Geeks logo

15 'Grey's Anatomy' Memes Any Fan Can Painfully Relate To

i would jump in front of a semi for you, McDreamy.

By hannah irelanPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

Grey's Anatomy has been a part of my life for 14 whole seasons. Based on my calculations, that's 14 years of my life. Of course, I would have only been 5 at this time, so it's not likely that I curled on my couch next to my mom with a bowl of popcorn and watched various doctors do you-know-what in on-call rooms. However, I did start watching, and when I did, I fell hard for Meredith and Derek. Who didn't? If you just shook your head no, then you're a lying liar.

It sounds cheesy to say that the show changed my life, but it sure did change my perspective. Never in my life had I felt so unbelievably connected to such complex characters. Meredith was my sister, Derek was the lover I wish I had, Mark was my big brother, and Cristina was the best friend that I always needed. I revolved my life around Grey-Sloan Memorial, and part of me wouldn't have it any other way.

That's not to say that the show didn't hurt. (I honestly don't think that anyone should EVER talk about Derek's death EVER again. I mean it.) I've lost more by watching the show than I ever did in real life. I've cried more over fictional relationships than I ever did over any of my own.

That doesn't mean that I don't love this show with all of my heart. This show has changed my life. It has made me more aware, more loving, and more able to understand the differences in people and how we all fit together.

1. When You Are Just as Emotionally Exhausted as Mer

We know you lost Derek, Mer, but let's be honest, we did too.

2. We can explain.

I can't explain. I tried, and I can't. All I know is that I hate this show, but I also love it, and if you can't understand that, I can't help you.

3. When 14 seasons of Grey's med school feels more beneficial than years of ACTUAL med school.

I mean, c'mon, even I know that Derek needed a CT.

4. When Your Friends Just Don't Get You

Stop asking. I can't do it. I won't change. I will probably be buried with season 10. Judge me.

5. Trying to Explain Why You Can't Trust Anyone

Do you understand yet? Please tell me you do.

6. The first step to fixing a problem is admitting you have one.

My life is a train wreck. There, I admitted it. Still doesn't change the fact that my Thursday night 8-9 is still booked solid.

7. Comparing Grey's Anatomy to the Best Day of Your Life

It's normal, okay?

8. Wondering What You're Doing with Your Life

I'm still crying over Derek, to be honest.

9. When Cristina Is Your Spirit Animal

If you don't know who Meredith is and ferryboats don't do something to your soul, we can't be friends. Not only can we not be friends, but I'll also hit you with a bus if I see you.

10. 10/10 Would Recommend

You'll hate your life and you'll wonder how any one person could be so cruel, but you'll also love it. You'll love it so much that it hurts.

11. The life of a Grey's fan is a lonely one.

We've been through shootings, plane crashes, bombs in people, fires, more deaths than we can keep track of, the relationships of our favorite characters fall apart, and seriously, we saw Meredith tell her children that Derek is dead. We win the sucky life contest.

12. Daily Dose of Truth

Anything could be fixed with MerDer.

13. When You're Always Concerned About the Well-being of Your Favs.

We can't lose you twice, Derek. Get your act together.

14. When You're Literally Prepared for Anything

We've experienced just about everything else. Where's Jurassic Park to add a little variety?

15. We're always prepared.

Do you hear that? That subtle piano? OH GOD, WHO'S DEAD?

tv
1

About the Creator

hannah irelan

24, treat people with kindness, always support the small joys of others

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.