Geeks logo

48 Hour Film Project "Sandwich-Stall" Is a Slice of Ham-Comedy-Sketch Goodness

Have you ever tried to make a short film based on an idea you conceived hours before and then had to fully shoot/edit it for presentation within 48 hours?

By Matt LoftusPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
A tale about misunderstandings and sandwiches

Have you ever tried to make a short film based on an idea you only conceived hours before and then having to fully shoot/edit it for presentation within 48 hours?? it's a hell of a trip!

So back in 2014 I got together with a bunch of filmmakers for the first 48 hour film project to come to Aberdeen City. Each team got a Genre assigned with one catch.....we needed to have a sandwich in it......I still have no idea why?

we have the tools we have the talent!

See the full short here.......

Our category was "Fish out of water" and also lucky for me I was only needed to "act" in the short film (you call that acting buddy?) which I was flattered to be a part of.

Plus I got to ad lib and basically do stuff off the cuff which was great fun, just like being a kid again.

One of the biggest Crew's i've worked with so far

My biggest contribution to the short was the ending actually, I wanted to throw the table stand over in a fit of anger and sorrow but one of the crew said it had to be returned un-harmed.

As we came closer to the last shot I basically thought "sod it" and grabbed the table cloth to rip it off dramatically but because it had been sellotaped down the entire table tipped up!

AND! the flowers are still standing!!

Awesome result as bits of sandwich flew everywhere and we didn't even pick it up. I was about to but someone said "leave it for the dogs" which there were plenty of in Aberdeen Park........of the canine variety I mean.

Direction was good but no one ever said action.....

Full credit has to go to everyone else involved, I was merely a day player!

Director: Przemyslaw Wasilew

Producer: Katie Sewall

Writers: Hamish Robertson & Hal McCorry

Main Actors: Robert Lucas, Hamish Robertson, Elliot Leech & Rory Buchanan

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Matt Loftus

Horror-obsessed writer and Filmmaker

Read my ramblings here and see my short films on YouTube:MattLoftus85

My TikTok @mattloftus85

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.