Gamers logo

The remasters we never got

A look into some great games that never got remastered.

By S.R.DaleyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

we have have entered the age of old video games getting compete re writes to simply just being ported over. From crash bandicoot to Spyro, we have Ben given back som truly fun games in the last few years.

While many of you have been blessed to be able to re enjoy those childhood games there are some who still await their favourite games. Games like simpsons hit and run, and not just a crappy fan made remake. Though it looks cool, it isn’t ligitimate. I want to replay the game I high definition. Take on the missions that pained me as a child. But is it in the works. The short answer is No. Companies that remake games often only do it because they are looking for a quick buck. Often public outcry doesn’t work. Or it does when there are enough people wanting a game. I personally would pay $100 for a remake so I don’t see the issue, I’m sure I can’t be the only one that would pay a high price for the games I love.

There is always the option of going on eBay and just getting a PlayStation 2 and all the old games I want, however it just isn’t the same.

Simpsons hit and run is all well and good but that is just the tip of the iceberg. I have a small list of games I feel would be profitable to remake.

Simpsons hit and run

Obviously because exploring Springfeild would give me new ideas for tapped out. It was a very well made game for its time. And probably only 1 of 2 simpsons games that were any good in my opinion.

Simpsons road rage.

I’m not one for driving games or even taxi games. Big again this game gave us a really good look at Springfeild . Could almost put hit and run and this game in a double pack.

Harry Potter ps2 trilogy

The Harry potter franchise has seen so many games go through, there are the pc games, the console games and the Lego games. Even a gem call quidditch World Cup. Though a lot of the games were cringe worthy, the first 3 games on the console weren’t made to follow the movie but more the books. It was easy to get lost exploring hogwarts and enjoy these games.

Harry Potter and the chamber of secrets was my first PlayStation 2 game, I didn’t have a memory car for about a year so when ever I played that game I started at the beginning. My mother and I have many shared memories of staying up all day and night trying to finish the game as we could never save our progress.

The fist 3 definitely need a remaster as the contrôlée I’ve found are harder than I remember on my last play through.

Tony hawks underground 1

I was never a fan of tony hawks, however this game added features that we were only beginning to get in open world game play. Character created, side missions/events. Interactive map. And the ability to create your own skatepark. Again I had fun playing this game with my sister, trying to jump a helicopter and do a trick. We spent along time on that.

Age of empires.

Now I know this is just a pc game, but for a game with god view it has so much more potential to be remade from the ground up. We have many games like aoe but none come quite so close. It can be adapted for console play.

Dogs life

I’m honestly not so sure about this one but I remember it being fun as a child.

Treasure planet.

Like Harry Potter. This game had 2 versions. One on ps1 and another on ps2. Both were very different, but both need to be ported, not remade they were already perfect.

The sims

Let’s get bac to the classics of the sims. The very fist console game I mean. It was simple. It was easy and it was a great introduction to that kind of living simulation. I’d definitely like to revisit a port on any console some game right up to the sims 2. Infact the sims 2 was good cuz you could walk around as your sim in 3rd person. A mechanic I havnt seen in the game since. Very sad.

The Spider-Man series

Now I know the recent Spider-Man games have been a big hit. But I’d certainly like to go back and replay the Toby Maguire Spider-Man games

adventure games
Like

About the Creator

S.R.Daley

fiction writer. World creator. Brainstormer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.