Geeks logo

5 Podcasts You Should Be Listening to During Quarantine

Surviving the Isolation

By Marci BrodockPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like
Photo by Juja Han on Unsplash

Unlocking Us with Brene Brown

Brene Brown is the friend we all need during this time. She is imperfectly perfect at handling things when life gets tough. She will be the first to admit that she doesn’t always get it right and it is a struggle for her to stay calm and steady during these times, but she strongly relies on her research of vulnerability and shame as she navigates everything life has to offer. She is my hero, not because she is perfect, but because she is willing to share her very human experiences that provide lessons to support living a more meaningful and wholehearted life. If you don’t know, Brene Brown is the best-selling author of the books Daring Greatly, Rising Strong and Dare to Lead. Her research in vulnerability and shame is life changing. She has an amazing gift for storytelling and the moral of her stories will provide you with a compass for living a wholehearted life. However, her work does not give you a step-by-step checklist for living your best life. Instead she provides you with skills to navigate this very imperfect and emotional life. She will not pretend to have all the answers, but every week she will sit in this uncertain time with you and share some of her ideas on how to make it through this difficult time.

If you have not discovered Brene Brown yet, your life is about to change. Take a break from binge watching Tiger Kings on Netflix and spend a day watching her Netflix special “Call to Courage” and then binge watch her on YouTube. Then watch as you start to work towards living a more wholehearted life where you find the courage to be authentic and vulnerable.

The Life Coach School Podcast with Brook Castillo

I found this podcast a little over a year ago and it completely changed the way I looked at my life. Until I found this podcast, I thought I was in control of my life and my future, but I realized my past was in the driver’s seat of my life. Brooke provides you with a format for changing your thoughts providing you with the power to control your future. I must alert you that this is not an instant change. You will need to put in some work, but with Brooke’s guidance you can do it. Her message is simple. You can change your results by changing your thoughts. She covers how our thoughts trigger emotions, which then triggers reactions which leads to our results. This podcast will provide you with actionable steps to recognize the thoughts that are producing both negative and positive results in your life.

I recommend starting with episode one instead of the more recent episodes. Her first 100 episodes really cover the foundation of her work. Brooke talks to you like you are her best friend and provides valuable wisdom that will leave you feeling motivated and inspired for hours even days after listening to her. Even in the middle of a global crisis, her teachings will help you start the personal transformation you have been searching for.

InvestED with Phil and Danielle Town

Let’s take a moment to focus on the inevitable right now. This Coronavirus is going to send our economy spiraling into a recession or possibly a depression. Right now is not the time to be passive when it comes to your money. I first saw Phil Town when I went to Tony Robbin’s Power of Success event in Calgary last year. One of my biggest weaknesses is my financial intelligence. I will admit that I have made many mistakes in investing from blindly trusting my employer provided retirement funds (not that this is a bad strategy, it just wasn’t the right one for me) to pulling out retirement funds to pay off debt only to rack it up again. Now, at age 45, I am starting all over again. Phil Town was hands down my favorite speaker in Calgary that day (and that is saying something because Rachel Hollis and Tony Robbins spoke at the event too.) Let me tell you why. Phil explains investing in a way that makes sense, even to me. The strategy he uses mirrors the same strategy of the wealthiest people in the world including Warren Buffett and Charlie Munger. Phil and his daughter provide weekly advice for how to become an intelligent investor. This is the time. With the market plunging, you will be able to get some great deals on buying companies. Phil Town helps you find the right companies to invest in by teaching you how to become a thoughtful investor in eight simple steps. He also has a great series of YouTube videos that breaks down complex ideas into quick and easy to understand bits of investment knowledge.

Even if you are not willing to become an active investor in your wealth management, I would suggest you find a podcast that will help you build a positive relationship with your finances. Dave Ramsey is another great financial expert that can help you get out of debt and plan for your future. He is more conservative than Phil Town, but his advice is priceless. I have been using his strategy for debt for a year and I have paid off two of my credit cards and I only have one more to go. Take this time to learn something new about your finances and watch your confidence grow around your money.

Elevation Church with Steven Furtick

Ok, this is not a podcast, but I needed to include it in this list. If you are not Christian, please skip to the next paragraph. Elevation Church provides positive and powerful sermons week after week through their YouTube channel or the Elevation app. Regardless of what denomination you are, Pastor Steve’s sermons are sure to lift your spirits because of the passion he brings to each sermon. His unconditional love for the word of God is exactly what the world needs right now. During this time of uncertainty, Pastor Steve reminds us we are not alone and that God is in control. We may not know what the world will look like on the other side of this crisis, but we do know that God is already there. With church congregations unable to gather during this time, Elevation Church provides you with a very powerful sermon each week to keep you in touch with God’s power and grace.

No matter your spiritual belief, there is a podcast or message available for you too. All it takes is a quick search to connect with someone who can keep you in tune with your spirituality. Faith is what will get us through this crisis, so hold on tight to your beliefs and connect with others who share your divinity.

The Science of Success with Matt Bodner

This podcast is more of an interest-based podcast. I have recently become obsessed with psychology, especially the psychology of successful people. Matt Bodner interviews researchers and authors that have unlocked the key to some of the behaviors that support success. From habit building to learning techniques, Matt covers all aspects of successful behaviors. Every week, he interviews someone who will suggest techniques and skills to help you reach your goals no matter how big or small. I have implemented so many strategies I have heard in his interviews and now I am doing things I never thought I could do, like writing this blog and running a 10k (on my way to a half marathon). I have the desire to consistently grow and improve as a person and Matt’s podcast gives me science backed research to help me build behaviors that will move me forward.

I want to encourage you to find an interest-based podcast for yourself, especially if the psychology of behavior does not interest you. From history to music to traveling, there is a podcast for you. What is something you are interested in? Now is the time to learn more about it. Search for your favorite subject or hobby and spend some time listening to someone who shares the same interests as you. It will help you feel more connected during this very isolating time.

A Note From the Author:

I have linked each podcast, just click on the title of the podcast to start listening. I am not affiliated with any of these podcasts. They are podcasts I am actively listening to that have provided me with some relief during this COVID-19 crisis. There are services that can be purchased by few of the podcasts I have written about. I have not purchased any of the programs presented in the podcasts. A few other podcasts I listen to that are not listed above are The Tony Robbins Podcast, Super Soul Conversations with Oprah, Hidden Brain by NPR and The Pschology Podcast with Scott Barry Kaufman.

Thank you for reading and I hope you and your loved ones are staying healthy and safe. Please share if you found this article useful.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Marci Brodock

Finding the words between adventures to share with the world while living the life that only I can live.

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.