Gamers logo

Live Streamer Journal: Fenyx The Bearded Lady, Hero of the Gods!

A Youtuber's streaming experience. Featuring Immortals Fenyx Rising from Ubisoft.

By The Nerd HabitPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
By Christopher D. Horton

I am a streamer. More specifically, I am a person that streams video games live for strangers. Some of these strangers become my friends, some leave forever, and some watch me without ever saying a word. I aim to please lurkers just as much as active viewers who chat away for the entire stream.

When applied to live streaming, Urban Dictionary defines a lurker as someone that watches a stream but does not chat. A lurker is mildly creepy to think about, but as long as they leave a like and come away entertained, that is a win for me.

I like to say that voyeurism is the fuel that keeps a streamer's dream alive. Maybe I should put that on a t-shirt. Maybe.

Given my passion for live streaming video games and writing, I thought it would be fun to write a journal about my live stream experiences. These journal entries will document individual live stream sessions. From reviewing games that I played, the thoughts I have during the streams, and the fun comments from viewers, these journal write-ups will sum up individual stream experiences.

I am calling it Live Streamer Journal, and this is the first one.

I will embed the full live stream replay this journal entry refers to at the bottom of the story. If you are interested, be sure to watch it after you finish reading.

5:55 pm Central, Monday, April 5, 2021 – Pre-Live Stream

Ubisoft's Breath of the Wild clone

The game I chose to stream tonight, Immortals Fenyx Rising, was a Christmas gift from my brother.

Hopefully, he will overlook that it has taken almost four months to get around to playing the game. As a video game streamer, I tend to have a backlog of games to play, but that is not an excuse this time.

This stream is my first one since January 6, 2021. I took a short hiatus from streaming to get my writing career jumpstarted. The result of that hiatus being the creation of The Nerd Habit, which you are enjoying now.

Immortals Fenyx Rising is a game I have looked forward to playing for many months. I am a superfan of The Legend Of Zelda: Breath Of The Wild, and Ubisoft modeled Immortals after it. After watching the original trailer, my interest level remained high past the game's release of December 3, 2020. To prove that, I locked Immortals Fenyx Rising into my mind as the first game I would play when I decided to live stream again.

My style as a live-streamer is to play video games blind, which means I have never played the game prior to live-streaming my gameplay. I feel playing blind presents a more entertaining watch for the viewer, making sure my reactions are pure, not scripted.

6 pm, Monday, April 5, 2021 – Immortals Fenyx Rising, Nintendo Switch

Typhon has his eyes set on destroying Zeus

The time arrived to start my figuratively sightless journey into Immortals Fenyx Rising. I started up the game with a bit of nervousness and began my first live stream in three months.

"Wake me up, before you go-go, don't leave me hanging on like a yo-oh…"

My nervousness came out in the form of a Wham! song as I started my stream.

I was delighted to see that some of my viewers did not abandon ship. Shout out to BLACKMIDIDXD 6666, ash champion, and Isiah Trowbridge for greeting me before the stream even started. And another shout out to Zachary H for the first live comment of "Boo," which did not scare me, but I pretended it did for entertainment purposes.

Sincerely, I want to send a big shout-out to everyone who showed up for my first stream in months.

After a quick eight-minute warm-up chat to help me and the viewers settle in, I started the game. Immortals Fenyx Rising began immediately pleasing my ears with an epic musical score playing on the start menu. After a quick selection to choose my difficulty, a beautiful cut-scene introducing the game's main-baddy began.

Typhon, a monstrous four-eyed giant, waxes poetic on the gods' despicable nature to a goddess in his clutches. After he finishes chastising her, Typhon kills the goddess to satisfy his brand of justice. After her death, Typhon expresses his intentions to rehabilitate Olympus by targeting a foe that will help him complete his mission. Typhon intends on destroying "the most arrogant, narrow-minded, cocksure son of Kronos." The one and only Zeus.

Im mortals Fenyx Rising surprised me here. I was expecting a serious-minded game that led to a unique adventure through Greek mythology. Instead, the next cut-scene set the tone for the entire game—a comedic one.

Zeus and Prometheus have a cold relationship

Zeus appears on top of a mountain in front of Prometheus. Prometheus is not on top of this mountain of his free will. Zeus has imprisoned Prometheus by chaining him to the top of this mountain to punish him for stealing fire. Zeus went even further with Prometheus' punishment by feeding his liver to an eagle.

Prometheus knows something is up because Zeus is kind to him, so Prometheus uses his power of gazing to see that Typhon is loose. Prometheus and Zeus fear Typhon.

During their discussion, both of them realize they have been stripped of the tools they need to fight off Typhon's takeover attempt. Typhon has taken Prometheus' power to see into the future, and he has taken away all of Zeus' lightning bolts.

However, Prometheus knows something Zeus does not. Prometheus is aware of a mortal who is capable of defeating Typhon. Zeus, having a meager opinion of mortals, tells Prometheus he is full of it.

This conversation leads to a bet. If Prometheus' mortal defeats Typhon, Zeus will set Prometheus free. But if Zeus wins, Prometheus must help him defeat Typhon no matter what it takes.

The banter back and forth between Zeus and Prometheus is very comical. Both were taking shots at each other, setting the tone for the rest of the journey. Through Zeus and Prometheus' banter, the game tells the story of the character the player controls during the game, Fenyx.

Prometheus starts telling a story, which Zeus starts complaining about, yet, Prometheus keeps on telling. The story centers on a ship that is at sea during a storm and crashes. Only a few survivors remained, but the most important of those survivors is Fenyx. Fenyx is a _____.

To fill in the blank, this part of the game is where the player decides what sex and appearance Fenyx will have. I found this introduction to the character creation delightful and modern. While there are several options for the player to choose from, the developers did an excellent job of not giving the player too many options to choose. It is a robust but streamlined character creation system, if I do say so myself.

This part of the stream is where I got to have a little fun. I realized that any of the options could be used no matter if you chose a male or female character. My decision for my character choice was simple.

I present to you, Fenyx The Bearded Lady, Hero Of The Gods!

Fenyx The Bearded Lady is the hero we all need.

Best Viewer Comment And Stream Moment of the Night

Playing video games live for an audience brings out great moments that very few other entertainment types provide. Viewers across the world enjoy video game live streams for the real-time live interaction they provide.

Often, this interaction is innocent, relaxing banter that helps make the game more enjoyable for all involved but sometimes, these interactions are perfectly timed comedic moments.

There is an early-game section of Immortals Fenyx Rising that presents a puzzle to the player. This puzzle is a simple match game. There is an image on a wall that is an exact picture of a sixteen-space grid. The actual grid lies directly in front of the wall. Each space on the grid is shaped to hold a ball. The image on the wall shows the player where five balls need to be placed on the grid to solve the puzzle. The balls are blue.

Warning: Don't Throw The Blue Balls!

Now for the rest of the story.

When I entered this area of the game, I came under attack from some birdmen who shoot electric bolts, so I ran into the place where the puzzle is located. I noticed a blue ball in the grid and grabbed it. Using Fenyx's ability to throw things as an attack, I threw the ball at the birdmen in an attempt to kill them.

My shot missed, and the ball went over a cliff and landed in a giant lake below. At the time, I did not mind as I had no idea that the ball would be important later.

Fast forward about twenty minutes. I defeated all the birdmen, explored the area, and I found myself back at the puzzle grid. After looking at the wall and the grid closer, I noticed what I had to do.

After searching for and collecting three blue balls, I remembered that I had thrown the blue ball that originally sat in the grid over the cliff. In my mind, I figured the ball would respawn in the area if I walked away and returned. I walked away, returned, nothing. The fourth ball was still gone.

Next, I decided to look down from the cliff to see if I could spot the ball down below. To my surprise and frustration, I could see the blue ball floating in the middle of the lake at the bottom of a very tall mountainside.

I had no choice but to jump down and fish the blue ball out. There was no easy way to get the blue ball back up to the top of the cliff. I had to retrieve the blue ball by swimming into it manually, which reduced my stamina bar, leading to me having to swim to the nearest place I could stand, let my stamina replenish, rinse, and repeat.

As I'm doing this very mundane task, which was taking a good bit of time, a viewer by the name of Evil Betty came through with the comment of the night. Evil Betty said:

"See, this is why you don't mess with blue balls."

With that, I bid you adieu. I hope you enjoyed this journal entry about my live stream of Immortals Fenyx Rising on Monday, April 6, 2021. If you would like to watch the stream replay, you can do so by clicking here. You can also watch the embedded video at the end of this writing.

If you enjoy this content, I would be honored if you would subscribe to my Youtube channel Bang Bang Potato by clicking here and The Nerd Habit Youtube channel here.

Immortals Fenyx Rising is available on Playstation, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, and PC via the Ubisoft Store.

Join The Nerd Habit discussion! You can find us on Reddit, Facebook, Twitter, and our website! Join our communities today and let us know what you think of our stories and other nerd news!

product review
1

About the Creator

The Nerd Habit

Welcome to the world through my nerdy lens! I'm Christopher D. Horton, the passionate mind behind The Nerd Habit. With a controller in one hand and a pen in the other, I navigate the fascinating universe of video games, movies, and music.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.