Gamers logo

League of Legends – Dishonour upon your family.

When confronting toxic online behaviour goes right.

By SnookeronidjonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

League of Legends is an online 5v5 arena PC game that is enjoyed by many across the world. However, the League of Legends player base can be quite toxic, and with a game that players invest so much of their time, efforts, and emotions into, a bad loss can be detrimental to a player’s emotional state. This leads to many conversations that are quite toxic, even among friends at times.

Though I try to shy away from negative conversations of going back and forth with the opponents, I can’t help but back up my teammate when they are in a shouting match. In order to scratch this itch but also uphold my code of courtesy, I adopted a good, compromising catchphrase to use in these situations.

Dishonour upon your family.

At first glance this seems to be a simple insult or a curse, but it can be so much more when one applies some context to it in order to promote good E-sportsmanship.

“Such bad sportsmanship is bringing great dishonour upon your family.”

“This whining is a great dishonour upon your family.”

“We do not forfeit. We fight to the end to bring honour to our families.”

It really is pretty much just a meme for the lols. Just something to shut down the opponents.

And it works most of the time. It is very effective in ending toxic League behaviour on both sides.

Of course there is the occasional comeback such as:

“Your birth was a dishonour upon your family,”

or

“Your mom is a dishonour upon your family.”

But these are easily countered in the moment.

“...dishonour upon your family,” was really just something funny to say, and I didn’t think much of it, until I received this message after accepting a random friend request.

“Hi you’re that Garen from the game a while back. I was that butthurt Rek’sai. I just wanted to apologize for my behaviour, I was upset that we lost and was being a little wimp about it, and I hope I did not upset you too much. You were talking about how I was bringing dishonour upon my family and that made me think about what I was saying.”

To provide some context, the opponents had been absolutely clobbered by the Yasuo on my team, as Yasuos tend to do, and with that Yasuo carry we won the game. It happens, that’s just League. But throughout the game, the opponents said that my Yasuo was bad at playing Yasuo, and that he was too easy to play which made the game unbalanced. This sparked a large argument between many of the players and they were in a back and forth about Yasuo which continued until after the game was over and we were viewing our stats. Multiple times throughout those conversations, I reiterated myself. “Such bad sportsmanship is a dishonour upon your family. Accept the L with dignity.”

“Again, I’m sorry for being salty. Have a good life. I hope you continue to bring honour to your family.”

How could this be?

Could it be that my memey catchphrase about bringing dishonour to his family truly touched his heart? It would appear so. This got me thinking however. If it was so easy to confront this person about their toxic behaviour, how many people are not being given opportunities of introspection simply because nobody is challenging them about their behaviour? Could such a confrontation be a turning point in the lives of some people?

Of course, I responded in kind.

“It really was not a big deal, but thank you for your honesty. You have restored the honour of your family.”

This interaction was nothing much to dwell on, but something tells me I’m going to continue confronting people about their dishonourable behaviour on the E-sports field. It's not often that it goes well as such, but we all could use less toxicity during this time after all.

pc
2

About the Creator

Snookeronidjon

I write to identify my frustrations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.