Gamers logo

The magic of Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee

A review from a new player's point of view.

By StarlightifyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

This is for the PS1 version, not the remake on the PS4!

Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee... Man, what an experience. From a child, I was scared of the game, afraid to play it due to its dark atmosphere and lack of understanding how to play the game. I cannot remember much about the demo disk I had (which had a catalogue of games to be released at the time), but I can remember it was the first level and how dark it was.

I think the character design also shook me. That was another thing that put me off of playing it. I was roughly around, what, six? It was a game that I could never see myself playing any time soon, or in the future. Yet, it's funny how over time, you change and you see things in a different light, isn't it? Because going back to the game very recently, I remembered how dark it was to me as that six-year-old again, though, I had never really given it a proper chance to show what it had to offer.

So, I decided to try it out after watching a YouTuber that I had subscribed to a while back. I immediately found it to be not as scary as before and the more I watched, the more I wanted to kick myself for allowing myself to miss out on such a gem.

I have recently started playing games on my own YouTube channel. I think because of that, I'm more open to trying new games out and exploring the world and the characters in the games. I am over halfway done with Abe's Oddysee, and oh my God, I love the game so much. It's difficult with its puzzles and timing on certain parts of the game, but it is an absolute game.

I love everything about it. The music, the characters, the story, everything. It's such a gem, a truly classic PS1 game and I can now see for myself why this is the case. One of my best friends used to play this game as a child and he has been watching my progress online. I know I can turn to him if I ever got stuck but so far, I am holding my own pretty well!

You play as Abe, the main character of the game. He has to escape from his work, Rupture Farms, after learning his boss's profits are falling and they're planning to use him and his people as a new meat product. However, while escaping, he has to rescue ninety-nine (99) of his people too as they're all in the factory still. Only Abe knows that they are actually working as slaves at this point.

He has to go through trials in two temples and gain strength to go back and shut down the meat factory. They have been using the ancient creatures called Scrabs and Paramites and now they are on the verge of being extinct because of the amount of products that they have to make.

Abe's Oddysee is the only one I have played in the series. The new edition, Oddworld: Soulstorm, looks absolutely beautiful, and it's set to be released over the spring this year. I know fans have been patient for Soulstorm and for the next chapter of the story. As I have too, and I will admit now that I am a fan of the series. However, I am very new so I have a long way to go before I can say I am a true fan!

I really feel for Abe, the protagonist of the series. He is most noticeable for the stitches he has on his lips, whereas the other Mudokons, do not have any. Abe is gifted with spiritual powers. He can mind control enemies and turn into a god-like creature, the Shrykull, which is a badass of a creature. Any enemies or obstacles in your way? Psh, the Shrykull can cover that.

Abe is unique for his story but also the fact he does not carry a weapon. His power is his weapon, something that when in development, was up for debate over whether he should actually have one for not. Yet, it makes him what he is and it really makes him stand out amongst other video game characters, so in the end, it worked out for the guy.

If you like puzzle games, then this is the game for you. If you like good guys who are different and not what you expect, then this is the game for you. Hard games? Try this out.

But all in all, I would highly recommend this game to anybody. I made the mistake of not giving it a proper try as a child, and I kick myself for allowing myself to miss on such a great game. Now, however, I can play it and try to save all of the Mudokons from the bad guys.

If you want to find out more about the lore, I recommend checking out the wiki. It has a ton of information and some really cool characters to explore. But my honest opinion? Give it a try today. I'm sure you will enjoy it!

Oh, and you get to talk to your fellow Mudokons too!

"Hello."

"Hello."

"Follow me."

"Okay."

product review
Like

About the Creator

Starlightify

Writer. Gamer. A person with many hobbies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.