Gamers logo

'Through Hell and Back Again' (Short Story 2)

Into the battleground once again, but in the mind of the character.

By Vincent TyminskiPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
(PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds)

Author's note: Unlike any of my other PUBG articles, this one is definitely one to relish. To start out, it isn't just the action-packed storytelling that will get you hooked. It is the perspective the story is being told in. As if I was living in the game and undergoing the experience the character faces in this blood rushing battle royal match. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. If so, click the gift button at the bottom of this article to show your appreciation.

Enjoy!

Cold sweat dripped down the back of my neck as I prepared to jump out of the confined airplane and fight for my life. Over 99 other contestants were squashed into the aircraft with me, and they all had the same objective: Kill or be killed. Only one person would survive this bloodbath of chaos to live another day, and I wasn't going to let anyone ruin my chances at it. The sound of the plane's propellors cut into my skull as well as the commotion around me.

The doors of the plane started to creak open. One by one, people began to jump out of the plane like maniacs. I got ready and jumped as well. Freefalling through the sky, I could hear only the sound of the wind slashing across my face. The sharpness of the wind bit into my skin like tiny fire ants crawling on my body.

My heart raced as the grassy surface of the ground got closer to me. I clicked the release button on my bag and found myself getting whiplashed as the parachute untwined and floated me to the ground like a leaf blown by the wind. I threw the parachute straps off of my back once my feet hit the ground and sprinted ahead. Raw and disoriented, I found myself scrambling towards a shabby, broken down house that was in front of me. My teammate landed next to me and followed me into the house in search of weapons and medications.

I opened the door and a putrid fragrance filled my nostrils. I scavenged a bedroom while my teammate, Mike, checked out the kitchen. I picked up a pistol that was lying on the floor but it only had six bullets. In another room, I found medications and a jacket. I joined my friend who was still in the kitchen. He was now holding an AK-47 but was acting odd.

"Whats wrong?" I asked him after looking at how he kept peeking out of the kitchen window.

"We have two enemies right outside by the oak tree," he said, taking another peek at them.

"They don't know we are in here then."

"Correct."

"So they are probably going to try and find some loot inside of this house."

"Oh shoot, you're right. So what should we do?"

I wasn't surprised when he asked me to figure something out so we wouldn't get killed right off the bat. I was always looking out for him when we went into battles, and here I was again, looking out for him. My brain went into overdrive mode. I was calculating decisions and seeing what the upshot would be. We could hide in the bedroom and wait until they came inside to take them out.

Or we could...

"Let's rush them," I said.

"What? We don't even know what weapons they have!" he said, eyes bugging out.

"No bro, trust me."

"Man, if we get killed I'm going to be pissed."

"Don't worry, we can take them both easily," I said with confidence in my voice.

"Alright, let's do this."

Out the front door, we went and charged after the two people. I aimed my pistol at the guys head and shot. I emptied out half of my ammunition before they were both crawling hopelessly on the ground bleeding out gradually. We walked away as they perished. Up a hill and through a creek we went, and hadn't found anyone else to take down.

"Where do you want to go?" asked Mike.

"Let's head to the middle of the map," I replied.

"But we don't have anything good to use against people."

"Yeah because everyone else by this point has all the good weapons and remedies."

That was the end of the conversation. We trudged along the harsh terrain for ten more minutes and came to an open field.

"Hey man, look at that. There are some weapons over there!" Mike said rushing forward.

"Be careful. It could be a trap," I warned him, but it was too late. He was already loading himself with new guns and attachments. Before we knew it, bullets were zooming through the air towards us. Mike and I headed behind a large tree that covered us from the impact. I peered over the left side of the tree while Mike did the same to the right side. We returned fire at the oncoming assault.

"Ah, shit!" Mike yelled as he went down. Luckily the tree covered him from any further damage but he was going to die if he didn't patch himself up. Thankful for the large blades of grass on the outskirt of the field I went and army crawled my way around the enemy. I was able to take them all out without being noticed.

How I did it I will never know.

"Hey man, good job," Mike said, jogging over to me as I looted the dead bodies.

"Hey, look who came back from the dead," I said sarcastically.

"That was a close one. I almost died there."

"I know. You should try harder next time."

"Ha ha, real funny."

We went on our way looting the people I had taken down. Before we knew it, a light blue barrier was making its way towards us.

"Well, time to go," I said to Mike.

After some more trudging, we made it to a prison. I should have been looking more at my surroundings, because just then, two snipers were shooting the daylights out of us.

Pop!

Pop!

Pop!

I was now the one flailing on the ground like a chicken with its head cut off. There was no time for me to take medications to revive myself. I saw blackness overtaking my vision. Another bullet hit me in my chest. I felt blood oozing out of me and knew I was about to die. I said a prayer to myself. Please god, let Mike live and thrive and become the last one standing. I looked over at Mike.

Pop!

Another bullet made its way to Mike. Mike was down and dead before I knew what happened. My last thought as I left this world was, "Well so much for that prayer."

combat
Like

About the Creator

Vincent Tyminski

Wondering wether you should waste your time and money going to see a certain movie or preordering a game? Not to worry! I am here for your entertainment and information. With new articles every week read my review on todays entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.