Gamers logo

Who Says 'Destiny 2' Is a Dead Game?

My Thoughts on the Franchise

By Christina ScanlonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’m a gamer. I was there when the original Nintendo first came out, and I remember begging my parents for a Super Nintendo when that was announced. It was something that I had to have. I remember playing Super Mario Brothers and getting frustrated at levels 8-1 and 8-8. I could never get past those. My sister would always tell our family members that I was born with a video cord instead of an umbilical cord because I played games constantly. Every day after school I would come home and quickly do my homework before firing up the Super Nintendo and playing for hours on end.

To say that gaming has come a long way is an understatement. Back in the 80s and 90s the internet was in its infancy with AOL dial-up which sucked when trying to play games online with friends. Back in 2006 I discovered what World of Warcraft was and fell in love. My parents couldn’t afford the fancy DSL so I attempted to play the popular MMORPG on a dial-up connection and it was ridiculously laggy to the point that it was unplayable. Now, as I type this in my computer room on a high-speed connection I’m happy to say that my gaming sessions with World of Warcraft and Xbox games are much smoother.

I found the Destiny franchise back in 2015 and started playing it. I got so addicted that I went down to my local GameStop and pre-ordered Destiny 2 because I fell in love with the story and gameplay. I was one of the first to pre-order Forsaken when it was announced. Now, considering Bungie’s track record on lacking in the end-game department, I was skeptical of how good this new DLC would be; given how lackluster the main campaign of Destiny 2 was. I remember doing my milestones and running through them in an hour and then asking “What do I do now?” For months, gamers complained that there was nothing to do in Destiny 2, they had cleared everything, and there was no end-game for players to experience so they would put down the game and find something else to play. This all changed when Forsaken was announced, it was as if Bungie finally listened to their fans and wanted to try and make things right.

Destiny 2 Forsaken launched worldwide on September 4, 2018. I remember logging in on my Awoken Hunter and playing for hours on the campaign. After that was done, I had to work to grind the talisman to get into the Dreaming City—Destiny's first end-game area. This place was massive. I was so excited that Bungie kept their word that for a few nights, I stayed up way too late and paid for it the next day. It, in the end though, it was worth it. For the next few months, I worked on grinding up my Light level just so I could go into the Dreaming City safely without getting my ass handed to me. My most favorite mode with this DLC has to be Gambit. The brand new hybrid game mode that combines PVE and PVP. I remember playing it for hours on end when Bungie let us try it out for 24 hours. It’s very addictive once you start playing it.

What I’ve come to conclude while reading online articles about my beloved Destiny universe is that you can’t please everyone, that not every single person who plays this game is going to like every single thing. You’re going to have the naysayers who called it a “Dead Game" and a "Dead Franchise." Let me tell you, Destiny is anything but dead. From what I’ve seen, there are just getting started and Forsaken was their clean slate. I think it’s only up from here.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Christina Scanlon

41 year old introvert and professional procrastinator. I love video games and writing as it is therapy for my mental illness. I hope you read my stories and share them with your friends!

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.