Gamers logo

Skyrim Builds Weekly

The Intro to a New Series About One of My Favorite Games

By Brent SalmonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image and logos owned by Bethesda Software, used under Fair Use without permission.

I LOVE Skyrim. To an almost unhealthy level. I think most people do, especially judging by the number of people who own(ed) it, still play it daily or weekly, and a modding community that has kept it alive for a decade with more mods being added and updated daily. Over a million of them last I heard from the Nexus (the web’s premier modding community). I have nearly 2,000 hours logged into my game (though some of that is due to leaving it on and logged in for entire weekends when I wasn’t home, or overnight, AND sharing it with my daughter who plays it at least every couple days by herself). Todd Howard and Bethesda are marketing geniuses.

It’s funny though that I’ve only played through the main questline once and each side of the civil war questline a couple times. This is mostly because more than playing the game for its own sake, I love seeing how far I can push it in different ways with different styles of gameplay. New mods that unlock, or create, new ways to play it, or new character builds that I can use those mods to make, to see if I can make as lore friendly a take on pop-culture characters, or just character archetypes, as I can.

My plan for this new series of articles is to show off and discuss the many (well into the dozens, possibly over 100) character builds I’ve done for the game, and also to maybe inspire you to make them for yourself and even alter them or create some of your own. Which I hope you also share with me and the general public, either by tagging my social medias (you can find them in my profile here), or some other method at your disposal. I might also add write-ups and reviews of other people’s builds because I’ve tried many for myself also. Modded builds are admittedly my favorites, although I have done some Vanilla builds as well. Vanilla being the jargon for the unmodded game itself.

I play Skyrim Special Edition so many of the mods of the original game (OldRim as it’s colloquially known) or Legendary Edition, aren’t available to me. There are still thousands and thousands of them for SE though that have been either made directly for it, RE-made for it, or just ported over. And some even work straight out of the box without needing to go through any porting craziness (which is still outside of my wheelhouse anyway…for now). Though admittedly those ones that work without porting have probably made my game unstable at times and caused freeze ups for Crashed to Desktop (“CTD” in the community). C’est la vie.

I believe this article will go live tomorrow (Wednesday) so that will be my goal for publishing these, every Wednesday. It seems like a popular time to publish new content for many creators, something to help you get through the hump of the week and onto the weekend.

The first one in the pipe to be written about isn’t my LATEST one (I think he’s a couple builds back), but he’s definitely one of my favorites because of the sheer difficulty it took to make him and his unique way of being played in the game. He’s my own personal take on the lore-friendly Skyrim version of The Flash from DC comics. I actually just modified him this morning to give him some finishing touches before I sat down to start writing this. I also procrastinated this a bit because I got distracted playing as him haha!

Anyway, all that said, I hope you enjoy this series and what’s to come out of it!

adventure games
Like

About the Creator

Brent Salmon

Dad, Dog Dad, wannabe polyglot, amateur engineer of all the things, pre-med biologist, medic, psych major, ex trauma-counsellor, programmer, artist, serial entrepreneur, occasional cyborg, and now, writer.

Facebook

Instagram

YouTube

Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.