Gamers logo

Why Your Man Is Always Playing His Damn Video Games

From Girl to Girl, Let Me Tell You Why

By Save Money with AmandaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

Dear Upset Significant Other,

I am here to tell you why your MAN seems like all he does is play his DAMN online video games.

From girl to girl, let me tell you now, it's NOT you.

I have been online gaming for many years, although my fiancé is not much of a gamer. He also had a hard time understanding why I could sit and play a single game for hours on end... He would wonder if I even cared about him, because there were many times in our relationship I would rather play my game than watch a movie and cuddle.

I can relate to both sides of this story. I feel like men are not good at explaining why they enjoy gaming, and women aren't good at understanding because they never get an explanation when asked.

As a GIRL, and a GAMER, I am here to let you inside their brain. First off because they game, DOES NOT mean they do not love you.

I am going to go into what I love about gaming, and hopefully help you understand why your man is so into it too.

Being Yourself

When I first started gaming, I found it a place I could go and be myself. I didn't have to be serious and mature all the time! I enjoyed talking to and playing with others who were just like me. Sometimes you just need that place you can go to have fun and you know it's a good time EVERY TIME! Some people, like me, can not stand having to act like an "Adult" 24/7.

The Competitiveness

If you are with a someone who loves to compete, well there you go! Nothing is better than chillin' out and showing some people who is boss! Online games today are so competitive, and there's a rush that comes about when trying to prove you've got what it takes!

Problem Solving

Now I know what you're thinking... WTF? But seriously! Most of the multiplayer games I play all involve LOTS of strategy. I am always thinking of ways that I could have done something better in a match, or coming up with new ideas for next time! I thought about these things at work, the hair salon, getting my nails done, etc. Strategy and problem solving can be so driving, it keeps you going back for more!

Gaming Friends

Nothing is better than some great gaming friends! I have always looked at my gaming friends as some of the best friends I've ever had! I trust these people with my LIFE — Well, my virtual life that is! But still, I have met some amazing people and have gamed with the same people for 10+ years! With that being said, It is hard to retire the controller, when you have one of your best friends calling asking you to "F some S*** up" with them! It's almost like you turning down a lunch or coffee date with your bestie! Just saying...

Relaxation

After a long stressful day, nothing is better than hoping on your favorite game and focusing on it! It's a way of self-meditation... At least to me it is! I could have the worst days, and 99 percent of the time would feel much better after I played my game for an hour. It's definitely a diversion from the negative things in your everyday life!

Now don't get me wrong, I understand if you have a couch potato, no job having, gamer boy... My advice is drop his DEAD BEAT ass.

BUT, if you have a hardworking man, pays the bills, and enjoys playing his games... LET IT GO. It's his hobby! His gaming has nothing to do with him not loving you... I PROMISE!

Hope this helps,

A Girl Gamer

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Save Money with Amanda

I love saving money and helping others save money! I decided to start blogging about deals and money saving! All readers tips are appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.