her nose and laughed at the whole thing.

Some of her posts about Dencia and Whitenicious read:

I don't think Whitenicious is a bleaching cream but because it sounds like one, it's already sold out! Kai, Naija babes and bleaching cream...lol

Hasn't Whitenicious given Dencia way more recognition that her music ever did?

Well, it has been 6 years since all of this and Dencia is now taking shots at Linda Ikeji who is looking significantly different than she did all those years ago. According to Dencia, it’s as a result of skin bleaching – skin bleaching which Linda accused her of, and now Dencia is firing at Linda Ikeji.

Are you ready to see what Dencia said? Then let’s go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Dencia

Taking to social media platform Twitter, Dencia tweeted out saying:

Can we talk about how I was dragged for years on Linda Ikeji’s blog for skin lightening Man how roles have switched Who is the bleacher now I’ll be sending a care package cuz it’s needed & cuz I like Linda.

1 thing about life, what goes around comes back around.

My therapist and nutritionist say we shouldn’t judge people’s appearances cuz we don’t know the cause of it. I totally agree but I don’t think they hear me when I tell them how the world has continuously dragged & insulted me for things I can’t control thank God I’m strong

Nawa oh! This Dencia sha get sharp mouth.

Linda has neither confirmed nor denied any rumors about her bleaching her skin even though fans have pulled several before and after pictures and said there’s an obvious difference in her skin complexion.

Linda Ikeji back in her modeling days
Linda's latest picture

Who knows? Maybe that Banana Island weather is different from the weather all over the rest of Nigeria? Who knows? Either way, this is why it’s just best to allow everybody do what they want to do with their skin and body without judgement. If 6 years down the line, you then want to come and do the same thing, this na the kin wahala wey go dey wait you. Let’s wait and see if Linda will reply.

That’s All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.