Geeks logo

3 Things I Hope to See in the Next Installments of 'Detective Pikachu'

The "Pokeverse" in Hollywood has just begun and you should be excited for it.

By Jeffrey FontanosPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1
Movie Poster via Talent House

Minor spoilers ahead, so stop reading if you haven't seen the movie yet and want to go in not knowing a thing.

Okay now we're here, let's talk about the flick. I loved the movie despite critics saying it was average. Maybe the nostalgia got to me. Or maybe I just loved seeing the Pokemon universe done right. At least so far. Let's hope for consistency and even better stories told with the next films coming. I didn't complain at any of the 3D designs and the cast was great as well, but this article isn't a review. You clicked to know what I hope to see in the next installments. I have a few ideas where they can go. That I hope they'll use in the future and here they are.

1. Kanto

Map of the Gen 1 Region, Kanto (via Bulbapedia)

Very typical of me a gen one fan to mention this, but with the mention of Mewtwo in Detective Pikachu being canon to the Red and Blue games—and the R gas being called THE "R" GAS! How can you not want to see Tim visit Kanto? Chances to see a live action Professor Oak, Brock, Misty, and even Red would be awesome treats for fans. Even areas like the Lavender Tower would be awesome to see. The Safari Zone?! C'mon man! If you aren't excited for more live action Pokemon movies, why aren't you!?

2. Use of Game Items

Can you name all the items here?

How cool would seeing a movie version of a Pokedex be? That item alone could make big bucks for the movie if they sold toy replicas at Target. Think about it. Everyone who saw Avengers: Infinity War bought the gauntlet. For Pokemon, I think if Tim's dad gave him a Pokedex, then millions of kids around the world would want one. (Yes, I did just compare the Infinity Gauntlet to the Pokedex.) Tim finding fossils and having them made into prehistoric Pokemon would be cool too. Fishing rods pulling up Tentacool and Tentacruels would be epic to see. By the time the second movie goes around, I see Tim, Lucy, and whoever else decides to join their crew more well-prepared. Potions, repels for Zubats, bikes, and the Poke Flute for a sleeping Snorlax. When you think about it, the second thing in the Pokemon universe that's cool behind the creatures has always been the items. I hope they incorporate some of these memorable tools we used in the game in future films.

3. Spinoff Teasers

Spinoffs are a guarantee with any successful franchise title in pop culture. Since Detective Pikachu was a live adaptation of the game, I hope we get spinoffs of the main Pokemon games. Red, Blue, Gold, Silver, etc. To build buzz, I'd wanna see future movies introduce game characters in the next upcoming films of Detective Pikachu. Like how Marvel put Black Panther in Civil War. Think how cool it would be if Tim and Ethan (Gold/Silver protagonist) meet up in the next movie. Ethan tells Tim he wants to be league champion. He's earned this much badges yadda, yadda, yadda. Boom! Pokemon Heart Gold/Soul Silver spinoff. With Ethan vs. Red as the grand finale. I'm getting hyped up just typing this! Imagine all the CGI battle goodness that can come from these spinoffs. That's one thing I felt wanted to see more of watching this movie. It was the battles to showcase all the Pokemon's moves, but the film was Detective Pikachu. Not Pokemon Red and Blue.

Imagine Seeing This on the Big Screen

Ethan/Gold Meeting Red for a Battle

So much more I can name for this "wish list," Arceus, Hoenn Region, Mew, Ho-oh and the Tin Tower story, but you'd get it. I want to see everything! These three though are the ones that are at the top of my list. Realistically, we'll be seeing all of this happen, but not the ways I predicted. I'll be down for the ride however it goes. I'm all in for the next installments of this Pokemon Cinematic Universe!

movie
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Fontanos

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.