Gamers logo

Nintendo Logo Perler Bead DIY

Learn hot to Play with Power by making this iconic logo

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

For 129 years, Nintendo has been one of the world’s largest video game companies in history. Here are a couple of interesting facts about Nintendo you might not have known about before.

  • It was founded as a card company on September 23, 1889 by Fusajiro Yamauchi. Nintendo remained as a card company until 1956.
  • The word Nintendo can be translated as "leave luck to heaven," or alternatively as "the temple of free hanafuda." Hanafuda translates to "flower cards."

Before I show everyone how to make the Nintendo logo, I want to share some things about why I love Nintendo so much. On New Year’s Eve 1989, I played on my first game system, which was the Nintendo Entertainment System, or NES. It belonged to my estranged father and the first game I’ve played was Super Mario Bros, which was released three years earlier. The second game I’ve played on there was Duck Hunt and yes, I’ve played with the NES Zapper, an electronic light gun. As the years went on, I’ve played games on the Nintendo 64, Game Boy Color, and DS. However, the NES was and will always be my first love.

I’ve been playing retro games for almost 30 years and showing no signs of slowing down. Next year will be the 35th anniversary of the release of Super Mario Bros. Most people ask me and wonder why I love playing retro games so much. I give people the same response every time: nostalgia, because it’ll always be there for us to enjoy.

As far as this DIY is concerned, let’s get started on it. You’ll need the following for this creation:

  • Regular size perler beads (red and white)
  • Ironing paper
  • Large Pegboard
  • Iron

Using red perler beads, work on creating the word Nintendo on a large pegboard. When you're done with one letter, leave a space and do the next letter, except when you do the second 'n', leave two spaces. Nintendo should be spelled out, as seen above.

Next, still using the red beads, create an oval like shape around the word Nintendo. Make sure the edges are done correctly.

Using white perler beads, make an oval like shape around the red one. Again, make sure the edges are done correctly. We're almost done, so hang in there.

Finally, fill in the rest of the logo with white perler beads. Now, the Nintendo logo should look like this. I know it's time consuming, but once you get done with this, you'll feel much better about the final result. Now it's time to iron this retro goodness.

Place a sheet of ironing paper on the design and set your iron on medium heat. Iron for seven to eight minutes and cool for at least 30 to 45 minutes. Repeat the same process for the other side. If needed, iron it for as long as you need to. The reasons for the long ironing and cooling times are because of how big the logo is. The bigger the design, the longer it takes to cool. Smaller designs have much shorter ironing and cooling times. Here is the final result and can use this as a display in your home.

I'm also on social media, so please make sure you follow me on the pages indicated in my bio. In the meantime, if you like the articles I've written and like my content, feel free to send me a small one-off tip, that's located towards the end of every article. Your support is greatly appreciated. Your tip not only helps me, but also helps other Vocal content creators create outstanding content. Be sure to support them and read their articles. Also, I encourage everyone to join Vocal+, a premium membership for Vocal content creators like me to write better stories, connect with creators, and a lot more. So, be sure to sign up for that membership and support your favorite Vocal content creators.

art
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.