Geeks logo

5 Guy Ritchie Movies you should watch before watching “The Gentlemen”

A simple guide for more Gentlemen Gangsters, fast cuts and English swearing in your life.

By Jule JessenbergerPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Guy Ritchie’s new movie “The Gentlemen” is now playing in the theatres and yesterday I finally watched it. Damn! So good!

And so Guy Ritchie!

When you continue reading this article, you’ll probably notice that I’m a big Guy Ritchie Fan. I really like his way of storytelling and editing. And so, of course, I was a little concerned about this movie.

It’s been a while that he wrote and directed his own movie. The last years he did some adaptions and big blockbuster work on “Aladdin”, “The Men of U.N.C.L.E” or “Sherlock”, which are all great but they weren’t not his original work. But with “The Gentlemen” he’s back to business and he does not disappoint, I can tell you that.

But before you go and watch the movie, maybe consider watching some of his other movies, so you know what you can expect.

I made a list of 5 movies that you should watch before watching “The Gentlemen” … or maybe after this little masterpiece, when you’re in a Guy Ritchie Hype like me, right now. #fangirlinghard

So, let’s get down to it, shall we?

1. Rock’n’Rolla (2008)

A story of sex, thugs, and Rock’n’Roll staring Geralt Butler and Tom Hardy. It’s a great gangster movie to start with to get in the right Guy Ritchie mood. Fast cuts, a lot of British swearing and robberies gone bad.

That’s a little bit “Guy Ritchie” in a nutshell, I’d say.

One part I always really enjoy about Guy Ritchie movies is his soundtrack! Because, daaamn, the music is always so badass and fitting. Maybe it’s because he kind of startet shooting music videos?

That seems to make the difference in his movies.

I remember when I watched this movie that the song “Rock’n’Roll Queen” from the Subways stuck in my head for a very long time.

2. Snatch (2000)

Another gangster crime comedy in London with a lot of English swearing and slang. In two words: Love it!

Also that was his first big feature, before he got bigger gigs as a director and writer. I also think the IMDB description for that movie is hilariously great:

Unscrupulous boxing promoters, violent bookmakers, a Russian gangster, incompetent amateur robbers and supposedly Jewish jewelers fight to track down a priceless stolen diamond.

Source: IMDB.com

Who wouldn’t want to watch that movie, right?

I also need to shamelessly admit that I watched this movie recently for the first time and you definitely can feel the similarities between this one and his newest “The Gentlemen”.

Seems like he went back to the roots.

3. Sherlock Holmes (2009)

Ok, this is one of my favourite movies of all time. Not only because I love Guy Ritchie’s movies, but also because I adore Sherlock Holmes. This adaption is so much fun to watch and to see Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law as Sherlock Holmes and John Watson is just great. They have an incredible chemistry on screen and the distinct Guy Ritchie editing style make this movie truly great.

And again the soundtrack is awesome!

I mean with Hans Zimmer everything is awesome, I guess. But if you haven’t watched that movie yet, definitely watch it. Even if you’re not such a fangirl like me.

4. The Men of U.N.C.L.E. (2015)

This great movie unfortunately did not well in the box office. Which is really a shame because I liked the comic adaption. It’s about an American CIA Agent and former art thief who needs to work together with an Russian KGB Agent with aggression problems.

I mean, do I need to say more? This just sounds super interesting for me. Or maybe I just have a weird taste … who knows?

Henry Cavill as the American and Armie Hammer as the Russian are really good in it.

For me it was super entertaining, fun, and exciting. Maybe because it has also this little Italian gangster flare to it and plays mostly in Europe in location I’ve already been.

At one point there were rumours about a sequel which I’d love, but so far I think all we can do is watch this movie again and again, before hopefully the story continues one day.

Or maybe we should start at petition? … Yeah, I really want a sequel.

5. King Arthur - Legend of the Sword (2017)

Ok, please don’t frown!

I know that a lot of people did not like that movie, but I loved it! And I’ll defend it firecly in front of everyone who wants to bash it.

King Arthur” is a great fantasy adventure story that tells the story of King Arthur in a different kind of way. I mean, big ass war elephants and a cool dope-ass sword that makes you super fast and strong?

And also Charlie Hunnam as King Arthur?

Come on, guys! This movie clearly needs some appreciation.

I also need to mention again that the soundtrack to this movie is so epic and badass that I’m still listening to it when I need some epic in my life. Yeah, I’m serious right now. This soundtrack pushed me through some tough phases in my life or an exhausting workout.

There’s that one song that is totally motivating and pushing for running. You should try it. And don’t ask me why someone’s panting in my ears, keeps me running faster … it just works.

All I want to say is, that this is an underrated movie that deserved better. Maybe you should give it another shot?

So, now that you caught up with all the important Guy Ritchie movies and my weird obsession with his soundtracks, go and have fun with “The Gentlemen”!

It won’t disappoint. I guarantee.

review
Like

About the Creator

Jule Jessenberger

When I’m not hunting demons with Dean and Sam or looking for hidden treasures with Indiana Jones, I’m writing stories or geeky articles, and sometimes (ok, most of the time) I’m fangirling about shows, comics, or movies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.