Gamers logo

Video Gaming Education

Touch-typing, comprehension, socialization… Oh, the skills to gain!

By Lenita LeiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
2
Video Gaming Education
Photo by ELLA DON on Unsplash

It all started when I was around 4 years old with the Sega Genesis Sonic the Hedgehog 2. I wouldn’t say I was ‘helping’ my brother so much with the game. Certainly, there was a desire to do good and ‘help’. Though I faintly recall hearing my (older) brother reprimand my assistance. Though I didn’t stop or give up, in fact as time continued, I became the video-gaming assistant my brother needed as more games developed multiplayer or team components.

Jump ahead to the many Nintendo systems playing several various games primarily as a single-player adventure. Something thrilling about one’s own adventure. No people staring over your shoulder, with potential to tell you how to do something ‘better.’ Aaah bliss.

Anyhow, Super Smash Brothers on the Nintendo 64 became a party lover for all people. Family, extended relatives, school peers, plus their brothers and sisters, neighbors. As a parent now I would highly consider using a smash-brothers type game to resolve conflict! Heck, can this be extended into the workplace? Let’s avoid using our words – seeing as though communication is difficult and let’s battle it out! Hmm, on second thoughts that does not seem to promote resolution.

Moving around from consoles and hitting gold with the Halo series. Personally, the campaign options of this game were outstanding! The multiplayer campaign options made things sociable, light-hearted, and outright fun. At least coming from the angle of an introvert. Online multiplayer and LAN parties, while occasionally I participated, I also leaned away from the social and verbal deathmatch. At this point, I learned more about social connections through on-site observational ‘research’ opposed to direct interaction.

In other social circles, I began to realize how much weight the video-gaming topic included. Many people in school or other social environments would play and it became a quick topic to pull out. Especially in those moments where I feared boring small talk. Though some who were not involved in or had zero care for video games would often claim antisocial behaviors. I am very curious though if such a thing is considered anymore. Is it antisocial to play video games? Look how far the concept of video gaming has developed. Surely a vast majority of children in the westernized worlds have played some form of game – even if it is educational. Personally speaking, most of my friends are committed video gamers, and some of those included are parents promoting the video gaming lifestyles to their children. I dare speculate my claims of video games educating me, perhaps have educated others as well?

By this stage, I had played a variety of games on a variety of consoles. While mostly sticking to single-player orientation the prime learning experience was to develop my comprehension. Another of my lacking skills during school. Yet with the constant reading, and memory required to fulfill the quest (mission), it was a necessity to build on those comprehension skills. Now in adult life, I so often look at the daily grind of tasks and think “Hmm how many quests shall I complete today?”

Fast-forward time again and my interests were heavily connected to strategically based games such as Starcraft and Warcraft 3. Occasionally exploring the ability to verse another with a strategical battle of wits! As the Blizzard franchise expanded and released their Massive Multiplayer Online (MMO) game, World of Warcraft this became the key video game to play. My brother and I made the leap to it immediately. (Yes, I am a veteran World of Warcraft player.) For the… ! oh right back to what I was saying.

During school, I was not a fan of any computer-orientated classes. BCT and ICT were out of the question. Whilst having a very analytical mind and being a quick learner I strongly doubted my own abilities at a computer (that’s all about to change! Only teenage me wasn’t aware yet).

Socialization in World of Warcraft is a huge aspect. Hello, we are talking about a MASSIVE online community playing this game. Introvert and socialization are not exactly two words I would normally string together. I learned very quickly the necessity to touch type, and to this day I maintain a speed of 80 words per minute. Thank you video gaming for my ‘free’ course!

Also on the note of socialization. I strongly recall my attempts of trying to keep my video gaming behaviors away from the knowledge of my school peers. Having previously been ridiculed by extended family members for the antisocial habits of video games, I decided not to advertise the pass-time activity in hopes to avoid the same reaction. Well, that resulted far differently than anticipated. I remember enjoying a cruisy lunchbreak in grade 10 when a group of 5-6 boys some from my year level and a couple from different year levels approached with faces that stated horror-yet-delighted expressions as they said almost in concordance: "Do you play World of Warcraft?!" Shock was about the only result I could manage at this stage. Though once the word got out and around a level of comfort came over me, for I was exposed and it did not matter anymore.

The constant updating of the game and additional add-on features for the game promoted the chance to grab computer skills. Sure, I could have then taken onboard those Business classes in school, but that confidence came later in tertiary education.

The MMO and others I had tried after also required the skills for virtual teamwork. Do you know how hard it can be to convey a message to a team member to complete a task that only they can do, when you cannot have a physical conversation with them? Difficult. But with some skills, such as persistence, communication, a shared goal/outcome, it becomes a possible task – even a fun task!

In case you’re wondering why I have written this post.

Well, to credit video games. (I am not writing this to sponsor anyone.) Rather to share some light on how going back many years, video games have made an impact. At least for myself. That impact was positive to develop some skills that are vital today, especially regarding computer knowledge and team-working/collaboration. Next time you see or hear about video games try not to give a discrediting ear, rather try to hear your friend, family member, or co-worker talking about the real experience. Not what their character is doing in the game, but the skills they are learning and wanting to share with you about.

Perspective is a great empathetic tool.

Happy learning =)

product review
2

About the Creator

Lenita Lei

Life is intense, as is suspense!

Tune in as words come to life through your imagination.

Fiction and Non-Fiction: Just let me write!

Australian-Finnish <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.