Geeks logo

5 Netflix Shows To Inspire Creativity

Shift your nightly binge into high-gear!

By The Creative Chimera Published 3 years ago 3 min read
5
5 Netflix Shows To Inspire Creativity
Photo by "My Life Through A Lens" on Unsplash

Creative blocks can keep us stumped for days or weeks at a time. I know the pain of staring down an empty canvas, straining for inspiration and begging for the muse to move me. It's frustrating when you feel a forceful drive to create, but can't form a cohesive vision for your project. Fret no more, frustrated artist! There are a ton of ways to boost your inspiration by making a simple change to your evening Netflix binge! Keep your handy-dandy notebook nearby to track all of your amazing ideas as you adventure through these inspirational gems.

By Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

1) The Creative Brain

Get inspired by a few of today's master innovators! The Creative Brain is a feature-length documentary, chock-full of stunning imagery and awe-inspiring facts about the human mind. Understanding the way creativity works within our brain is an inspirational process. Reinforcing the knowledge that humans are intrinsically designed for creation will reinvigorate your artistic motivation.

2) Tidying Up With Marie Kondo

This one may feel out of place, but I find organization to be relaxing and inspirational. The Kon Mari method has helped me regain my love for creation. Being able to easily peruse through all of my supplies and locate items with ease has increased my productivity and brought joy back into my work. I no longer struggle to remember where I last saw this brush or that ball of yarn. Taking the anxiety and struggle out of my creative process gives me more time to spend working on projects and developing new ideas. Having visible access to all of my supplies also allows me to gain new inspiration as I create. I am constantly envisioning new projects as I work and even while tidying up!

Aside from the amazing tips for organizing your art studio, this series features many opportunities for inspiration. The calming effect of watching disasters become organized bliss gives the mind time to open up and create new ideas. The intermingled personal stories evoke an emotional response that will inspire you to look within and reflect on personal experiences. This is an opportunity to analyze our own lives from a new perspective and pull inspiration from within.

3) The Mind Explained

Exploring the innermost functions of our mind is an exceptional way to boost creative inspiration. Taking a moment to think more consciously about why we create and what drives us can reinvigorate our artistic spirit. This limited series shines a light on memory, dreams, anxiety, mindfulness, and psychedelics. Each episode offers a unique perspective on the human consciousness. Get inspired by the incredible masterpiece that is the human mind!

4) Abstract: the art of design

Each episode dives into a different creative pursuit. You can binge the whole series, or choose your favourite topics such as photography or costume design. I suggest checking out the whole series. You never know what could spark your next glorious idea!

If you enjoy creating with the tv on, Abstract is a great background series. The artistic themes will keep your mind on a creative track, even if you get distracted by the amazing content. You may find new inspiration that will revolutionize your current project.

5) Headspace: Guide To Meditation

Getting your head in the right space is a necessary step for productive creativity. Each episode of Headspace offers tips for maintaining your peace during everyday life, as well as guiding you through a short meditation. Taking in an episode before starting each day or prior to entering your workspace will relax your body and center your mind. It will also help you create a routine and motivate you to continue working on your mindfulness and meditation. Resetting before you begin to create will clear any negative energy and open up the flow of new ideas. The guided meditation is a great start for those who are new to the concept.

Thank you for reading! I hope you find some inspiration in the shows I have suggested. If you enjoyed this article please click that little heart and consider sharing the post on your social media!

tv
5

About the Creator

The Creative Chimera

Welcome! I’m an Artist, Twitch streamer, & eclectic writer. I do fiction and non fiction so check out my profile to see more of my topics! I joined vocal to spread some knowledge, share some of my works & find awesome writers to experience!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.