Geeks logo

5 Criminally Underrated Disney Movies.

5 Disney movies that deserve a lot more love than they already receive.

By Sierra LynnPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
5 Criminally Underrated Disney Movies.
Photo by Leighann Blackwood on Unsplash

We all know a good majority of the Disney classics. From Beauty and the Beast, to new classics such as Frozen. Walt Disney films has had almost a non-stop flow of movies since the 30's.

With the company having a huge movie boom in the 90's. A huge amount of movies have gone under the radar.

Here's my short list of 5 Disney movies that are insanely under rated. Just, an FYI as well, these movies are in no specific order.

#1 Lion King 1 1/2

The movie that follows Timon and Pumba's journey though the original Lion King. I could go on about how much I love this movie. It's fun, it's endearing, it has two of my favorite characters of all time. Not only that, the opening song 'Dig A Tunnel' is an absolute banger.

Also, I'm definitely watching this movie as I am writing this article.

Lion King 1 1/2 is the movie that brings out the Hakuna Matata in all of us. The genuine chill nature of the movie, makes it an easy watch. It's a movie that can just be put on whenever, used as background, or just a fun pick-me-up when you're feeling down.

Lion King 1 1/2 ended up being a direct to video movie, meaning it never went to theaters for it's 2004 release. The movie ended up getting a 6.5/10 on IMDB and a 78 percent on Rotten Tomatoes.

In my heart though, it get's a 10/10.

#2 National Treasure

What is not to love about Nicholas Cage being Nicholas Cage.

National Treasure, the film that stole the Declaration of Independence, and our thirst for treasure hunting.

I have fought for the integrity of this movie before, oh yeah. This movie definitely deserves more love. Following the Gates family legacy to the greatest treasure ever created, it's a great time, trust me. Not only that, it's always a good time to question all the shady things the United States government does to hide things.

Lastly, I'm just going to say it right now. Riley Pool is a great character. That man deserves all the love in the world.

National Treasure gained a 6.8/10 on IMDB. Which is not too terrible I guess. The movie got a 46 percent on Rotten Tomatoes, but a 76 percent audience score. Which I agree with the people more on this one.

#3 The Emperors New Groove

How this movie is not talked about by every person walking this planet makes no sense to me. Yzma is one of the most comical villains Disney has come up with to date, and her side kick Kronk is one of the best Disney characters ever created.

Emperors New Groove has been making a bit of a comeback with all the memes about the characters. I swear though, this movie deserves so much more attention. I would consider this movie a chaotic good. It's a mess, but it is such a good mess.

Self absorbed Kuzco going on a journey with a 'peasant' because he was turned into a Llama. What else could you even ask for.

After being released in 2000 the movie ended up gaining a 7.3/10 on IMBD, as well as an 85 percent on Rotten Tomatoes.

Again though, this movie is a 10/10 in my heart.

#4 A Goofy Movie

The amount of times I personally have quoted this movie just to have no one get the reference absolutely kills me. I use it almost as a way to find the people I want to be friends with. If someone can get my "Cheeeeezzzzz Whizzzzz" reference, I can definitely vibe with them.

A Goofy Movie follows Goofy and his son Max on a road trip across the states to go on a family fishing trip. Except for the fact, that they are heading to the concert of the year.

This movie practically defined my childhood. I still wish to this day that Disney would release full versions of 'Eye to Eye' and 'Stand Out'.

A Goofy Movie ended up getting a 6.8/10 on IMBD, and a 59 percent on Rotten Tomatoes.

This movie deserves a 11/10 though.

#5 Brother Bear

The tale of a man who is given a totem by his village elder. He receives a bear, hates it, of course though Disney magic he becomes the very thing he hates so very much.

Growing up this was one of my favorite movies, my brothers as well. Yet every time I talk about it with anyone else. They never know what I'm talking about. Which, not going to even lie, sucks. Mainly because this movie is one of the best.

The family aspect of it, the humor, that story. It all works wonderfully. If you are ever looking for a great movie to just chill with, maybe drink some hot coco with, this is the movie.

Brother Bear gathered a 6.8/10 on IMDB, with a 37 percent on Rotten Tomatoes. Which is cruel by the way.

Well, there it is. Five Disney movies that deserve way more love than they have. Also, just in case you we're curious, all these movies are on Disney Plus right now! Since we're all chilling inside now too, what better time is there to check out some 'new' movies. Happy watching!

movie
2

About the Creator

Sierra Lynn

Aspiring historian. Fiction enthusiast. Lover of mystery.

Writer of macabre, fantasy realms, and historical ideals.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.