Geeks logo

4 Cartoons You Should Rewatch as an Adult

From Nickelodeon to Cartoon Network to Disney, which cartoons actually hold up?

By Dani AshPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I think we all had cartoons we really loved when we were little. And by we, I mean the we who watched cartoons in the mid-2000s to the early 2010s. In my (albeit early) adulthood, I have been rewatching some of my favorite cartoons from when I was younger (thank you, Hulu). So all of these I have rewatched myself. Between the sense of nostalgia and the hidden dirty jokes I never got when I was younger, it's almost like watching a new show. It brings me back to a happy and simple time, I hope as you read through my list, it does the same for you. These aren't in any particular order either.

1. 'Danny Phantom'

I think everyone has the fondest memories of our favorite 14-year-old ghost boy. Between his regular life and his superhero life, Danny had to juggle a lot. I think everyone who watched this cartoon either wanted to be him or had the biggest cartoon crush on him. I know I was a little bit of both. To be half-ghost? That would be so cool. In my young adult age, and as someone who teaches students his age, it's a little crazy all the stuff he has to deal with. It's also a little weird, being older than my childhood cartoon crush. I remember being much younger than him, and now I'm much older. He's frozen in time and the cultural references and older cartoon design give that away. It's fun, funny, and easy to watch and have a good time with. (P.S. It is really fun to watch this show with the headcanon of Danny being a transboy.)

2. 'Stoked'

6teen, Total Drama Island, and Stoked were all great Cartoon Network shows that were truly ahead of their time with their jokes. Personally, I picked Stoked though because it was always my favorite. Six teens head to a hotel to surf all summer and end up with one of the worst jobs in existence. The characters are over the top and they have whichever archetype you need to love the show. They get into crazy situations, and it's definitely a lot for one summer. They truly capture the teenage experience in a lot of ways too. The crazy plans, the drama, the avoiding of the parents, it's over the top, but still somehow something you can identify with. The dirty jokes are definitely there too, and they are hilarious!

3. 'Hey Arnold'

This Nick classic holds true to our memories. It is well-written, fun, and it fills us with nostalgia. The iconic movie is even better, and it's all available on Hulu. Remember what it was like to be a kid and go on crazy adventures? The adults and their quirky traits that remind us of our own family members in some way. Sometimes it's still crazy that Arnold is wearing a shirt, and it's long, and that's not a skirt. I love rewatching it and laughing at its hilarity. The antics and childhood crushes are something I miss from being a child.

4. 'Ben 10'

Ever remember what happened when an alien device did what it did? By far one of my favorite cartoons when I was a child, and as an adult I still enjoyed it. It was cheesy, and stupid, and funny, but also still pretty well-written with dynamic characters with interesting stories. I enjoyed rewatching it in my free time. This is, of course, the original Ben 10 way back when. Not all of the new ones are very good. Although, Ben 10: Alien Force is pretty good as well, but it is not the one from our childhoods if we're 20-something now. This one is available on Netflix, so it's pretty easy to watch.

There are, of course, so many other cartoons we could watch from our childhood and enjoy, but these are definitely on the top for me. They are fun, well-written, and they make us feel like kids again. I think we all need that sometimes. So give them a shot!

Like what I write? Leave a tip!

list
Like

About the Creator

Dani Ash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.