Gamers logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 9

By Kelly RileyPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 9. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 9: Death on the Seine

We went to the morgue early in the morning to identity Pascal's body. His death had struck Amelia hard. It seemed that her art forgery had turned to tragedy.

June: Virginia, darling, you know you don't have to be here.

Virginia: It's all right, Aunt June.

Amelia: Oh, Pascal. Why didn't I look for him? He said he'd be right back.

June: It's not your fault, sweetie.

Coroner: Mademoiselle Dumas, thank you for coming. Can you confirm that this is Pascal Moreau?

Clue #1

Amelia: Yes, this is him. Can you tell me what happened?

Coroner: The police are investigating. It appears he his his head and fell into the water. I'm going to file my report, but please take your time.

Amelia: How did he hit his head? Did someone push him? I still have so many questions.

June: Let's see if we can find some answers.

...

Virginia: Looks like the coroner ran some tests on Pascal.

June: Let's take a look.

Clue #2

June: Pascal had high blood alcohol content when he died.

Amelia: He drank when he had problems. We were both stressed about the blackmail.

June: Well, if he had been drinking, it could have been an accident. But we don't know for sure.

Amelia: Pascal's favorite bar isn't far from the river. Should we retrace his steps?

June: It's a start. Let's go.

...

Bartender: Amelia. I didn't expect to see you so soon. My condolences for your loss.

Amelia: Thank you, Louis. So you heard about Pascal.

Bartender: Yes. Terrible tragedy. Let me know if there's anything I can do to help.

Amelia: Well, I'm still trying to figure out what happened. When was the last time you saw him?

Bartender: The other day. He left quite a mess, actually.

Clue #3

June: You're saying Pascal did this? Why?

Bartender: He'd been drinking. He got into an argument. Started throwing punches. I've never seen him like that. Pascal usually knows when to stop.

Amelia: Did you see the guy he was arguing with?

Bartender: Middling height. Thin as a rail. Funny sense of style, always wore a purple vest.

June: Purple vest? The bookseller mentioned that, too. Any idea what Pascal and the man were arguing about?

Bartender: Money, sounded like. I'd seen Pascal meet with this man a few times before. Always in that corner over there.

Clue #4

June: That's a hand-drawn map. Looks like a gallery.

Amelia: That's Silvio's gallery. And Pascal's handwriting.

Virginia: Why would they need a map of Silvio's gallery?

June: That's a good question. Amelia, can you take us there?

...

We arrived at Silvio's gallery to find him pacing out front.

Silvio: Ahh. The mob assembles to gloat over my misfortune. Can't you leave a ruined man alone?

Amelia: Having a bady day, Silvio?

Silvio: Someone stole my masterpiece. The Piazza of Love is gone! Gone!

Clue #5

June: "World Premiere: The Piazza of Love -- Silvio Santini's revolutionary Italian landscape". Your painting was stolen? When did that happen?

Silvio: I don't know! The paintings were in storage. It could have been taken any time. My exhibition's ruined. The press will eat me alive. Madonna, I need a drink!

Silvio, his wounded soul in tow, stomped off to the nearest bar.

June: So the very gallery Pascal had the map for gets robbed.

Amelia: What the hell was he thinking, stealing a painting?

Virginia: None of the windows or locks are broken. Whoever did it got in without damaging anything.

June: Then how did they do it?

Clue #6

June: A set of keys. Let me check something quickly. Look at that. They fit the front door.

Virginia: The man Pascal was meeting with. Maybe he worked for the gallery.

June: Maybe. Silvio said the painting was stolen from the storage room. I want to take a look.

René: What are you doing here? Who let you in?

June: We could ask you the same thing. Who are you?

René: Rene Baudin. Silvio put me in charge of the gallery's finances.

Amelia: We heard a painting was stolen. Looks like an inside job. what do you know about it?

René: I don't know anything about a painted stolen. A stolen painting. I have to go.

June: Well, he seemed nervous. Let's have a look around.

Clue #7

June: What kind of accountant leaves a bag of cash lying around?

Amelia: Wait. I've seen that bag before. That's the bag Pascal used to drop off the blackmail money. The handle was ripped.

June: Do you think Rene was the one blackmailing you over the forgeries?

Amelia: Then why would he help Pascal steal the painting? Something doesn't add up.

June: So how do we confirm that Rene is the blackmailer?

Amelia: If I had something with his handwriting on it, I could say for sure.

Clue #8

June: How about these insurance papers?

Amelia: Yes. That's the handwriting from the blackmail letters! I wish I'd seen where Rene went.

June: There's an address on the papers. Let's pay him a visit.

...

Virginia: A boarding house. This is where Rene lives?

Amelia: Well, it's a good place to remain anonymous.

Amelia had barely finished her sentence when something rattled nearby.

Clue #9

June: What are you doing digging through the trash, Rene?

Rene: I seem to have misplaced my keys. Why are you following me?

Amelia: You were blackmailing me and Pascal. And then you forced Pascal to steal the Piazza of Love from Silvio's gallery.

Rene: What? I didn't steal Silvio's painting! Yes, yes. I admit to the blackmail. But I know nothing about the stolen painting!

June: Pascal stole the painting and ended up dead. You must know something.

Rene: Pascal is dead? I remember he met with someone a few nights ago. Here at the boarding house.

June: Was he a guest here?

Rene: Yes. You see the third window on the right? That was his room. But he left this morning.

Clue #10

June: Looks like I can use this drainpipe to get to the window. Can you tell us what the man looked like?

Rene: How could I forget? He was beautiful. He wore an exquisite waistcoat.

Amelia: Was it purple?

Rene: No. More like a plum. Aubergine.

June: You've been very helpful. You can have your keys back when you return Amelia's money.

puzzle
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.