Geeks logo

5 Reasons Why I’m Loving Falcon and The Winter Solider

For Marvel Fans

By Allison Schafer Published 3 years ago 6 min read
1
5 Reasons Why I’m Loving Falcon and The Winter Solider
Photo by Clément M. on Unsplash

As a die hard Marvel fan I have loved Bucky since the very first Captain America and when Sam was introduced in Winter Solider, I quickly fell in love with his character as well. So, when the announcement came that they were creating a show around both of these characters, my excitement was through the roof.

And now that we are three episodes in, I have to admit I’m loving it just as much as I thought I would.

If you’re hesitant to pick up the Marvel show, here are five reasons why I’m currently loving it.

1. Representation of mental health

Shown Through: Bucky

If you’re a marvel fan, then you’ve probably been following Bucky’s very sad story since his return in Captain America: The Winter Solider. Over the course of the next films, we see Bucky struggle with combating his own mind, trying to come back from being a puppet used by Hydra.

This struggle is seen a lot in Civil War, where Bucky is finally coming back to who he was before Hydra turned him into the ultimate weapon.

By the time we reach Falcon and the Winter solider, we see Bucky in a place where the words that once held so much power over him, no longer control him. But, that doesn’t mean he is any better.

From the moment episode one starts, we see Bucky struggling with therapy and a list of names he has written in a notebook. We later find out these names are people he wronged or hurt as the Winter solider. The emotional and mental toll it takes on Bucky is not missed by the audience and I think the writers do a great job as showcasing Bucky's inner sorrow and turmoil.

I love how Marvel isn’t tying this up into a pretty bow, but showing the struggle is takes to work towards being better after going through something traumatic. As the audience we feel for Bucky and understand the hurdles he continuously goes through as he not only worries about the person he is, but also the person he has become.

2. Comedy

Shown Through: The Witty banter between Bucky and Sam

What I love about all marvel movies is the perfect balance of humor and serious. Somehow Marvel has managed to hit this sweet spot of managing an intense scene, quickly followed by a line that will have you busting up laughing.

And Falcon and The Winter Solider follows this formula.

The banter they have going on between Bucky and Sam is something I look forward to every episode. Not only do they (pretend) to not like each other, but also it presents a fun camaraderie between the two when they finally have to gear up and fight the bad guys.

If it’s not Sam commenting about how Bucky is always broody then it’s him ignoring something Bucky says or creating a fun challenge of his own.

3. Nod To Past Marvel Films

Shown Through: Bucky, Sam and Zemo

Marvel is one of the franchises that has perfected the art of bringing back a specific scene that happened five films ago and somehow making it relevant to the current film.

I love nods to other marvel films, especially if they are done right.

For example: In Falcon and The Winter Solider there was a scene in episode 3 that was a nod dating all the way back to Captain America: Civil War.

This scene took place in a car where Sam was sitting shotgun while Bucky was in the back.

Bucky asks, “ Can you move your seat up?”

Sam says, “ No.”

In episode 3 of Falcon and The Winter Solider Zemo—a villain from Civil War—drives up in a car, of which Bucky takes the front and Sam gets in the back.

Sam then asks, “ You’re not going to move your seat up, are you?”

Bucky responds, “ Nope.”

It’s little things like this that I love so much about Marvel. As someone who recalls every funny line ever said in a Marvel movie, I’m always eager to see something brought back. Not only does it make me laugh, but it also provides an appreciation for the writers and their capability to bring back something so funny but in a new way.

4. Badass Female Representation

Shown Through: Sharon Carter

While Falcon and The Winter Solider is a show primarily based on the men in the Marvel universe, I was really happy to see Sharon on the list of characters returning. Even though, I love watching men in tight uniforms as much as the next woman, I do appreciate the female representation, especially when it’s done well and just as badass as the men.

Since we never really got to see Sharon in action in the other films, I am happy they decided to spotlight her in the show. Being a fan of Peggy Carter—Steve’s love—I was excited to see anyone on screen who is related to her.

I wasn't expecting Sharon to get too much screen time, but I was thrilled that she did, especially during her fight scene. I also really appreicate that the writers don't just have her in there to fill a female quota, but-as far as i can tell- it's looking like she might have an interesting story arch as well. So I am intrigued to see where the creators take her storyline and in the meantime I’ll enjoy watching her show Sam and Bucky how it’s done.

5. Finding That Grey Area

Shown through: Zemo and the new Captain America

Zemo:

If you’re a Marvel fan you’re well acquainted with Zemo as a villain, since he took center stage as the one causing mayhem in Civil War. But, what I love about Falcon and the Winter Solider is that the show sheds some new light on Zemo’s character, humanizing him a bit.

In Civil War I loathed him for what he was doing to Bucky, but seeing Zemo outside of that state, it’s hard to not find something likable about him, especially since he’s agreed to help our heroes find answers to who’s creating more of the super solider serum.

Even though we’ve only gotten Zemo in one episode, I found myself pleasantly surprised to liking him a bit more and curious to see where his character goes from here.

John Walker/New Captain America

As a big fan of Steve Rodgers, I was just as furious as Bucky when I saw this new version of Captain America. As an audience, we want to root for the underdog; we want Captain America to be a symbol of hope, strength, and righteousness.

John Walker doesn’t represent any of that. You would think the government in the show would have picked someone better, someone more like Steve to take up the mantle of the symbol of hope, but instead they chose someone who, isn't like the former Cap at all. And possess as more of a threat to Bucky and Sam than an ally.

I like that we get to see the difference between these two characters. Zemo-someone who is supposed to be inherently evil, helping our heroes and this new Captain America-who is supposed to be good, presenting a more difficult front to them.

This contrast isn’t missed on me and I am eager to see both of their journy's throughout the show.

If you haven’t yet watched the show, I highly recommend you do! This show is hitting all the marks for what makes a perfect Marvel show/film and I hope this has convinced you to try and pick it up!

Happy Watching!

superheroes
1

About the Creator

Allison Schafer

Harry Potter/Marvel/Disney enthusiest. Cat lover. World traveler. Book lover. Alway baking. Hopeless Romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.