Gamers logo

Spy Game

Nuffin's story

By Laura GiegPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

(Disclaimer: World of Warcraft and all its components are copyright Blizzard Entertainment)

(Battle for Azeroth - 770)

Hi, my name is Nuffin Shadowblade. My parents always used to tell me I was born of shadow; they also quite frequently told me that I had the temper of some Irish humans they met - and the hair and eyes to boot. Ok.. so what does that tell me? Red hair, green eyes, hot temper, and the ability to be so quiet I can sneak anywhere - oh, and an affinity for hiding in the shadows. Maybe that’s why they named me Nuffin? Cuz I can disappear so easily? Anyway... as I grew older, it was hinted that maybe an apprenticeship as a rogue would be the best idea for a career path. If it meant sneaking, count me in; and that’s how I ended up being brought to Matthias Shaw in my early teens to see if he, the master spy, could pair me up with a good rogue teacher. And that’s how I ended up here, apprenticed to Kelsey Steelspark. As a fellow gnome, and possibly friend, she’s the best. As a teacher, she’s very tough on you, which is actually a good thing once you get used to her ways; she says the best way to learn is from experience and getting your hands dirty. She also doesn’t shirk her duty, nor let you shirk yours. Having said that, she IS willing to take you out into the field and work side-by-side, so she’s definitely a hands-on teacher.

“Ready for practice, Nuffin? A rogue always needs sharp combat skills!”

“Be right there, Miss Steelspark!” This is how the day goes when not out in the field: knife throwing practice, sneaking practice, combat practice on the target dummies… a day full of activities meant to sharpen the mind and reflexes. After all, we are spies as much as we are combat experts.. and sometimes assassins, depending on what the job entails. The phrase ‘You saw nuffin!’? Yeah, that wasn’t me who coined it, though I *have* taken it to heart. She coined it after I scared the living daylights out of her by sneaking up on her in one of our training sessions. She went from furious that I scared her, to seriously applauding my ease and prowess at sneaking, to joking with me about it… and that’s where the phrase appeared to begin with. She’s said on numerous occasions that I’m her best operative - hinting that I might even be surpassing her; that I highly doubt, but if I end up being considered an equal, that’s fine by me.

****

“Good morning, fellow rogues. It has come to my attention through a meeting with King Wrynn that we have a situation developing that requires our expertise. As such, I would like to send you out in teams two. We will be investigating the threat of an old god by the name of N’zoth, so keep your eyes and ears open and trust no one. Any questions?” Kelsey raised her hand, and he motioned to her.

“Miss Steelspark?”

“Might we be allowed to pick our teammate?”

“Of course. Please do. I know I just said trust no one, but I make an exception here as I trust you all to make the best judgement call in choosing a teammate.”

“Thank you, sir.”

“Any other questions?” I raised my hand.

“Miss Shadowblade. I’ve heard you’re the most promising of the new recruits. Glad to have you on the team.”

“Pardon me, sir, but is there anything at all we’re looking for?”

“As of yet, no idea. Best course of action is to trust your instincts at this point. If something seems off or wrong, it probably is.”

“Thank you, sir.”

“Anyone else?” Silence greeted his question. “I’ll take that as a no. Alright, people, you have your orders. I want you in teams and heading out as soon as possible.”

****

“Nuffin?”

“Yes, Miss Steelspark?”

“Please, call me Kelsey. I owe you that much after all the time we’ve spent together training. In all respects you *are* my equal.”

“You owe me? I don’t follow.”

“You’ve worked so hard to get to the level of expertise you’re at. And I know I’ve pushed you *hard*. That’s ok, right? I saw so much potential in you when we first started…”

“Of course that’s ok. How else could I improve?”

“So could you do me the small favour of calling me Kelsey? I know it will be hard to begin with.”

I gave her a bit of a smile. “I think that can be arranged.”

“Good. One more favour? Please?”

“Yes?”

“Would you mind being my teammate?”

“Of course!”

mmo
Like

About the Creator

Laura Gieg

Website, brand, graphic, and visual designer-in-learning, gamer, 3D modeller-in-learning... yeah, I like designing... also writing comics to preface a game I’m also designing. You should hopefully see the writing side of me quite a bit.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.