Geeks logo

2021 Oscar Winners

A Movie Fan's Thoughts

By Shanon NormanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
I'll call this one "Oscar Time"

In 2018 I went to the movie theater to see the film "Darkest Hour" starring Gary Oldman. I thought it was a fantastic film and I was glad I got to see it before others. After that, my life took a turn for the worse and I didn't see another movie at the theater until this month, March 2022. I wondered what was going on in the movie world, and I wondered who was winning which awards at what award ceremonies. I usually pay attention to the Oscars, not because they are the oldest or best, but because I tend to agree with them a lot and they've helped me with recommendations for a long time.

Today I wondered who won for the year of 2021 and I looked it up online and found some very interesting results. I'd like to comment on these findings now. The Oscar for "Best Actor" was awarded to Anthony Hopkins. Not his first Oscar, but it comes as no surprise to me. He's legendary. I did not see the film "Father" which also won an Oscar for "Best Screenplay", but now I want to. Because I love Hopkins, and I love good writing. I want to see why Hopkins was able to add another honor to his collection.

The Oscar for "Best Actress" was awarded to Frances McDormand in "Nomadland" which also won the Oscar for "Best Picture". I hadn't heard much about this film. Now I'm very curious. Chloe Zhao brought home the Oscar for "Best Director". I have never heard of Zhao and is this her first Oscar? Three Oscars wins for "Nomadland" puts a "Wow" in my mouth especially for a Director I don't know about. If that's not a recommendation, then what is?

Best Supporting Actor went to Daniel Kaluuya and Best Supporting Actress went to Youn Yuh-Jung - A black man and an Asian woman. (In a period where Racial tension was a huge topic of conversation, I think these awards are very relevant.) I've never heard of either of those artists. Are they new to Hollywood? Already Oscar winners or is this their first win? Is Hollywood proving with the Oscars that some of the propaganda regarding racism is simply not worthy of our attention? Maybe.

I saw the movie "Soul" and I thought it was very intelligent and enjoyable, so I was pleased to discover that it got two Oscars: Best Animated and Best Score. Bravo to the creators and to the judges.

Erik Messer won two Oscars also: Best Cinematography and Best Design. That's a talent I think we should pay attention to.

Best Editing and Best Sound was won by Mikkel Neilson for "The Sound of Metal". I have no idea what that is, but I know what those awards are about and to win both of those awards is no easy task. I applaud Mr. Neilson for having such skill.

As for the other awards, they are not that interesting to me and I think those other awards belong in a different award ceremony. As a movie fan and an Oscar award fan, I think Hollywood and the film industry benefits from continuing the tradition of the ceremonies. Fans are great and let the artists know what's popular and trending, but the Oscar panel tries to credit artists on more than popularity or box office sales. The Oscar panel really tries to say thank you to the artists who shared their precious talents with the world regardless of the box office numbers. Popularity is not always the best judge or indicator of talent. Box office sales are important, but so is saying thank you to gifted artists.

entertainment
1

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.