Gamers logo

The Bad and Good of Pokemon 'Sword and Shield'

Also What I Wish For Future Installments While Were In The Galar Region

By Jeffrey FontanosPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
Box art for Sword and shield. features Zacian (L) and Zamazenta (R).

By now we all should have beat the game's main story. If you haven't yet, please stop reading and come back to this later. There might be potential spoilers ahead.

Okay, first off except for Heart Gold and Soul Silver I know there is no such thing as a perfect Pokemon game. A new region or remake of a gen with new additions to the game because of the technology has always been the most exciting parts I'd salivate over when a new Pokemon version would be coming out. This was the same with Sword and Shield. During my time in the Galar region there were a lot of ups, downs and meh moments. You're here wanting to know which was which in my opinion. Well let's start with the downs. I'll be mentioning 2 from each category. I don't want to keep you here too long.

The Downside

The Game was too fast and easy: After my first battle with my rival, then traveling the routes to my first gym badge, I found myself thinking, "am I running through this game too fast?" I looked online and saw I wasn't the only one thinking this. There were no tunnels infested with Zubats. Rivals and gym leaders would heal your Pokemon after battles and in other various situations. On my way to challenge the champion, there were no "victory roads." Victory roads in Red and Blue, Leaf Green, Fire Red, Gold, Silver and HG and SS were difficult paths you needed to travel to challenge the league. When you made it through there was a good chance you still weren't strong enough to take all members of the league and the champion on at once. So you'd usually have to run through victory road again! This wasn't the case for Sword and Shield. I beat the league and Champion on my first try. The road there was literally 1 hill! Despite the game being easy I still had my fun. I'll be talking about what I liked about it later on. For now, on to part 2 of the downsides of this game.

Screenshot of victory road from red and blue (strategywiki.org)

No National Pokedex: This part might be a little nit picky of me to say and I understand why they didn't add other regions and adding the national dex because this one was new, but if the main story wasn't so easy I wouldn't mention this at all. So I'm going to mention it! After becoming champion I wanted more! Leon was undefeated. I gave him his first loss. With sun and moon there were extras that I liked after beating the game, but with Sword and Shield — not too much. When you're champion, it only seems part of the regions Sprites acknowledge you as champion. It would've been nice to travel different regions representing the Galar region and unlocking the national dex. Or have "champion missions." Think about it. Why was Leon such a busy guy? He was the champion entrusted with difficult tasks to help keep the peace in the region. Come to think about it. That goes back all the way to Lance till now. Early articles of Sword and Shield were saying breath of the wild inspired this game to take it to the max and it looks like they half maxed it. Doesn't mean I wasn't satisfied with the game overall. i just wanted more. Now on to what I liked about the game.

The Upsides

A beautifully detailed region: Playing the game I found myself in awe of the detail they put into the buildings, hills and fields of the Galar region. There is no denying that Game Freak really put their all into the aesthetics of the region and used the switch to its full capacity when it came to this. Maybe they thought we wouldn't notice the lack of difficulty or story if they made beautiful pastures and forests in the game? Anyway here are a few screenshots I liked.

I've been playing since the Game Boy days. Going from those graphics to this is just amazing!
Weather changes are amazing sights to see again.
Gyms to me now officially have the gym feel the Pokemon anime has now. The "feel" being it's time to get down to doing some serious business.

The screen shots provided are great to look at but are another experience when you're actually playing the game. On to another reason why I liked the game.

The New Pokemon Designs: From the brand new Pokemon to the regional variants. I loved all the Galar designs. The Fairy type Ponyta and Rapidash. Loved all the starters and their evolutions. Obstagoon was awesome. The regional bird and its evolutions. I never once saw a new Pokemon and told myself, "What the heck is this!?" Like what I did when I saw Pokemon had a set of keys as a new monster to collect. Sorry if there are any Klefki fans out there. Here are a few of the Pokemon designs that I loved while playing the game.

Galar Meowth (L) and Perrserker (R). The Steel type and Viking inspiration for this gen 1 Pokemon make for a cool new variant for this classic Pokemon.
Corviknight the final stage of the Galar regional bird. Another bad ass steel type.
Grookey was my choice for the Galar region starters. Loved the fan art for its evolution. I wasn't disappointed at its official forms. (www.rpgsite.net)

Wish list For Our Return To Galar: Traditionally after every gen we get a sequel in the same region before we move on. With Red and Blue came Yellow. With Gold and Silver came Crystal version. Ruby and Sapphire had Emerald. Diamond and Pearl had Platinum. you get the picture. Our time in Galar isn't over. It sure as hell better not be, because it ended too fast for me! Here's some of my hopes we'll be getting while we're champions of Galar.

Extra Downloadable Content: Think Breath of the Wilds expansion pass and Elder Scrolls Skyrim with their extras Dawnguard, Hearthfire etc. Imagine Sword and Shield dropping a Johto region expansion. I personally wanted to go to the Johto region with lets go Pikachu. Sadly that didn't happen. If a new region isn't an option extra downloadable content while you're champion sounds like the way to go. "Champion missions" sounds like a good name, but I'm sure someone out there at Game Freak can think of something cooler. Maybe the content could involve real bad guys besides the chairman this time. (Team yell not really being bad guys but just a cheer squad would've been my 3rd choice of the downside of this game.) When Team Rocket made their cameo in Sun and Moon I thought it was pretty cool. It would be awesome seeing Team Skull in Galar.

Not the biggest team yell fan. Marnie rocks though! (bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net)

A 3rd Game (Pokemon Sword and Shield 2, Pokemon Armor): Most likely Pokemon will go this route. I personally would rather have downloadable extras than a 3rd game. If we're getting a 3rd game here's what I hope we get. I'd want a continuation from your regular Sword and Shield save file. Have ALL townspeople recognize you as the champion. I don't know why it just annoyed me that your new celebrity status was only recognized in certain parts of the game. When Leon was recognized and loved everywhere while you were playing the story. It makes sense this should change. I'd also like new selections of clothes and hairstyles to be added. I'd like to wear a cape like Leon. Maybe have the gear of other champions available and to add a cherry on top to this lists of wants, actual VOICE ACTING in the game! Reading texts is so Game boy and DS. I think it's about time Pokemon characters talk now. Come on, Game Freak!

Overall Review For Sword and Shield?: On a scale of 1 to 10. 1 being bad and 10 being perfect. I would give the game a 6.5 out of 10. The breath of the wild comparison didn't quite deliver, but the game still provided for some fun classic and new Pokemon entertainment. (6.5/10)

product review
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Fontanos

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.